We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. The breakfast is great lots to choose from. The swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna are all very welcoming however the changing room needs updating. Pool towels or bath robes available in reception. we tamped on the first floor which at first was great as my father walks with a stick. however the noise from clip clip clop clop shoes can be heard at night time. I guess it's the receptionists shoes walking to and from the bar area.

Set in a great location close to the train station and the river. Lots of restaurants to choose from nearby.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LyneddyWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    282
    75
    28
    6
See reviews for
95
403
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Evaluation of overnight stay¹
Date : 23/04/2013 – 26/04/2013
Location : Hotellerie Vallon (Trouville-Sur-Mer)
Room number : 101

Summary : score : 3/5
Convenient hotel, focussing on bed+breakfast type of tourists, which can be rated in a top 3 stars – low 4 stars rating (european rating)¹. The hotel is located in the village center, near a train station, and a small fishing harbour, in between small 2-floor apartment buildings and houses. It’s biggest plus is the very convenient private parking in front of the hotel. It is an ideal base camp for car tourists visiting Normandy (northwise Honfleur – Etretat – Fécamp; southwise Caen and the WWII landing beaches). Price/quality is good.

Details :

Environment : score : 4/5
• Located in the center of Trouville-Sur-Mer.
• 500 m from beach.
• Close (few 100 m) to fishing harbour with resto and bars, casino around.
• Public transport : train and bus station nearby (500 m).
• Very well reachable by car, but not easy to find in the one-way streets.
• In between houses, but quiet.
• Very convenient private parking ! (Parking in rest of Trouville is not easy).

Outside : score : 3/5
• Outside of the hotel is clean.
• When arriving by car, indications to hotel are present but very difficult to find. Prepare arrival upfront via GPS or village map (otherwise your search may become a nightmare) .
• No taxi parking is noticed. Taxis nearby (train station).
• Next to the hotel is a ping-pong table, no kids play area noticed.

Reception : score : 4/5
• Service :
o Very friendly (eg. : inqueries on how my day was).
o Professional.
• Explanations :
o Received the key to our room, with clear indications how to reach it.
o Clear explanation on all the services and activities available in the hotel.
o No explanations of surrounding activities or nearby city visit.
• Speed : No needless waiting time. Quickly served at all times.

Parking : score : 3/5
• Located in front to the hotel.
• Free of charge.
• Not closed off by a lever or any other means of security.
• Mandatory to leave license plate information at check-in. Assumption is that parking is checked for “outsider” cars, and these are removed.
• Parking was clean.
• Parking spots are sufficiently big to park normal European family car.
• Entrance from parking to hotel is accessible without problems for disabled people.

Elevators : score : 3/5
• 1 Elevator of convenient standard, sufficiently big for multiple people.
• Standard quality and finishing.
• Limited in noise.

Corridors : score : 3/5
• Covered by full carpet limiting footnoise to an absolute minimum.
• Convenient automatic lighting. Regretfully the timing of the lighting is short, which resulted in ending up in the dark for a brief moment, as the next detector soon takes over. This happened several times.
• Walls are painted. Nice decoration.
• Very clean.

Room : score : 3/5
Room : double.
• Entrance via card key.
• Lighting is convenient, but just at the limit. Could be better.
• Sufficiently clean.
• Full carpet covered floors.
• Convenient purple-pink decorations throughout the room.
• Room at the end of the corridor (had requested quiet room).
• Radiator heating, no airco available.
• Room located at the side of the hotel.
• Small few m² terrace, with some inconvenient plastic chairs.
• Insulation : overall very quiet.
o Window : No traffic noise. No surrounding neighbours noise. Door/Walls :
 Corridor noise only penetrates very faintly into the room,
 Next rooms noise does not penetrate into the room.
 Main disadvantage noise-wise is potential banging of doors automatically closing.
 Faint noise from heating and bathroom ventilation.
o Sometimes some noise of undetermined source : personnel elevator ? (not at night).
• Bed : stable to hard matrass, pillows slightly soft, but 2 available per person, standard bed cover (duvet).
• No minibar.
• Water heather with tea and instant coffee.
• LCD television with sufficiently big screen (32 inch, I believe).
• No LAN connection, but WIFI in the hotel and desktop computer near the reception.
• Small paper notepad with pencil available.
• Extra chair+table.
• Room service available.

Bathroom :
• Small convenient, inviting (decoration-wise), modern bathroom.
• Shower available, no bath tub.
• Separate sink with modern tap, big mirror and small hairdryer.
• Separate glasses (not plastic cups).
• Shower gel and shower cap available.
• Toilet is inconveniently placed. Left leg is against door. To sit conveniently, one has to tilt to the right.

Restaurant : N/A
• No restaurant in the hotel. Restaurant area only used for breakfast.

Breakfast : score : 3/5
• Breakfast area is convenient with large window, but slightly dark.
• Buffet style.
• French style, so not too elaborate.
• Few choice in types of bread, but different types of croissants.
• Warm (eggs, bacon,…) and 3-4 cold different types of meat salami, ham,… and 3-4 choices of cheese available.
• Few types of cereals available.
• Orange juice, milk, etc. available.
• Different types of tea, hot coco, coffee available.
• Personnel is friendly and professional in its service, but cleaning ladies in their outfit serving breakfast is not classy for this type of hotel.
• Newspapers available at reception.
Breakfast was included in the overnight stay.

Fitness : score : 2/5
• Separate dressing rooms for men and women is a plus.
• Different fitness equipment available for standard muscle training.
• Also some equipment for cardio training.
• Most equipment has a torn-out/worn-out look and absolutely did not invite to exercise.

Sauna : score : 4/5 (dress-code : swimwear)
• Lockers : Separate lockers available.
• Sauna : for hotel-only sauna’s, this is a rather big sauna !
• Seems to be recently build. Very good quality.
• Minus : separate basket with pour-on water is missing.
• Steam room : HUGE ! (for a hotel-only sauna), but I think the room is overdimensioned compared to the steam equipment (it is not getting sufficiently hot).
• Very convenient rain-shower type of showers.
• Free towels and bath-robe available at reception, slippers and swimwear is paying.
Pool area : score : 3/5
• Pool (about 12 m estimate) of convenient size with depths : 1m20 – 1m60
• Clean in and around.
• Separate jacuzzi available is a plus.
• Overdone on disinfection (chloride) in the water. The whole area smells like it.
• Few plastic long-chairs around the pool. Seeing the standard and rating of the sauna, these chairs could be of better quality.


Bar : score : 1/5
• The decor of the bar area is very nice, with sofa’s, big screen TV, a pool and billiards area.
• Extremely expensive : 6 euro for a 33cl beer is outrageous. No wonder there was never anybody in the bar area.
• Pool area : nice eight-ball pool and separate 3-ball billiard, but the cue were worn out and need to be replaced.

¹ : Ratings of this evaluation are subjective and depend only on a personal experience on the indicated date. They are indicative given the described context. The writer cannot be held responsible for an experience not according to above evaluation/rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
400 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Reception staff not really welcoming...very distant. Room ok,clean and quiet. Came in at 10 pm to Finder 24/24 open bar closed. Reception staff nowhere to be seen so went to bed thirsty and disappointed. We'll see What breakfast Will be tomorrow and the how the remaining four days of our stay will be before we'll post a new review. Not a good start!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We decided to take a few days to see the beaches of Normandy during the off season. It was a nice time to visit Trouville-sur-Mer because everything was open and in want of customers. I can imagine the area is really packed during the summer. I prefer the chilly but quiet streets in December.

The Best Western is nice. Its' in a good location - probably quiet during those busy summer months. We got two rooms that were attached at the end of a long hall. The decor seemed like it was new but it was kind of old fashioned looking. So I'm not sure if it was in need of remodel and the paint and decorations were just in very good shape or if it had been just redone but just in old fashioned taste. Well, not a big deal, it was a comfortable bed and clean. The bathroom was nice and clean and we had a sliding door which leads onto a nice grass patio which also attached to the other room's patio. So it's a good pair of rooms for a family to use. Probably nice in the summer to be able to use the patio. But it didn't have any furniture outside - not sure if they place furniture out there during the warmer months.

The breakfast was just your average european buffet. Nothing to shout about. The pool tables were a nice option to have to use for recreation. Sometimes it was a little busy but usually didn't take long to wait for an open table and the front desk person was always ready to make a drink for you at the bar whenever you needed. We didn't use the pool. But it looked satisfactory and other families seemed to enjoy it.

The staff was nice and they were able to show us where to go and how to get there. It was a bit of a drive to get to the Normandy Beaches. I'm sure during the nicer months there are a lot of nice hotels that are open closer to the historical landmarks. But we enjoyed this spot and the best part (after having seen the tight little streets) was the free parking at the hotel. Made it totally worth any old fashioned decorations easy to ignore!!

Room Tip: If you have a 2 kids traveling with you ask for the two rooms that connect. Might even fit a 3rd k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CA,
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After having a slightly difficult time finding this hotel, we were delighted with its location. Trouville-sur-Mer has many one-way streets, as are common in European cities/towns, so we had to "go around" a couple of times to get to the hotel. When we did find it, we discovered a large parking lot on its perimeter. Having found a good parking place, we checked in and found our HUGE room.
The hotel is several blocks away from Trouville's main street, which is a plus, as it seems there is always a lot of traffic there. As my husband was having a knee problem and trouble walking, we took the car to dinner each night. In Sept., there was not a problem parking, but that might be an issue at 'high season.'
It was a new appearing facility, with very clean rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was very good. I'd recommend this facility to anyone wanting a quiet place in Trouville-sur-Mer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel was in a perfect location for us, and ample free parking and free wi-fi. The staff were especially helpful - re-stoking the fire for our drinks at 1am. The room was very large but quite sparsely furnished, and the lack of tea/coffee making facilities is a negative. We did not use the pool facilities which looked very nice, but the gym was sparse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A classic Normandy style building with service experience to match. Casual and friendly reception, the hotel is in a good spot, 5 - 10 minutes walk from the train station - the location is not obvious so print out a map before you set off. Rooms are clean and modern - the bathroom is a bit small though and doesn't include individual toiletries, only pump style dispensers, fine for a 2 star but not here. I didn't use the facilities though the pool looked nice and would be good when cold outside. The gym was in poor condition and with equipment that didn't look well maintained - the space would be better used for a changing room for the pool! Large bar and breakfast areas would mean this hotel would be great for families or groups. A nice stay - though not really a 4 star level.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - with a couple of chairs it is a nice place to be in the sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dechetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trouville-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
#4 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
#14 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon

Property: Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Address: 12 Rue Sylvestre Lasserre, 14360 Trouville-sur-Mer, France (Formerly Best Western Hostellerie Du Vallon)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Trouville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trouville-sur-Mer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trouville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western FR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hostellerie Du Vallon Hotel Trouville-Sur-Mer
Best Western Hotel Trouville
Best Western Trouville
Trouville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing