We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This is an immaculate hotel, very efficient and well maintained. We had one of the smaller rooms, but it was a reasonable size. The ensuite lacked a bath, but was otherwise excellent. There was a balcony in which you could sit outside. The hotel's website doesn't do it justice; there is free wi-fi and, although you don't automatically get a complimentary hospitality tray, reception will provide one immediately on request. The breakfast is above average, in size and quality, for a 3* hotel but it's expensive if bought separately, so it's worth getting an inclusive deal. The pool is small, but well maintained, and fine for a leisurely splash. The staff are helpful and deal with any requests very promptly. The hotel is just a few minutes walk down a hill to the water front.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    293
    78
    28
    7
See reviews for
103
421
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

If you book this hotel be sure and get a map with the hotel marked on it- its quite close to the centre but not on a main road and not easy to locate. The hotel gives off all the atmosphere of a tour bus stopover as soon as you walk in, and the room we had whilst large and modern, was distinctly lacking in facilities that you might expect in a hotel of this classification- like a proper towel rail, or some drawers/shelves to unpack into. The latter was put right after a complaint. Breakfast was ample, but not of great quality and was showing signs of being ravaged by the time we walked in at 8.30am.

All told we expected more and I wouldn't stay here again without checking out other alternatives first. For what we paid, value for money wasn't particularly impressive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel and were slightly disappointed this time. The room was clean and comfortable but the size was comparable to a Premier Inn but with a higher price. We did not have breakfast as we felt that 14 euros was too much, and it should really have been included in the room rate.
The website that I booked with advertised tea & coffee making facilities and DVD player, but on arrival neither of these were provided in our room. Also we discovered that there was not even one English TV channel. We had taken some DVD's with us so were very disappointed to find no DVD player.
However all was not lost as when I enquired at reception about the lack of these facilities I was given a hospitality tray and a DVD player. I do not understand why the tray is not provided automatically in each room and the info in the room does not mention that a DVD player is available on request. We could not work out how to connect the DVD but I have to give the guy at reception his due as he came to our room and was very helpful in getting it to work .
So if you do stay here do not expect English TV, and make sure you ask for your hospitality tray and DVD player if you want them.
Other than that the hotel is very convenient for all the restaurants and the fact that it has it's own free car park is a big bonus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HertsYoung_at_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

On arrival reception was welcoming, but not enthusiastic. The Hotel lacked any atmosphere, the bar was always empty and very dull. The Gym as advertised is very miss leading, most of the equipment is cheap and in need of repair and does not provide much of a work out. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Lots of restaurants to eat out in the evening, well within walking distance. Parking becomes difficult during the evening.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We booked for a one night stop-over a ‘charming superior double’ room for €160. The light and airy room with small balcony appeared recently refurbished, clean and comfortable. Oddly the large bed had only two pillows, with no extra ones in the wardrobe as is usual in most hotels. The reception was efficient but impersonal.

Breakfast was a let-down. There was no one to welcome us on arrival at the breakfast room and even getting tea and coffee was do-it-yourself. The cute hot water generator for tea was rickety and empty anyway. The buffet-style breakfast was fairly extensive but the scrambled eggs were long past their best and the dried apricots were too rubbery to bite into. Although there were staff about, there didn’t seem to be anyone to supervise everything. These are all minor quibbles individually, but paying €15 a head we would have expected a much higher standard of service.

The hotel building is at the top of a steeply sloping site, albeit with its own car park, up a hill in some back streets. So it’s quietly situated, but quite a long walk back from the beach and the lovely street restaurants in the Boulevard Fernand Moureaux.

So we left the hotel disappointed, realising that our €190 bill for bed and breakfast was the same that we had paid for similar accommodation, a warm welcome and an excellent dinner in a lesser rated hotel in Cherbourg that I’ve also reviewed for Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Cross, Pevensey, East Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

From arrival to departure cannot fault this hotel. Have stayed here now 4 times over the last few years. Parking is in own grounds. Reception is a dream. Lift to your floor. Wide lift, wide corridors. This visit had the standard room with shower. Excellent spacious room, all amenities that you would expect with 3 stars.I feel under rated. Staff attentive but not overso. For those that are fitness conscious there is a beutiful indoor pool with adjoing sauna.To spend a few days here, just leave your car in the hotel grounds walk a few huundred metres to main area by the river which separates Trouville from Deauville.A promenade of excellent restaurants typically french and naturally specialising in seafoods. The town and hotel I highly recommend. Expensive but that is France these days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneXCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddorset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Having read some of the reviews before we left, we were concerned about the standard of this Hotel. We found the Hotel easily met all our requirements - there has been a lot of redecoration of the bedrooms. The swimming pool and facilities were excellent for a 3 star Hotel. The golf courses in the vacinity were some of the best in France. The staff extremely helpful. We will certainly return.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dot5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trouville-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
#5 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
#15 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Deauville Centre
Ibis Deauville Centre
#9 of 28 in Deauville
1,112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon

Property: Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Address: 12 Rue Sylvestre Lasserre, 14360 Trouville-sur-Mer, France (Formerly Best Western Hostellerie Du Vallon)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Trouville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trouville-sur-Mer
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trouville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hostellerie Du Vallon Hotel Trouville-Sur-Mer
Best Western Hotel Trouville
Best Western Trouville
Trouville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing