We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just delightful!”
Review of La Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

It is hard to believe that this wonderful house is only 20 years old. It has been built with such care using reclaimed materials but has good plumbing! The rooms are tremendously spacious with views over the gardens. The breakfasts are amazing, no one would come away feeling hungry! Valerie is such a lovely person, she has created a wonderful ambiance. We stayed for three nights so that we could visit Monet's house and gardens and enjoy the countryside and excellent good food establishments. We were not disappointed. Don't expect tv's or power showers but if you long for a quiet oasis in the French countryside, look no further! If you cannot do without the Internet, wifi is available in the large and comfy lounge. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika54B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent three days at La Reserve and it was the most comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Valerie the host made sure we were well looked after. The breakfast was excellent with the really freshest of breads, pastries and quality cheeses.
The room was full of light, the king bed so comfortable and the bathroom so spacious and modern.
The grounds are so nice with many fruit trees and a great opportunity for a nice walk.
We had a rainy day and spent that day at La Reserve enjoying the multitude of books and references in the wonderful lounge along with a bottle of wine.
Valerie really opens her home to her guests, nothing is too much trouble....thank you Valerie so much for making our stay so relaxing and welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at La Reserve. Valerie is the most charming host and she quite simply prepares and displays the most incredible breakfast that you will ever have in France! The whole place has a relaxed and inviting charm to it and is located about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Giverny. Valerie puts her heart and soul into ensuring that her guests are well looked after. The rooms are to a high standard with big windows that command great views. You cannot possibly go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roofdownandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

La Reserve is an absolute model of how to greet and look after guests in a beautiful home, with lovely large bedrooms, traditional bathrooms, and magnificent guest lounge. Breakfast is served as rarely found these days, with massive choice of delectable goodies, including home made yoghurts, jams, marmalade, honey, and eggs from the estate. All in ultra peaceful surroundings and gardens, just a mile north of Giverny. Stay two nights to make the most of your stay, (cheaper rate too) and be able to visit Monets garden when the queues are less or have gone. We went at 1pm, no queue! A range of local restaurants to suit all pockets and fancies too. Be prepared to be spoilt at Le Reserve! We stayed in the US room, deep double windows onto the garden, wonderful. Made a great stop en route Calais to the Dordogne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

At the end of our three week trip to France we spent two nights at La Reserve. We had stayed there 12 years ago -- loved it -- and it is even better with the new owners! Valerie and her husband are so welcoming and made our stay so special. The breakfast is outstanding with lovely homemade breads, jams, cheeses and ham and if that wasn't enough there is juice and fresh fruit and eggs can be cooked to order. The place is spacious and has huge rooms. It is 5 minutes up the hill from town and after fighting all the tourists in Giverny it is a welcome refuge. You will feel worlds away from all the hustle and bustle of tourist buses and hoards of people. The property itself is reason enough to stay there but the welcome and hospitality make it even the more appealing.

Room Tip: If you want a shower and not a bathtub with a handheld -- the first floor room is the only room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyR697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We ended our three weeks in France with a stay at La Reserve. It was everything we had hoped it would be and so much more. This tranquil setting is the perfect place to relax and enjoy beauty. From the orchards here to Monet's gardens nearby, serenity reigns. And, if you love breakfast you are in for a real treat with the fresh eggs prepared to order and pastry options that make American bakeries look as if they just aren't trying. We are seriously considering returning with our children and grandchildren so they can experience some of the magic of La Reserve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great location. Only five minute drive up the road from Monet's House and Garden. In the morning we drove down the hill and parked in the lot right across the street from the ticket booth and entrance before the buses had come. La Reverve is a beautiful clean house wtih wonderful details everywhere you look. The grounds are French country orchard and perfect. We stayed in the Sepia Room which was large, looked out the back to the orchard and animals. It beautifully decorated. I think it was also very fairly priced.The owners are kind and helpful. Staying right n Giverny is great because you can go back to town, eat dinner and walk around without the crowds of people. It is also fun to drive to the other little towns around there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsorolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giverny hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
298 reviews
1 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Helene
Les Jardins d'Helene
#2 of 14 in Giverny
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 14 in Giverny
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#8 of 14 in Giverny
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Address: 27620 Giverny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: £88 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hills of Giverny, La Reserve is a charming Bed and Breakfast, offering 5 bedrooms and a self-contained cottage surrounded by woods and orchards, away from the public eye and noisy roads. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing