We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American”
Review of Terra Cafe

Terra Cafe
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Giverny
Price range: US$17 - US$28
Cuisines: French
Description: Terracafé is the restaurant of museum of Impressionnism-Giverny. That's why is gets a special access to the museum. The terrasse, when sun shines, is in the heart of the gardens. The service tries to meet your expectations as far as timing and friendliness. Cuisine ahs a touch of normandy style dishes and offers hamburgers like a tribute to what the Museum was before : American museum for the Arts opened by Daniel Terra.
Restaurant details
Description: Terracafé is the restaurant of museum of Impressionnism-Giverny. That's why is gets a special access to the museum. The terrasse, when sun shines, is in the heart of the gardens. The service tries to meet your expectations as far as timing and friendliness. Cuisine ahs a touch of normandy style dishes and offers hamburgers like a tribute to what the Museum was before : American museum for the Arts opened by Daniel Terra.
Level Contributor
562 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“American”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

In keeping with the theme of American impressionists, this restaurant has changed its name and it's menu. The saladS don't even sound good and I loved the previous menu's salads. The burgers were fine but very pink for Americans. My chicken was good but I would have prefer a salad. Bring back the old menu, you are NOT in the US!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    26
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious! Still can taste the codfish...”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We went to see the Monet gardens and after the visit we went for Terra Cafe (very close to Monets house) for lunch. The Plat of the jour was codfish with a white wine sauce. It came with salad and potatoes au gratin. The fish was just perfect. Smooth and the sauce amazing. The potato au gratin was also very good. Ambiance is nice with pretty garden and if you ask only for the Plat of the Jour you pay 14 Euros and honestly it is enough. No need for the complete menu. I would go there again next time in Giverny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AL_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Gérant at Terra Cafe, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for your comments. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stop in our restaurant.

Kind regards,

Jerome Crépatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
1,330 reviews
852 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,717 helpful votes
“Dubious Business Plan”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Terra Cafe, part of the Musee Des Impressionnismes, is ideally located in Giverny. Unfortunately this cafe needs additional wait staff to better serve the tourists and locals. We waited 30 minutes to be served. While friendly, our waitress seemed stressed and had difficulty taking care of the tables to which she was assigned. In addition, she had a problem setting priorities in fulfilling her tasks. It is our sense management should devote some time to staff training.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Américaine vivant dans le Vexin français, Oise, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A treat”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have a love-hate relationship with this restaurant which has an irresistible terrace, appetizing menu and inadequate service. Expect to wait.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad customer service in Giverny”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We just went to this restaurant and the service was horrible. The server was not nice. We wanted to order some burgers without mayonnaise and she forced us yo have all 6 burgers without any sauce because they couldn't manage in the kitchen. Food was OK, but service is horrible and very slow.

Helpful?
1 Thank prix86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Terra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing