We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French Food!”
Review of Restaurant Baudy

Restaurant Baudy
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Giverny
Price range: US$17 - US$29
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic French Food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely dining room. They had a 3 course set menu which was great value (about €25). The food was so delicious we came back the following night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveller714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    495
    143
    53
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had read numerous positive reviews but for us it was over rated, especially the steak. The lamb was excellent but the accompanying potato gratin was less appetising. However the visit to the gardens at back of restaurant was definitely a bonus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank helo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A substantial meal”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

One of the main restaurants in Giverny and located centrally in the village We had the three course set menu and were very well and if anything over-fed! Sitting outside across the road from the main building with pleasant views over the surrounding countryside made a very pleasant way ofending the day in and around Giverny

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stopped for lunch before going to Monet's gardens, and sat in the outdoor area just across from the main building. It was quite busy when we initially arrived, and it took quite some time for our drink and entree orders to be taken. The restaurant cleared out significantly and when we finally asked about our food, it turned out they'd had a shift change and our order had never been processed. This was a bit frustrating, but once the food arrived it was quite good. The adults all had salads with chicken and they were huge, fresh, and delicious. The gardens behind the restaurant are lovely! Even if you do not have need of the WC, take a stroll though anyway.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RugbyGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss the secret garden”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The setting is a beautiful covered patio across from the main restaurant, but the village street is very quiet and I can't remember seeing more than a couple of cars when we were there for dinner. The service was fantastic - our waiter was only too pleased to practice his English on us, although some other visitors at our hotel mentioned that their server spoke little English, so I guess it is the luck of the draw. As we were on our way home and heading for the night ferry at Caen the next day, our waiter recommended a trip to Etretat on the Normandy coast which has a fantastic cliff formation like an elephant's trunk, which he obligingly drew for us on a napkin! If he reads this, I'd like to say thank you as we really enjoyed our visit - to the restaurant and to Etretat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbarella50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Baudy also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Baudy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing