We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Hotel Saint James

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trouville-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Saint James
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

By my count, the Saint James only has nine rooms, but this hotel's all about quality not quantity. I stayed there twice in quick succession, the first time on my own in one of the more basic rooms, and the second time with my wife in a 'suite'. Both rooms were comfortable and clean, but the suite was complimented by the same fine antique furniture and tasteful decor which graces the public areas - i.e. mainly the bar/lounge/breakfast area.

Speaking of breakfast, that's the only meal you'll get here (continental with fresh juice and croissants etc) but the Saint James is in the same pretty little backstreets close to the beach which house many good restaurants, including the excellent Les Affiches just a stone's throw away.

After a stay here, with the host of 30 years Christian's considerate attention lavished on you, you should feel more like you've had a sociable stay in an inviting private home than a stopover in a hotel.

Au revoir.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinosurfpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint James, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Sir,
thank you for having stayed at the Hotel Saint James. We hope that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you also for your comment that accurately reflects the spirit of the institution. Indeed, we attach great importance to the hospitality and friendliness which tend to disappear.

warm regards
Hôtel Saint James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I absolutely loved the service, cleanliness and convenience of the Saint James during our short stay in France. The beach access is very close... very nice restaurants and areas for a nice stroll. We will definitely be back....Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Super clean... nice bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This lovely and intimate spot is the perfect antidote to the chain hotel experience. Real keys, not electronic cards. Quaint and quiet and well-located near the beach, restaurants, and shops; the innkeeper, Christian, is accommodating and ever pleasant.
All the details were taken care of.
A great get-away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I adore this hotel. The owner is charming and nothing is too much trouble. My one word of warning is that no English is spoken here. Only French. So, just be prepared if you speak no French. Other than the language issue, this is the cutest hotel in Trouville. The breakfast is also great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I was going up to Normandy with my adult son and his wife and I wanted somewhere charming to stay as we began our D Day beaches tour. The St.James was perfect. Both our rooms were chamringly decorated and we were so close to the beach. The bathrooms are really nicely up dated with deep tubs and showers. Geraniums abounded and the host was wonderful. We ate the breakfast even though it is a bit expensive - but freshly baked coissants and pain au chocolat warm from the oven made it completely worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brubecksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trouville-sur-Mer hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Flaubert
Le Flaubert
#8 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
#4 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
#15 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
#5 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint James

Property: Hotel Saint James
Address: 16 rue de la Plage, 14360 Trouville-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Trouville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hate, a block away from the beach, restaurants, shops, casino... Very quiet with only 9 rooms including a junior suite for families, all nicely decorated. Also, a comfy lounge with a fire place to relax at tea time or a drink later in the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing