We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Josephine
Nearby Hotels
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Augeval Hotel(Deauville)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Almoria Hotel & SPA(Deauville)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel de La Cote Fleurie(Deauville)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Deauville Centre(Deauville)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
34
19
2
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
19
2
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We normally visit Deauvile at least once a year, and thus far have stayed at one of the Barriere Hotels, though wated for their flash deals. One came this year, but our particular date was blocked out so we thought well maybe to-night Josephine ?
Good point first, you can park outside, and merely have to shlep the baggage down the garden bewteen the fallen apples..only about 30 feet, so far so good.
On the way we met a cat, and it was probably the cat you couldnt swing in the room.
It was a very small room, hardly space for my wifes cases. The whole place looked as though someon's aunt had bequeathed a load of furniture and they didnt know where to put it, so plonk.
It pretty quiet, and the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom adequate.
But the price. £202 well really...oh and breakfast extra..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank President66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This English Tudor styled country home is actually set in the middle of an acre of property one block from the water and about five blocks from the center of town. Upon walking through solid wood electronic gates that hide the hotel from the street, a large front yard with some tables and chairs set about, welcome you to your temporary home.

We stayed in the Charles room, not the Napoleon as confirmed. It seemed a honeymoon couple was given our room instead. The two rooms are the same size and setup, just different décor. We liked the décor of the Napoleon room better, but the Charles room has a better view of the front yard so that made up for it. If you want a little more privacy then choose the Napoleon room because it is tucked away in the corner of the house.

The room was classy and in good shape. It was however, small. It was the kind of room that basically all you could do was walk around the bed. Both of our bags had to remain out, one on the floor and another on a luggage rack, which did not help the situation. The bathroom was very nice, large with separate shower, tub, and water closet. The entrance to the room was through French doors that lead directly to the front yard. We enjoyed this, but it also meant that you had to be careful about what you were doing or keep the drapes closed. We had our own café table and chairs just outside the door, a great place to relax and enjoy the view. There are three rooms that open directly to the front yard, the other four are upstairs overlooking the front yard and accessed off a narrow dark hallway.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel. It was a very European styled buffet breakfast that did not seem worth the money given that most of what was offered did not appeal to us. This was a shame because the setting for breakfast was a beautiful and elegant room. You could also have breakfast outside. We did enjoy the complementary bottle of champagne and chocolates that the hotel provided the first night, and a second round of chocolates the second night.

We thought the location of the hotel was great, right near the beach and just outside the main part of town, but a very easy walk. The first night of our stay, the town was not that busy. The second night, the town was so busy that every restaurant was so crowded that lines formed outside them. Although we loved Deauville and were very impressed with its beautiful wide beach, we would be concerned about staying in this town during the height of the summer season. We reserved parking for an additional fee during our stay, but were told at check in that we should be okay finding free parking on the street. This was not a problem for us and saved us some money. The second day we came back to town late enough to find a space, but good luck on those really busy summer days. The street behind the hotel seems to be less crowded than the one in front of the hotel.

While in town, we visited the Normandy and Royal Barriere hotels. We found them to be very nice and grand but also very busy. We were very pleased that we stayed at the small and quiet Villa Josephine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We had the opportunity to stay at Villa Josephine in December 2009.
This is the best in town by far (we did try other hotels in Deauville and I lived in the region for several years).
What to expect:
- a charming building renovated with exquisite taste
- superior attention to guests and perfect discreet / efficient client service
- each room is decorated differently with a certain style - very comfortable (we were in the Duc de Morny)
- a generous breakfast... with home made "compote"
- location is a bit further out of town ie perfect to relax away from Deauville's town center but still within 10 min walking distance
- reasonable prices versus other local hotels
We were with our 18 months old daughter and everything was arranged perfectly before our arrival.
Obviously we will return to Villa Josephine next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVBZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We were looking for a hotel for my mother in law's 80th birthday weekend. We were immediately attracted by the website which suggested a hotel with character and charm and very different from the bland chain hotels that you can sometimes come across. All the rooms had their own individual character with real personalised touches and we really had the feeling of staying in someone's own home. Madame was extremely welcoming, we very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed at this charming little guest house near the sea for three nights and enjoyed very much the great hospitality of the owners. Breakfast was a special highlight of the day. The location of the house is great, calm, close to the beach and a very nice restaurant not far away. All rooms are different but each has a specific charm.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews