We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach Front Hotel”
Review of Le Flaubert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Flaubert
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Front Hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Le Flaubert on June 4-6, 2014. The hotel stood handsomely right on the beach. Our room was on the 6th floor with a view of the ocean. This was our first time to visit Trouville, and we fell in love with this laid back 1900 century beach town. Trouville is a well preserved town and Le Flaubert is a well maintained hotel with lots of charm. The hotel is nicely decorated within the era, however, parking is very limited. The hotel has a small parking lot that might fit 6 cars at the most. Off street parking is also an option if you are lucky enough to find a spot. Our room was large with a king size bed and a day bed. The bathroom has a large tub and a standing shower. The staff are nice and friendly. There are many restaurants within walking distance. Our favorite was "Bistrot Sur Le Quai", a small bistro with great mussels. We have tried several restaurants and this one is by far the best, offering a reasonably priced three course menu. There is also a seafood market right by the pier, offering fresh seafood and oysters which you can take out, or for 3 euros more you can enjoy them at the table right in front. A grocery store can be found near Flaubert, minutes away by foot. We had a great time and a good stay at Le Flaubert.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddybuTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    101
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
121
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We'd been to Trouville many times and always stayed at the 'back' of the town. This time we decided to stay on the boardwalk. Our satnav guided us directly to Hotel Flaubert, and although the car park was closed the day we arrived, we parked easily on the street, which is free. The car park reopened the following day but we didn't move the car at all until we left Trouville after 2 nights stay. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea and was very comfortable, with a large bathroom, wardrobe, TV, mini bar and places to sit other than the bed. It's just a few minutes into the heart of Trouville where there are plenty of shops and restaurants and quaint streets. Along the boardwalk, there are restaurants and bars and then wonderful old houses front the sea many with steps down on to the beach. It is possible to identify still those mansions featured in Monet's famous painting of Trouville

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KibesGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I had a bad start in Trouville, arriving after a long tiring drive, finding the hotel hard to find. Trouville is a very busy town with a serious traffic problem and virtually impossible to find a parking space anywhere. After a traumatic half-hour driving round narrow, one-way streets looking for a parking space, with my wife standing outside the hotel on the mobile, I did eventually persuade the receptionist to open the barrier to the very small car park and just managed to squeeze the car in without blocking anyone in. Phew.... No charge for this was off-set by excessive breakfast charges - around 2€ for a boiled egg and extra €'s for butter. All a bit of a cheek since this hotel does not have a salle-a-manger to eat breakfast in, or even a restaurant in-house at all. You have to eat your breakfast in your room (something we never usually do) or in a very small inadequate bar area perched on small tables and chairs. Just not acceptable. The 3rd floor room at €170 per night, while expensive, was comfortable, good sized and clean with a nice view over the beach area. But it was noisy in the evenings with drunken revellers and children screaming from the beach and the acoustics inside allowed bumping noises from the floor above which kept us awake late into the night. We ate at La Muette (seagull) restaurant round the corner which we can definitely recommend; very good professional service, but couldn't wait to leave this hotel and will definitely not be returning to Trouville. If you need wi-fi, there is none at all at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are good enough although noisy at the front; but everything else would persuade you to look el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We (myself, wife, 2 year old daughter) stayed at this hotel for two nights. Paid about 90 EUR per night (without breakfast, only limited parking lots of the hotel)

Positive:
++ our junior suite was big and newly renovated
+ location: close to the sea, close to the centre of the village
+ ambiance

Average:
~ staff and reception area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hotel Flaubert is a lovely little hotel in a wonderful location. It is a minute away from a beautiful beach. We had a very nice spacious room with a small balcony and it was spotlessly clean and bright and as with everything in the Hotel everything seemed to be in good condition and well looked after.

We hadn't planned to stay in Trouville but loved it and will definitely return.

The only problem was the parking is very limited but we managed to park in a public car park nearby.

The breakfast was served in the bedroom and was well presented and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you are going to Deauville and Trouville in France, definitely stay in Trouville the much more charming city. The Hotel Flaubert would be my choice. Lovely htoel, nice people and right on the beach.

Tony Helies

Room Tip: nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The location is fantastic! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The price was good. They offered parking which many hotels in this area did not. The decor does not look like it has been updated since the 50's. Though this "boardwalk empire feel" my husband really liked. It wasn't my taste as I prefer a more modern style though it was kinda neat especially since all of Trouville feels like it is stuck back in time and therefore it fit in well with the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trouville-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
Hotel Mercure Trouville Sur Mer
#4 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du Vallon
Best Western Plus Hostellerie Du...
#3 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
Soleil Vacances Beach Hotel
#14 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
Hotel Le Fer a Cheval
#5 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Flaubert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flaubert

Property: Le Flaubert
Address: rue Gustave Flaubert, 14360 Trouville-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Trouville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Trouville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flaubert 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Flaubert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing