We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peace & Plenty B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peace & Plenty B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Playden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

After scanning the net for an anniversary surprise B&B for my wife within a 2 hour drive from London, I stumbled across Peace and Plenty. After several emails to Colleen and Bob our date was penned. Colleen had recommended the Rose room.
With a huge four poster bed, a Victorian roll top bath and a fireplace (great for the middle of winter), not to mention large flat screen mounted on the wall it all sounded to good to be true. Aha, the restaurant/bar was closed as our date fell on a Tuesday. But,no problem says Colleen there are restaurants down the road or if I would like, they can set up a table in our room and Bob the chef will prepare us a special meal if I am happy to make our selection 24 hours ahead of our arrival, which is fair, we were the only guests in-house. They could also provide us with any beer/wine/champagne as they have a full licence.
After receiving 2 gorgeous menus via email I decided that yes please we will dine in by the fire. The fillet steaks (A delicious tower of delight) with the cheese board and chocolate & walnut brownie with cream for the follow up sounded like a bit of us. The meals turned out even better than the drool-worthy menu description, which was the icing on the cake.
The cherry on the icing on the cake had to have been breakfast with the long list of options and the offer of fresh grapefruit and a nice assortment of real juices, not forgetting the real coffees from a real machine (no instant here). Full English and the eggs Benedict served in the cosy dining room next to yet another fireplace was the perfect start to our day exploring Rye and nearby Hastings.

If you are looking for something special in a B&B, this is the place. There will not be any anniversary surprise next year, we have already decided where we are going. See you on the same date 2014 Bob and Colleen, if not before!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
125
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We came here after stopping in for tea, on our last visit to Rye in June and decided to give their B&B a go on this visit.

We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the door, and were able to check in straight away.

The Rose room we stayed in had a loverly 4 poster bed and was very comfortable indeed, the room was nice and clean and very relaxing.

We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-the-Pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent a weekend here and will definitely return. Bob and Coleen made us feel very welcome. The food is home made and delicious. Our bedroom was well appointed, with a very comfortable bed, making for a good night's sleep. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly - we were even able to chose what time we wanted breakfast we look forward to going back

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

And we really mean it. We had a lovely weekend away for our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Rose Room. The bed is so comfy and lovely. We had a relaxing time by the fire in the comfy chairs in the room and enjoyed the roll top bath. Bob and Colleen couldn't have done more for us. They may be new to B&B'ing, but they certainly know what they are doing. We cant wait for the twin room to be ready so we can book out the place with us, and family as well. Food was lovely and well cooked. Had the battered prawns, spagetti fungi, carbonara, squid and chorizo, and the plaice with capers - all fantastic and would have again in an instant. Great value for money and the small touches really made it for us. We can't wait to see you both again - see you soon. Dwayne and Karen

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaccanacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed a night and enjoyed a very relaxing stay. Loved the bedroom with its pretty white and blue wallpaper and the very comfortable bed. Bob and Colleen made us so welcome and the breakfast Sunday morning was absolutely delicious. We hope to stay again one day!
Lyn and Barry

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here from Friday 27 July - Sunday 29 July and had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. The owners, Bob and Colleen, were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much for them to help make our stay more relaxing and enjoyable. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced and our room was just gorgeous with a four poster bed and lovely ensuite bathroom.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious and plentiful and I would recommend staying or just visiting for a meal to anyone who is in the area.
The outside area is also large and great for summer evenings and the Pets Corner is great for those animal lovers. Thank you to Bob and Colleen for a truly lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here in June '12; the newly made ensuite was really enticing and very classy; the bed was sooo comfortable...and the owners are really engaging and helpful too. The room really reminded me more of a suite in a hotel rather than a BnB type room. And the French style period decor and furniture completed the look. My girlfriend loved the room and is now hatching plans to design a room for us in the future to look like this one! We enjoyed the very hearty English breakfast! Really enjoyed our short stay; thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playden
1.1 mi away
The George in Rye
1.2 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace & Plenty B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace & Plenty B&B

Property: Peace & Plenty B&B
Address: Peace & Plenty Rye Road | Nr Rye, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Playden
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique style, and romantic self contained rooms all en-suite. Roll top Victorian baths and walk in showers. Three double rooms include four poster bed and french carved bed and cottage style brass bed .32" Free Sat TV, IPOD docks, WIFI on site. In room beverages provided. Large courtyard garden with relaxing loungers and seating and outdoor hot tub. . Tandem available for guest use. Large free car park. Less than 1 mile from Rye Centre. Local walks. On bus route. Ideally placed for touring local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Peace & Plenty B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace & Plenty B&B Playden, Rye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing