We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant spot”

La Capucine - Giverny
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Giverny
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pleasant spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

this was in a lovely setting and the food was good. a shame that the hot drinks were not served in china cups but the dispoable type. the staff were very friendly and helpful. on a sad note while we stayed there one night they were broken into, it seems that robberies even affect this charming little village.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank saxan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    120
    56
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great gift shop in Giverny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Forget the gift shop in Monet's Gardens as it is filled with the predictable pens and magnets. Visit the little gift shop at La Capucine. La Capucine is a restaurant with outside seating, next to a garden, a nursery and a gift shop. They are located just a few steps down the road from Monet's Gardens. You can get lunch, browse in their nursery and shop in the gift shop. It's a great little spot!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming place and fresh food for a perfect lunch in Giverny !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I've been attracted at first by the nice garden surrounded by red and grey stylished tables and chairs of this "fast-good" restaurant (as they say) on my way to Monet's house and gardens.

Even if the self-service setting can be confusing, most meals were home-made with fresh food from around like this excellent vegan sandwich I chose with roasted vegetables melted with a delicate vinaigrette sauce that made it very tasteful.
My husband took a cassolette with salmon and cod fillets that was as good. Prices can be a little high but the quality is clearly here. In addition, some musicians were playing in the garden which made it so much more relaxing.
Our only regret is not to have had time to dine there for the jazz night they were organizing.

Last but not least, they also have a nice boutique at the back of the garden with many arts & crafts souvenirs and gifts.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tired flyblown and grubby”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It is conveniently on the corner in Giverny and consequently well used . The tables were not cleaned and a cover for food when I was there left sufficient space for some bluebottles to creep under so we decided only on bottled drinks and avoided the food.service was slow and indifferent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, Somerset
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were very pleased to find this little self-service place as we wanted a lunch without all the faff of sitting in a "proper" restaurant. We picked up a quiche, a packet of crisps, a ham salad and a couple of cokes. At 21.90 it wasn't cheap but the food was tasty, especially the salad which had loads of ham and micro herbs & other interesting stuff. The courtyard was very pretty and it was easy to find a place to sit, although it was early in the lunch rush. The only criticism would be that, as we sat on the terrace outside the main cafe, someone turned on the music. That meant that a speaker on the windowsill right next to our table started booming out, too loud for comfort. We had to move away to hear ourselves talk. Please, Management, remember that not everyone likes loud music. Background music is fine but keep the volume down . Otherwise an enjoyable visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masonmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capucine - Giverny also viewed

 

Been to La Capucine - Giverny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing