We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming with a personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Claire
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here on a friday night after a 7 hour motorbike ride and luckily we had the last room available.We found Henrik couldnt do enough to help us and although we didn't have the best room it was perfect and very typically french. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was lovely and after staying here we won't stay at a chain hotel again as although you know what you're getting you could be anywhere. This made our weekend in france even more special. we will definately be going back when in honfleur next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for a night last week. We found the rooms tired and dowdy. They cannot have been decorated for years. For the price we paid, we had stayed at a 3* the previous 2 nights - this place is certainly not even 2*. It does not provide value for money!

The breakfast however, was good and reasonably priced for the range and quality of food provided.

We found the hotel proprietor not welcoming on arrival and on departure when I presented my Logis fidelity card on paying the bill, he twice confirmed he had added the loyalty points our stay had earned but on my return to the Uk, this was not the case. I can only assume his general disinterest extended to this part of the service. I would not stay at this hotel at any time in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ybsae
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank JohnR061
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The town was full of tourists because of the Armada (Tall Ships' Race) and we were told that the nearest free room would be in Le Havre. Luckily we didn't buy that and found Auberge de la Claire with one room left. The atmosphere was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not very big in this 300-year-old building, but they are just fine for a couple of nights' stay. The hotel is about a kilometer from the center, which is about a 10-15-minute walk. We certainly had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luukkmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We took the Dog to Honfleur - Great welcome, good breakfast, fresh coffee made throughout, room a tad stuffy (although due to weather being fantastic we could have taken breakfast by the harbour for 2 € less). Room comfortable and adequate, very quiet, and very close to the picturesque harbour. Rooms were clean but in need of modernisation. TV worked well and husband managed to watch the match.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the back which was really helpful for our dog, a river runs around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as first night on a motorbike tour. Room smelt musty but appeared clean, as was the bathroom. The rooms aren't big and for 2 men with bike gear it was a bit cramped. No tea making facilities and the TV looked like it was made in the '80s! Breakfast was continental style and was ok.
Only plus points are the bed was comfy and the hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 32 in Honfleur
999 reviews
2 mi away
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
#1 of 1 in Equemauville
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#20 of 32 in Honfleur
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Honfleur
B&B Hotel Honfleur
#1 of 2 in La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
6.7 mi away
Hostellerie de la Hauquerie-Chevotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Claire

Address: 77 cours Albert Manuel, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de la Claire 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge de la Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing