We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Comfort near to Monet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Bon Marechal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Au Bon Marechal
Ranked #10 of 13 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Comfort near to Monet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Excellent facilities with comfort for all. It is a lovely country-like setting only five minutes walk to the Monet gardens. Marie-Claire is an excellent hostess. I cannot imagine a more relaxing and fitting place to stay when visiting the Giverny area. Enjoy the fresh hazelnuts and walnuts, the cooing of the white doves and the companionship of Cooper, a large and friendly dog.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private, so it really does not matter which you select. The Rose Room gets the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sucofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Located right in town , this very lovely and comfortable B & B would enhance any visit to Monet's gardens and home. The hosts were very accomodating and served a delicious breakfast to help you start off a busy day. The rooms were bright and clean with attractive furnishings. Our hosts spoke very little English, but this proved not to be a problem as they anticipated our needs very well. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ymcatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
410 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We were so glad we chose this B&B for our stay in Giverny. It is a very short walk to the museums and restaurants and the house and grounds are lovely - ivy covered house with flower filled planters everywhere and an expansive lawn, with an above ground swimming pool. We were lucky enough to book the Garden Suite which is in it's own building. We had a spacious living room with comfortable couches and a large bedroom, (an old baker's oven has a night light in it if you wish), with an adorable blue bathroom with a skylight. The breakfast was pretty basic but good and the breakfast room is in a converted potting shed which is very quaint. The owners speak almost no English, so a smattering of basic French is helpful. I was actually a bit surprised at how limited their English was as we had fairly extensive e-mail communication including purchasing tickets in advance for us for both Monet's house and the Impressionist Museum (magnificent collection!) to avoid line-ups. They also gave us restaurant tips and a walking tour map. At 80 Euros it was an excellent value.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is well worth the extra 5 or 10 Euro charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

A very charming setting with very friendly proprietors. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms included all amenities and were spotless. The breakfast was simple, but very good. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BentleyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Garden room off on its own and a wonderful stay, including sitting room, huge bedroom, and a spotless bath and shower. Staff friendly. For those who do not speak French, it really does not matter. The family-run establishment (for over 100 years!) will see to your needs, and provide a great home made breakfast. Would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bktours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

This is a delightful ivy-covered B&B with simple but lovely rooms and a charming garden. We stayed in the 'red room' which was bright and inviting, with a very clean bathroom and small sitting room. The hosts were very warm and pleasant. We booked off the internet and were thrilled at our good fortune when we arrived! Breakfast was simple but good. All the better to indulge in a rich lunch or dinner at the nearby restaurants...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lld2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Au Bon Merechal was a lovely surprise in the land of Impressionism. We stayed a night in Giverny on our way to Normandy and it is definitely worth the visit. This B and B was also great, we stayed in the suite paid 70 Euros and had a huge room (the old baking room which had been converted) detached from the main building, with its own reception room and mod bathroom.

Breakfast was basic but ok, and the owners were very friendly. Would go back for another trip out of Paris.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECTravelingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.4 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#5 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Coin des Artistes
Le Coin des Artistes
#9 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bon Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bon Marechal

Property: Au Bon Marechal
Address: 1 rue du Colombier, 27620 Giverny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing