We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Au Bon Marechal
Nearby Hotels
La Musardiere(Giverny)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mont Vernon(Saint-Marcel)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Haut Marais(Saint-Marcel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelF1 Vernon(Saint-Marcel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
56
11
0
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
11
0
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasic frenchyour luggagebaguetteb and byogurthotel baudyrue claude monetmonet's gardenbuttercolombierhostessmuseumcheesegiteaccommodationvillageparis
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Marie-Claire and Michel Boscher are the older French couple who live in the French countryside in the movie about an older French couple who live in the countryside. As in, the setting and the inn and the proprietors are perfectly congruent with your most hopeful and romantic notions of what it would be like to spend a few days on les vacances at the height of summer in France.

The bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and well appointed. My daughter and I slept with the French door (Mais oui! A real French French door!) open. We had un petit balcon overlooking rue Claude Monet. Breakfast was the truest form of continental breakfast: tea or coffee, baguette, yogurts, an assortment of jams, and butter.

The Boschers do not speak English, but this was not an impediment in any way. They were very attentive and appreciative of my efforts to speak French (and my French leaves a lot to be desired).

The inn is centrally located, but "downtown" Giverny is very small and accessible. There is not a grocer in all of Giverny, but the Hotel Baudy serves an excellent menu until late and there is a nice cafe close to the garden. If you can, bring some fruits and other snack foods from Vernon or your previous locale. The Boschers kindly stored some yogurts and cheeses for us that we picked up at breakfast.

A hint: There is a shuttle bus from Vernon to Giverny that leaves from the train station. The bus stop is not readily visible from the station, but it is up the narrow side street on the right (if your back is to the station). It will look like a tour bus, but it is not. It is a shuttle bus that will take you to Giverny. It is inexpensive and their schedule coincides with train arrivals. You will have to tote your luggage a short distance to the inn, but it is not far and there is really only one main road in "downtown" Giverny. Ask the driver to point you in the direction of rue Claude Monet. Turn left. The inn is just a short walk on the left side of the street. The entrance is not on rue Claude Monet, but on rue du Colombier. Trust me. It is not far. And the short trek is worth it.

We had three glorious days in Giverny immediately upon arrival in France. It was the perfect introduction for two weary and jet-lagged travelers. We visited the gardens (of course). We stepped into the charming shops. We toured the museum, which was an absolutely delightful surprise: beautiful and bite size. We paid homage at Claude Monet's grave and hiked in the hillside above city. The Bon Marechal was a lovely home base. Like I said, it was perfect.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at Au Bon Marechal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having lived in Paris for 40 years we had been many times to Giverny but only on day-trips. We decided to treat ourselves to a tranquil weekend in this beautiful area.

We checked out the Giverny website but it was difficult to make up our minds. Since this was a last minute reservation most of the B&Bs were booked out. Due to a last-minute cancellation, we were able to book a room in « Au Bon Maréchal »

It was a real stroke of luck. « Au Bon Maréchal » is situated right in the centre of the village easy walking distance to the Impressionist Museum and Monet's House and Gardens. The old Hôtel Baudy is just a few steps away – try an ice-cream on their shady terrace or their attractively priced menu for dinner.

The « Au Bon Maréchal » was an old blacksmith's forge and has been in the family for generations. It was a bistro in Monet's time and the tradition of a warm welcome is kept alive by proprietors Marie-Claire and Michel Boscher.

The B&B is set in a large walled garden and complimentary secure parking is available for guests. The rooms (we were able to visit all three) are spotlessly clean and very well appointed – each has its own charm.

The largest room which is in a separate building was an old bakery and the oven is still there. There is a separate sitting room with flat-screen TV. A few steps take you down to the large bedroom and en-suite shower and WC. A French window opens to the garden........ and the swimming pool. The weather was very hot during our stay and it was great to have a dip in the 26°C water.

The other two rooms are situated on the first floor of the main building.

The blue room has a lovely view of the gardens. There is a sitting area and separate WC. The glass-enclosed shower and wash hand basin are in the room. A folding screen is provided in case you prefer more privacy in the shower. The room is light and airy and the king size bed is extremely comfortable.

The pink room has the same characteristics as the blue room but the shower is more private. It has the advantage of a small balcony equipped with a table and chairs. The balcony and the room are bathed in the morning sunshine and nicely shaded in the afternoon.

Complimentary Wifi is available in all rooms .

Breakfast is a convivial affair served in the old bistro with its typical zinc counter. Large jugs of orange juice are shared by the guests and there is plenty of baguette, plain and toasted, croissants, yoghurt and apple purée, lovely butter and a selection of jams and honey....... did I forget the cheese plate with the fantastic 'tomme de brebis' ?

Marie-Claire and Michel do not speak a lot of English but smiles and gestures ensure that communication is not a problem. If you are lucky enough to speak French, Michel has many a story to tell and takes time with you at breakfast. I asked him what was the story of one of the buildings in the garden (a lovely cottage – only for use of the family). Apparently is was the old laundry of his grandmother. She used to boil the clothes there and then take them down to rinse in the river Epte.

What a joy to stay overnight in Giverny......... when the tourists have left and the last tour-bus has returned to Paris. After dinner in Hotel Baudy, silence prevails in the village. We could see a million stars in the quiet gardens of the B&B.

We were so pleased with our accommodation that we stayed for a third night.

We were sorry to leave Marie-Claire and Michel. They made us feel like part of their family.

Shhh, don't tell anyone – Au Bon Maréchal is Giverny's best-kept secret.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Giverny, Our room was large. clean, comfortable with nice decor. Bathroom was very small, but updated and adequate. Our hosts, Michal and Marie made us feel very welcome and served a wonderful continental style breakfast. The price of 75 Euros with breakfast makes this B&B an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 247LynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here in June 2012. Beautiful, helpful, friendly, clean, relaxing and walking distance to the gardens and Baudy Hotel. Such a pretty spot and a gorgeous friendly dog to greet you also. Recommending it to friends that are travelling this year. Thankyou so much. Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed for one night at Au Bon Marechal in September 2012. The room was charming with a view into the garden, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water and great water pressure in the shower. Oddly enough it was the loudest toilet I've ever heard flush so don't be startled. The grounds are lovely and a short walk from Monet's home and gardens. Breakfast was a simple and delicious spread of croissants, toast, jams, butter, cheese, and coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Enjoy the gardens!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews