We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Jardins d'Helene
Ranked #1 of 13 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Well situated b&b, walking distance to local restaurants & Monet's house & gardens but far enough away to be peaceful. Can buy tickets from Sandrine at face value-saves queuing when you get to the gardens.Very friendly & helpful hosts. Room comfortable and clean. Bathroom although private was separate from bedroom ( access to it was separated from adjoining guest room by curtains).
Would definitely stay here again. A good breakfast with lovely fresh croissants & homemade jams.
It's hard to believe that Sandrine & David have only been running this place for one month - we would like to wish them every success.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    64
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
104
306
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for three nights and can safely say that all the previous reviews reflect the special nature of this accommodation.The room was excellent, clean and comfortable with a large bathroom.Breakfast was delicious with cereal, yogurts, cheese and various breads and jams
Les Jardins d'Helene is at the opposite end of Giverney from Monet's Gardens , however a pleasant 20minute walk through this delightful village is time well spent.
Stop at the church and take time to see Monet's tomb and also the monument and grave of RAF fliers killed during WW 2 .
The Hotel Baudy will offer refreshment during your trek and is an excellent choice for lunch or dinner.
Finally we have to thank Sandrine who added all the touches which make a stay special and wish her well in her new venture.
Hopefully we will have the chance to return in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is one of the first inns you see on rue Claude Monet when you drive onto this magical street. The inn has a terrific outdoor garden (with fresh fruit that you can pick right off a tree). You can sit amongst beautiful trees and flowers, read a book, swing on a hammock, and just enjoy the beautiful setting. You also have the option to sit in the inn’s living room, listen to a CD and relax. The rooms were nice and clean. My family members shared a suite that enabled everyone to enjoy their privacy. Our breakfast was terrific and the fresh fruit that was served was a wonderful bonus.

It takes about fifteen minutes to walk to Monet’s gardens from the location. You will enjoy the walk. As you stroll along the picturesque street, you can pay tribute to the artist and visit his grave. You can also enjoy a meal at one of Giverny's excellent restaurants, including L'Esquisse Gourmande, where we ate, and Baudy, where many famous impressionist artists met and ate.

I would recommend this inn to everyone and wish the new owners, Sandrine and David, great success in their new position. I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithCR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hosts were incredibly kind and helpful and made our stay one to be remembered. Helping with dinner reservations if needed, recommending places to visit and being able to sell tickets to Monet's garden, so we could avoid the queues!
The house is beautiful and the rooms, clean and tidy and beautifully decorated in a French style.
As a location, it is excellent. we stayed here for 3 nights as a base to explore 'Monet Country' and we weren't disappointed. Being able to explore some beautiful towns/villages/châteaus and of course Monet's Garden which was just a short leisurely walk away.
There is a reason why this is #1 on tripadvisor...well, no, there are several reasons why this is #1!
When we go back to France, we will head back to Les Jardins d'helene.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed one night before visiting Monet's garden (which is only about 400 yards away). The hosts were very kind and welcomed us with a cup of tea when we arrived (probably looking hot and bothered) and then showed us a safe place to park off the road. The bedroom and bathroom were comfortable, clean and pleasantly decorated and we slept well after a meal on the terrace in the nearby restaurant. The location proved its worth the next morning when we were able to get into Monet's garden shortly after opening time, before the crowds and queues had built up.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking the garden, and had its own large bathroom/shower/loo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffes4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in July visiting Monet's garden of course! This is a lovely house with it's own beautiful gardens. We were given a very warm welcome and stayed in the Barcarolle room. We loved the furnishings and especially the large bathroom complete with quirky artworks. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the friendly help in booking to the relaxed breakfasts Gilles was a pleasure to deal with.Our room was welcoming and had an attractive outlook over the garden.The ensuite bathroom had a shower, freestanding bath and room to move.Gilles arranged our tickets to Monet's Garden which saved queueing and the walk through the village was a pleasant part of the experience.Two nights was too short,John Eyre , South Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
1.0 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#6 of 13 in Giverny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Coin des Artistes
Le Coin des Artistes
#10 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Helene

Property: Les Jardins d'Helene
Address: 12 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gates of Normandy,75 kms from Paris, Giverny the heart of Impressionism offers beautiful landscapes and the charm of the french countryside. Definitely "givernoise", this house, once known as 'the house at the beginning of the village', then the "gatekeeper's house", "the milkman's house" and finally the 'mayor's house', is now a one of its kind bed and breakfast.Les Jardins d'Helene are open all year long, and a one hour drive will take you to Honfleur, Deauville (sea side) or Versailles, and you'll find castles, gardens, parks in the neighborhoods.Bicycles are at you disposal for a short ride or more if you prefer the Greenway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing