We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now as a base for golfing holidays and its a small. clean and friendly hotel with very helpful staff and good access to restaurants in Trouville and shops in Deauville. There's a continental buffet breakfast which is fresh and the main downside is the limited parking space.

Room Tip: Rooms with small balconies are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnT1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your kind message and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    156
    53
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
174
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Wish I could give it a better review. The staff were great and so is the location. The room is basic but comfortable. The shower in the bath needs care and the bathroom was tiny ( with two cracked floor tiles which is never ok).

Breakfast was ok and at 12.5 euro a good deal. As other reviewers have said parking is tight. First nigh we found free parking in the street behind the hotel and the second for 1.5 euro ( from past 6 pm until 8:30am the next day ) next to the hotel. Both nights the small private parking area that held 4 cars was full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerdantTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. For your information, most of our bathrooms are renovated now and yours will be renovated next winter and we wil replace the bathtube by a shower to optimize the space. Since your stay, we have repaired the 2 floor tiles.
Regarding our little courtyard, it is possible to park a maximum of 4 cars, on first comes first served basis, and this is free.
With our best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely comfortable hotel centrally located in the up market seaside town of Trouville-sur-mer. A very warm welcome received from the owners. Spacious and comfortable room with great shower. Ample continental breakfast which was prepared early on our day of departure with no fuss. Thank you. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to large rooms on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you for a future stay,
Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May with 3 mates as a base for golf break around Deauville. very friendly and helpful hosts, including arranging breakfast 30 mins early to fit with our golf plans. Think we were upgraded without asking, as hotel was not full, and facilities and breakfast were really good all round. Recommended.

Room Tip: With balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your very nice review on our hotel, we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you had a good stay with us. You have indeed been upgraded to Superior rooms.
We hope to welcome you again for a future stay,
With our best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel was really good situated in the center. Parking space is a problem.
We had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast is good. You have enough choice and fresh products. The room is mall, but you have everything you need for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marlies H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited on a French Bank Holiday so everything was very busy. The rooms in the hotel were small but provided all we needed. We were there on a golfing holiday so did not really spend time in the room. Lack of a bar is a little bit of a downer but there are lots of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Great breakfast by French standards. If you want a clean, comfortable and friendly base of operations in Trouville, this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your nice comment and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you for a future stay,
Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

With two couples, we stayed at Le Fer a Cheval for an extended weekend. The hotel is conveniently located very close to the casino, beach and boulevard. That was basically why we liked it. Even though we had booked a 'superior' room, the rooms were extremely small. So small, that we couldn't even store our two suitcases (they also didn't fit under the bed). Furthermore, and we have seen more remarks about this from other reviewers, there was a very strong smell in the room. The street was very noisy, particularly at night, as it is the connexting street between the casino and the town center. Bathroom amenities were far from plentiful: two small sachets of bath gel per day and no shampoo. Breakfast was very basic but okay. The hotel has a small parking for a maximum of three cars. Parking outside the hotel is difficult and expensive 22 € per day).
Unfortunately, we had some unpleasant financial suprises. When we booked the hotel, a quote was given and we booked under these conditions. Upon checking out, the price turned out higher. The argument was that this was because of Easter and that it was mentionned on the confirmation. We said, however, that we were given a quote and that we booked on the basis of this. So far, we have not had any response to our request to get back the money we feel the hotel has overcharged us.
Another frustration was that first, our credit card was not accepted so we paid by debit card. The machine failed two times according to the receptionist. The third time it worked. However, upon getting home it turned out the amount had been charged three times. It took more than a week to investigate and get two of the three payments reversed.
All in all we would try another hotel next time in Trouville.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutant V, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Fer a Cheval, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Sir,
As discussed wih you during your stay, we well had booked two superior rooms for you which size was between 16 and 17 sq meters and both of them had balconies. For your information, our standard rooms are around 13.50 sq meters and don't have balconies. We also explained you that our biggest Superior rooms are equipped with twin beds, whereas you asked for double beds. We proposed you to visit one of them for a future stay (as the hotel was full to change the rooms) but you refused.
Your rooms were located on a quiet and little street, however this was a very busy bank holiday week-end so this is probably why you have been disturbed, but this is a very rare occurance.
Regarding bedroom amenities, we will change our products from 2015 and propose something more sophisticated. For your information, the sachets you had in your bathroom are two in one (shampoo and shower gel).
We have developped our buffet breakfast since january and are proposing now also eggs, ham and cheese in addition to the traditionnal french breakfast and we have good feedbacks on it.
You are talking about parking outside which is payable whereas you were lucky enough to park your car in our little courtyard which is free.
Regarding the room price, we made a mistake on our quotation but the room price on our reservation confirmation was good and we have since reimbursed you the difference.
Upon check out, your credit card has been refused two times and as you are mentionning, you have been charged only one time.
Staying at your disposal for any further information, Best regards,
Virginie Dutant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trouville-sur-Mer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
#4 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
#15 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du...
#3 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix - Trouville-sur-Mer
Hotel de la Paix - Trouville-sur...
#12 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fer a Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fer a Cheval

Property: Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
Address: 11 rue Victor Hugo, 14360 Trouville-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Trouville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Fer a Cheval 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Fer a Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Fer a Cheval Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing