We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of LE PETIT GIVERNY

LE PETIT GIVERNY
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Giverny
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Budapest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere was great, the decoration was typical from this region in France and it was lovely to eat at Le Petit Giverny! Prices were a bit expensive for my taste, howewer the food was quite good!! The service was great, they treated us very kindly and we had a little history lesson! Nice experience :) and an excellent tarte aux ponmes, greetings from Colombia

Helpful?
Thank G_gabyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    88
    32
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Kind gentleman owner :-)”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed our experience at Le Petit in early June. The patio was pleasant, with lovely roses in bloom. The open wood fireplace grilled kebabs were delicious and the grilled potato was distinctive and yummy. The gentleman owner was also the cook and server that evening, and we enjoyed his kind, grandfatherly friendliness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport Point, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, Reasonable, Relaxing!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This restaurant is just before Monet's home/garden. Eating here was just lovely and relaxing as we sat under a red umbrella right in the middle of a very pretty garden(roses, cosmos, snap dragons, etc.)...just what I was looking for a French country lunch after a long crowded train ride (and bus ride) from Paris! The food was very good and very fresh! I had a wonderful, flavorful chicken kabob which was cooked over an open flame with salad and a baked potato smothered in what is the French equivalent of our sour cream. This sour cream was delicious with nice fresh herbs blended in. (I believe the herbs may have been chives and tarragon.) The salad dressing was wonderful too: a type of Dijon vinaigrette. I enjoyed that too. The owner was very accommodating and made us feel at home. My advise is to be polite. Ask if any person sitting or serving you if he/she speaks English first before speaking in English right away! Also day "Bon Jour" and "merci " whenever appropriate. Being polite is very important in French culture. It goes a long way with how you are treated in France! After our great lunch, we headed to Monet's gardens. It was one of the best days of my vacation! Just wonderful!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flowers and friendly service.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a little touristy because it is located steps from Monet's home and garden. The food was good, but not of course gourmet. We had three course meals for what the sandwich stand nearby charged for a sandwich and drink. It is family run . The owners are very nice.
The out door seating is beautiful. I also liked the smell of the open fire where my brochette was being cooked.
Eating here was a good beginning to a nice visit at Giverny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisianaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ash with your lunch?”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ate here one lunch time. Chicken kebab, jacket potato and salad. The potato was cooked in the ashes - fine, but not put on the plate with lots of ash spreading over the other food! The chicken was underdone but did not complain as the middle aged lady serving was somewhat officious. Just ate most of it and have to admit did not get sick! Would only go here as a last resort.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LE PETIT GIVERNY also viewed

 

Been to LE PETIT GIVERNY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing