We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic situation right in the centre of Giverny”
Review of Au Bon Marechal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Au Bon Marechal
Ranked #9 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having lived in Paris for 40 years we had been many times to Giverny but only on day-trips. We decided to treat ourselves to a tranquil weekend in this beautiful area.

We checked out the Giverny website but it was difficult to make up our minds. Since this was a last minute reservation most of the B&Bs were booked out. Due to a last-minute cancellation, we were able to book a room in « Au Bon Maréchal »

It was a real stroke of luck. « Au Bon Maréchal » is situated right in the centre of the village easy walking distance to the Impressionist Museum and Monet's House and Gardens. The old Hôtel Baudy is just a few steps away – try an ice-cream on their shady terrace or their attractively priced menu for dinner.

The « Au Bon Maréchal » was an old blacksmith's forge and has been in the family for generations. It was a bistro in Monet's time and the tradition of a warm welcome is kept alive by proprietors Marie-Claire and Michel Boscher.

The B&B is set in a large walled garden and complimentary secure parking is available for guests. The rooms (we were able to visit all three) are spotlessly clean and very well appointed – each has its own charm.

The largest room which is in a separate building was an old bakery and the oven is still there. There is a separate sitting room with flat-screen TV. A few steps take you down to the large bedroom and en-suite shower and WC. A French window opens to the garden........ and the swimming pool. The weather was very hot during our stay and it was great to have a dip in the 26°C water.

The other two rooms are situated on the first floor of the main building.

The blue room has a lovely view of the gardens. There is a sitting area and separate WC. The glass-enclosed shower and wash hand basin are in the room. A folding screen is provided in case you prefer more privacy in the shower. The room is light and airy and the king size bed is extremely comfortable.

The pink room has the same characteristics as the blue room but the shower is more private. It has the advantage of a small balcony equipped with a table and chairs. The balcony and the room are bathed in the morning sunshine and nicely shaded in the afternoon.

Complimentary Wifi is available in all rooms .

Breakfast is a convivial affair served in the old bistro with its typical zinc counter. Large jugs of orange juice are shared by the guests and there is plenty of baguette, plain and toasted, croissants, yoghurt and apple purée, lovely butter and a selection of jams and honey....... did I forget the cheese plate with the fantastic 'tomme de brebis' ?

Marie-Claire and Michel do not speak a lot of English but smiles and gestures ensure that communication is not a problem. If you are lucky enough to speak French, Michel has many a story to tell and takes time with you at breakfast. I asked him what was the story of one of the buildings in the garden (a lovely cottage – only for use of the family). Apparently is was the old laundry of his grandmother. She used to boil the clothes there and then take them down to rinse in the river Epte.

What a joy to stay overnight in Giverny......... when the tourists have left and the last tour-bus has returned to Paris. After dinner in Hotel Baudy, silence prevails in the village. We could see a million stars in the quiet gardens of the B&B.

We were so pleased with our accommodation that we stayed for a third night.

We were sorry to leave Marie-Claire and Michel. They made us feel like part of their family.

Shhh, don't tell anyone – Au Bon Maréchal is Giverny's best-kept secret.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Giverny, Our room was large. clean, comfortable with nice decor. Bathroom was very small, but updated and adequate. Our hosts, Michal and Marie made us feel very welcome and served a wonderful continental style breakfast. The price of 75 Euros with breakfast makes this B&B an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 247LynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here in June 2012. Beautiful, helpful, friendly, clean, relaxing and walking distance to the gardens and Baudy Hotel. Such a pretty spot and a gorgeous friendly dog to greet you also. Recommending it to friends that are travelling this year. Thankyou so much. Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed for one night at Au Bon Marechal in September 2012. The room was charming with a view into the garden, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water and great water pressure in the shower. Oddly enough it was the loudest toilet I've ever heard flush so don't be startled. The grounds are lovely and a short walk from Monet's home and gardens. Breakfast was a simple and delicious spread of croissants, toast, jams, butter, cheese, and coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Enjoy the gardens!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed a night in the old forge, right in the centre of the small village of Giverny, and close to Monet's Garden, our reason for visiting. Marie-Claire spoke limited English and we speak limited French but between us it was not a problem, and she was a lovely and helpful lady. Breakfast was typical of that you get anywhere in France and is served at shared tables. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortably fitted out.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Excellent facilities with comfort for all. It is a lovely country-like setting only five minutes walk to the Monet gardens. Marie-Claire is an excellent hostess. I cannot imagine a more relaxing and fitting place to stay when visiting the Giverny area. Enjoy the fresh hazelnuts and walnuts, the cooing of the white doves and the companionship of Cooper, a large and friendly dog.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private, so it really does not matter which you select. The Rose Room gets the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sucofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Located right in town , this very lovely and comfortable B & B would enhance any visit to Monet's gardens and home. The hosts were very accomodating and served a delicious breakfast to help you start off a busy day. The rooms were bright and clean with attractive furnishings. Our hosts spoke very little English, but this proved not to be a problem as they anticipated our needs very well. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ymcatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giverny hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins d'Helene
Les Jardins d'Helene
#2 of 14 in Giverny
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 14 in Giverny
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#8 of 14 in Giverny
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bon Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bon Marechal

Address: 1 rue du Colombier, 27620 Giverny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing