We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, picturesque location. Welcoming hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom
lounge lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Bedroom
lounge
lounge
kitchen
The Kitchen
The ensuite
The entrance to the apartments
outside seating
The Driveway
Local beach
Rye Town
Rye Harbour
Guest review award 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Playden, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura S
1 review
“Peaceful, picturesque location. Welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The apartment is very peaceful, in picturesque grounds and is set on the edge of a lovely village.
Local shop (and post office), local pub (good food) and bus route (rural timings) all walkable in Iden.

The owners are very welcoming and helpful.

We stayed in the "loft" which isn't as nice as the other apartments in the block and is in need of a refresh, unfortunately this wasn't clear when booking through hotels.com .
The price however does reflect the condition and everything mostly worked as it should.

We enjoyed our stay with lots of fun things to do and see locally.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you for leaving a review and for your lovely comments. We're glad you found Humphries Cross peaceful and enjoyed your stay. We're sorry you felt the information regarding your apartment wasn't clear via your booking agent. We do provide them with as much information as possible and price all our apartments accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Country escape on the outskirts of Rye”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I spent a peaceful two nights staying at The Loft, Humphries Cross over the Easter weekend. Arriving later than expected on the first evening, Lucy kindly showed us upstairs, gave us a quick overview of the apartment and handed us the keys. The hospitality we were shown (the heating was on and the wine chilling) was much appreciated and the welcome goodies (eggs, milk, jam, etc) with a few added Easter goodies a lovely touch! The apartment itself was clean, spacious and had everything we could want. Throughout our stay, we never saw or heard anyone else who was staying in the other adjoining apartments. The only issues we encountered during the stay (and they were minor) was the TV and wifi reception was a bit iffy at times and the bed mattress a bit springy but that is just personal taste. In the morning, the view out of the windows across the countryside was stunning. Given it was a lovely sunny day we left the car behind and took a walk through the pretty village of Iden and then back along the nearby military canal to Rye (2-3 miles) and then onto Camber Sands. The area is a walker's paradise! Unfortunately the night we arrived we were too late to enjoy a meal at The Bell pub in Iden but the following night had a fabulous meal at The Globe Inn Marsh- which was only a few minutes drive from Humphries Cross. All in all, we had a great stay and were grateful for Lucy and her family's hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from property
Liked least: Wifi/TV reception bit hit and miss
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for leaving such lovely, positive comments. I'm so glad you got to explore the local area and visit one of my favourite pubs! I'm sorry your television and WIFI reception were 'playing up' at times, as its normally very good in our area but I am pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet. We look forward to you visiting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynwoddie
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed here with my husband for five nights. The apartment was immaculate and all amenities were in good working order. The welcome pack was greatly appreciated and we ordered a online shop to be delivered after our arrival. We used the hail and ride service which stopped at the end of the driveway and visited Rye and Tenterden, without taking the car and having to look and pay for parking.
It is an easy stroll to the local pub.
I look forward to staying here again and will stay for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: That I didn't book for longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the convenient local transport to Rye and Tenterden. We look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing