We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel de l'Esperance
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur Hotel(Lisieux)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
61
81
19
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
81
19
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadshort walkclassic hotelle manspastriesboiled eggsrecommend this hotelsunday morningmain attractionscomfortable loungegarage parkingthe hotel's restaurantwide varietyan appetizerhamon footexcellent restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved this hotel: Friendly and helpful staff, lovely interior, clean room. We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the street. Got to our room and opened the wonderful old fashioned windows overlooking the village -- GREAT view of the Basilica of St Therese up on the hill! Special to hear the church bells from our room. This hotel is in walking distance (close, 5 minutes) to the Carmelite Monastery and the St Pierre Cathedral. Excellent French Restaurant on the premises (classic French dishes done creatively by chef), I had Duck and it was perfectly done. This hotel was much better than I expected -- because the reviews I read in July painted an average picture.... Definitely above average, and the old world dining experience/ dinner in the hotel restaurant should not be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentines_Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great old classic hotel. The room was clean, beds comfortable. We spent an evening sitting in the lobby chatting and enjoying drinks. Walked around the town and felt very safe. Nice shopping. Pretty flowers.
Breakfast offered both hot and cold food. Great breads as to be expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharpshopper208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

A Hotel with a true french atmosphere of old school class.
Large lobby, good staff, free wifi and real keys! Double rooms about €130
Best location in town and only 25 minutes from Deauville.
Not listed on hotels.com etc so give them a call.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z-brox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in the town, between and only a short walking distance from the cathedral and the basilica.

Room was clean and fresh. It's amenities were ok - TV and free wifi but no coffee. It was quite warm and no air con. We were at the front and slept with a window open - the external noise wasn't too bad for town centre. Bathroom was clean, all in working order and adequate but cosy.

We didn't try breakfast because we'd eaten well the night before and at €11 for a continental it seemed a bit expensive.

We stayed 2 nights and ate in the restaurant once. Service was excellent and the food was well presented and okay, though the vegetables were a little overdone. It was reasonable value for the price.

Would stay again if we come back to Lisieux.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raging_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The welcome was very homely, they even allowed us to see differing rooms before making the final choice. The room finally chosen was well sound-proofed and correct.
As for the breakfast, good but for the price I would have expected far more - more in the way of a cooked breakfast. The coffee machines broke down and only 1 person in the breakfast room for a fairly significant number of people meaning that dirty plates and cups were not cleared away promptly. For the price, this was really not acceptable.
En français : l'accueil très symapthique. L'hotel nous a permis de choisir notre chambre - la chambre choisie était très correcte, propre et peu de bruit.
Le petit déjeuner etait chèr et en plus , la machine à café était en panne. Seulement 1 personne pour travailler dans la salle à manger - franchement pas assez.
Un hotel très chèr pour la qualité moyenne.

Room Tip: avoid the triple rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewST16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews