We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 friends in Giverney, sublime!”
Review of La Pluie de Roses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pluie de Roses
Ranked #7 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“6 friends in Giverney, sublime!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

The b & b was so warm and welcoming we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to experience the beautiful gardens of Monet. The proprietors were accommodating and saw to our every need. From the welcoming aperitif to when Phillipe closed the gates closed behind us! we were enthralled. Don't miss the glass house room in the garden or the front bathroom with opera mementos. The bedrooms were large and comfortable. The breakfast was yummy. Thanks to our hosts for making such a memorable experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    29
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
160
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent one night at La Pluie de Roses in the "Bonheur du jour" room (upstairs). The room was nicely decorated, with an old world charm. It smelled like roses. The bed was comfortable; linen was fresh and clean and the bathroom was immaculate. The shower was very very nice. The B&B is conveniently located on Rue Claude Monet, about a 10-15 minute walk to the museum and Monet's garden. The B&B is on beautiful piece of property owned by a very friendly couple. Breakfast was delectable - a variety of cereals, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, ham and cheese, fresh juice, coffee and tea. The owners allowed us to park our car on their property while visiting the museum and garden even though it was past the check-out time. This B&B will complete your stay while in Giverny!

Room Tip: We stayed at Bonheur du jour room ; the photos on the website doesn't do it just!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandEtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A beautiful large house filled with antiques, and 2 very cute dogs. we booked the largest private room. Very comfortable with lots of space to relax in, mixture of quaint deco mixed with Ikea beds and shelves. Private entrance meant no one was walking by our door, so nice and quiet.
unluckily for us, our 2 night stay was a wet and grey one, but one cannot deny the beauty of their gardens and the house itself. All must look even better in the sunshine.

Elisabeth was warm and friendly (husband more aloof) and was happy to provide special cereal bread from the boulangerie when I asked her if breakfast was going to have some. Her coffee and home made jams was a delight, all nicely served in the greenhouse. There is more to choose from but that was all I needed.
Certainly highly recommended.

Room Tip: a very nice 10 min walk from the museums, personally I like the long(ish) walk as it has many little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We received a very friendly welcome from the owners and were enchanted with our room and how charmingly it was furnished and decorated. The shared public areas were beautiful and offered a very calm, relaxed atmosphere with the added bonus of soft classical music playing in the background. Breakfasts were ample and freshly prepared and were beautifully laid out. I shall certainly make a point of returning here and will bring my friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This property is well located, has charming and very accommodating hosts, lovely grounds, a nice breakfast and a welcoming glass of wine all at a very reasonable price. Parking on the property rather than on the street was a plus. Who needs more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This gem of a chambre d'hôte was a real treat. The room was lovely and the breakfast a delight. The couple who own the house are very charming and made us feel welcome. The restaurant they recommended was also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wombat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very gracious. They even covered our bikes when the weather forecasted rain! The only complaint was loud conversation downstairs while we were trying to sleep. I don't believe they realized that we could hear every detail of their conversation! Easy to find and the owners are very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnemanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 14 in Giverny
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pluie de Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pluie de Roses

Property: La Pluie de Roses
Address: 14 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old property from the beginning of the last century, tucked away between the valley and the hills, in the middle of an outstanding environnement, "La Pluie de Roses" sleeps lightly in a park (6000 square meters) planted with various resinous trees and rose garden.Elisabeth and Philippe Chauveau, the new owners, after an entire renovation,welcome you in a romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Pluie de Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing