We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of La Pluie de Roses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pluie de Roses
Ranked #7 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was our only stay at a B&B on our recent trip, and it exceeded all of our expectations. The hosts made us feel like we lived there, the room was incredibly large and well appointed, the bathroom and shower were huge. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Europe, and so close to the Monet gardens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just stayed two nights at La Pluie de Roses. It is everything you would want of a
Bed and breakfast and much more! More of an experience! It is an excellent base to walk into Giverney and get to Monet s Garden early , which was stunning even in October .
Elisebeth and Phillipe were very welcoming and charming as were the two spaniels, who reside on their own sofa. Perfect safe place to park your Morgan! And very easy to find. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Carol946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Elisebeth & Phillipe moved from Montmartre in Paris 8 years ago and have literally created a very warm and eclectic setting in which to host and entertain their guests. Inside and out, La Pluie de Roses is interesting, beautiful, and great fun to behold. Our room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was terrific. Breakfast is a delicious adventure in choices experienced in a wonderfully bright conservatory. Monet's home and gardens are only an 8 minute walk down Rue de Monet. We would have loved to stay longer to enjoy the gardens and koi pond and to share a little more time with Phillipe and Elisebeth. Don't miss this gem! Avery & Eileen, Hartford, CT.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Arriving on the first leg of our two week tour of France our first night was with Elisebeth and Phillipe. They could not have been more helpful giving us a welcome drink and suggesting a place to eat. If you are visiting Monet's garden it is perfect as you can get there early with a short walk through the Giverny village. The houses and of course the garden at La Pluie de Roses are certainly bohemian and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventureseekers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I am not sure how many of Elisebeth and Phillipe guests arrive on motorbikes but they were very helpful hosts. We arrived on a beautiful sunny August afternoon, we were offered at no charge a glass of excellent wine and nibbles to enjoy in the amazing garden. The garden room was large and classically French furnished and appeared to be set up to be a self catering room.
Fabulous French breakfast with coffee to die for. Great value and a place to return to.
The only niggle, the room had no lock of any kind, the whole site is secure so no problems but it just seemed weirded. If you come to Giverny you should stay here, it will complete your visit.

Room Tip: We took the garden room as it was all they had, good choice. Very private and enabled us to enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fillup42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We spend two very pleasant nights at La Pluie de Roses which is in the lovely village of Giverny. As Monet's Garden is such a honey pot for tourists being able to stay in the village and visit either late or early ensures you can enjoy the garden without the crowds. The house is charming ly Bohemian in style and very comfortable. We were made very welcome by our hosts and afforded full use of the house and gardens as well as being offered a glass of wine in the evenings. Breakfast was delicious and served around a large table where we were able to enjoy conversation with other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkpunch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Tranquil, comfortable, full of charm very accommodating hosts who were kind enough to offer us drinks and nibbles. Highly recommend! Excellent value for money! Such a beautiful intro to this Monet village and had an absolutely beautiful garden too! Scrummy breakfast laid on in lovely setting. Very comfy nights sleep. Also lovely to meet the two King Charles spaniels.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 2 in Vernon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
107 reviews
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pluie de Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pluie de Roses

Address: 14 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: £119 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old property from the beginning of the last century, tucked away between the valley and the hills, in the middle of an outstanding environnement, "La Pluie de Roses" sleeps lightly in a park (6000 square meters) planted with various resinous trees and rose garden.Elisabeth and Philippe Chauveau, the new owners, after an entire renovation,welcome you in a romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Pluie de Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing