We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, quiet location, short walk to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge area
Large sunny terrace View as you enter apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Open plan lounge area
Large sunny terrace
View as you enter apartment
Ample kitchen area
Dining area
with sunshine flooding in
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Door leading to bedroom
Front of Apartment
Bathroom with shower
Trouville Fish Market Open all year around
Sundowners on the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely apartment, quiet location, short walk to local amenities.”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a lovely relaxing week this summer in Trouville. Jules' apartment is set on the ground floor of a two block complex that has security gates in a peaceful part of town. The apartments are very well maintained and quiet.

The two bedroom apartment is spotlessly clean, a real home from home, with everything you could possibly need for a holiday. We were met by the exuberant Carole, a wonderful French lady who looks after the apartment for Jules. She showed us around the apartment and explained how everything worked, also giving us tips on local shops and restaurants we should try. She then met us as we were going home to pick up the keys at a time we agreed with her. Seems like a great arrangement.

There are a couple of boulangeries within a 5 to 10 minute walk just down the hill from the apartment and we would stroll down first thing to get our breakfast and supplies for the day. For our groceries we used the Leclerc in Deauville which is just a 5 minute drive and also had the cheapest fuel.

Trouville was probably not our cup of tea so to speak. Peak summer season, full to the brim, parking impossible but not a real problem as only a short walk into town. Very full on seaside resort, masses of restaurants and cafes to choose from, divided from Deauville by a small river, easy to walk across and explore. If you didn't fancy walking back there is a small water taxi that will bring you back for just over a euro each. We enjoy quiet relaxing holidays, Trouville town is neither of these things, I guess it's what suits you. Most days we ended up driving along the coast roads and exploring the local villages and their beaches. Driving west we stopped at Benerville which has a beautiful beach almost deserted in comparison to Trouville, we parked down a side street by the beach and spent a couple of days here, much more to our taste than the packed Trouville beach.

We couldn't visit Normandy without seeing the D-Day landing beaches. About an hour and a half drive but well worth it. We have been before but our children are that much older now and appreciated it much more. We visited the Overlord museum which was very interesting and then went to the American cemetery just a few minutes away, if you have never visited any of the war cemeteries you really should. It is a very moving experience, we have visited the British cemetery before and we're pleased to have seen the American this time. We then spent the rest of the day relaxing on Omaha beach which is a bit surreal when you think about the events there in WWII.

Travelling east from Trouville there is a beautiful coast road to Honfleur with several villages you can stop at. Surprisingly quiet until you reach Honfleur. Again we found a lovely beach at the end of a narrow lane, almost deserted. Views out towards Le Havre and interesting watching all the different ships going back and forth. Honfleur is a beautiful fishing port but extremely busy with tourists, well worth a visit. Carole had warned us not to go at the weekend, we drove back through there on the Sunday going home and there were queues going back to the autoroute of people heading that way.

Would we go back? Difficult to say, if it were just myself and my wife then yes, with our two teenagers probably not. The apartment was spot on and Jules and Carole were great, no faults there at all. It is a great base for exploring Normandy. My kids would have loved a swimming pool,which would normally be a part of our holiday arrangements and they really missed this, that's just a reflection on the choice we made and not on Jules' great apartment.

Overall we had an excellent week, weather was just right although a bit windy, not a drop of rain,cloudy first thing but lovely sunshine and great sunsets most evenings. Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deauville...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Flat * Would book again!”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at this flat. lovely site and the flat was well kitted out to give you a home from home experience. Near to the markets and everything we love in France. We had actually gone to book the property again but left it a bit late and August is already booked for the weeks we needed it. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Presentation and homeliness. Very good communication with the letter.
Liked least: We didn't find it easily.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed D
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Sunny Holiday Flat”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A nice, bright ground floor flat in a well looked after block. The flat has a large west facing terrace, ideal if you want a bit of shade during the day and sunny drinks in the afternoon/evening. Both bedrooms are a reasonable size with very comfortable beds and lots of cupboard space. There’s a car parking space under the building with a lift available up to the flat (getting a large estate car in and out of the underground space wasn’t a problem for us). The start of the shops and restaurants at the port is a 10min walk and the beach about 15mins. Walking back from town involves a short hill, but isn’t much bother for the able bodied.

This is a good choice for people with small children: the layout of the living room and terrace make it easy to keep an eye on them, there’s no ‘escape routes’ and a travel cot and high chair are available. It’s also a good choice for the security conscious (although Trouville isn’t exactly high crime), as the block is gated, car parking is secure and the flat has electric shutters on the windows. The latter double up to make it dark as the Devil’s armpit in the bedrooms, ideal for light sleepers like me.

The flat has a washing machine, dishwasher and the kitchen is well equipped kitchen (although with only two hobs for the cooker). Carole (who looks after the flat for the owner) was very helpful and friendly, meeting us at the flat to show us how everything worked and making some good recommendations for restaurants and cafes. The only thing missing is full Wi-Fi – there is an Orange Airbox (provides Wi-Fi via mobile internet) but this needs to be topped up in town and would be expensive for streaming video, etc. The owner asked for our opinion on the Airbox after our stay, so seems to be aware of this.

We had a great time staying here: it was a lovely flat to stay in and Trouville is a fun place to be, with a sandy beach and a huge number of restaurants and cafes. Trouville was very busy during our stay, so it was nice to be able to leave the car at home, walk down to the beach and then come back to a quiet flat to enjoy a drink on the sunny terrace. We would come here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sun and shutters
Liked least: Restrictive wi-fi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Hyde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic holiday in Trouville sur Mer! The apartment was in an excellent location for village centre with its many bars and restaurants. The beach and market were also within walking distance. We were greeted by Carole who was extremely friendly and welcoming and showed us around.. She said that if we needed any help we could phone her. The apartment was clean and well equipped with dish washer oven and hob and even a washing machine. The balcony was a good size and reasonably private where you could relax and have a quiet drink in the evening. Bedroom leading on to balcony was a good size with a comfortable bed. Bathroom with shower and bath excellent. The apartment could not be faulted in any way. We will definitely try to book again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and location
Liked least: Tight underground parking space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Out side space for watching the sun go down
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob C
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Potentially so good..........”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was clean, spacious, airy and comfortable. Carole, the concierge, was prompt, caring and informative. Squeaky locks perhaps indicated a need for maintenance. Wheelchair access - not needed by us - would be very simple from the top parking area. The secure
garage below was useful, although a Golf Estate was a very tight fit. No English-language TV, again, no problem. Great balcony.
We enjoyed the apartment, but it should be noted that 'home' is at the top of a c.500 metre climb from the town, where parking is very difficult in season. There was, though, an excellent butcher, a wine shop and two bakers at the bottom of the hill, which reduced the need to carry
provisions back from Trouville's entertaining main streets.( 'Les Mouettes' is a good restaurant) Leclerc / Super U are in Touques, the next town.
A downside was the absence of Wi-Fi - now a given in most apartments, as was the absence of a file of necessary information. Only one key was provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing