We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and charming hostess” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jane'Laur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jane'Laur
Ranked #24 of 68 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and charming hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Jane couldn't have been more welcoming or hospitable.

The B&B is located in a quiet, pretty road, just a short stroll from the buzzing harbour. The garden is beautiful with a charming summer house or 'Gloriette' was a lovely feature.

The room that we stayed in was clean and spacious. We were not disturbed by any noise from the road overnight.

The breakfast was also plentiful and varied. Jane makes her own jams and fresh pastries and if that wasn't enough, there's cakes and cheese too!

We had a fantastic stay and would certainly recommend this wonderful B&B in the lovely Honfleur.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandTom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Honfleur is a beautiful old harbour on the Normandy coast, with spectacular 17th/18th streets and gabled houses, and a fine selection of seafood restaurants and bars... a wonderful place to stay for a few days (and about 2hrs from Paris).

We stumbled across this delightful B&B - a couple of streets from the old harbour, nestled in a quiet, residential street - an ideal location.

The house itself is recently renovated 19th century house, with a lovely walled garden (we had a copious breakfast in the garden) - however, for us the most distinguishing feature of the guesthouse/B&B is the welcoming attitude of the owner Janine NINOVE - we have 2 young children (2 and 4yrs) and were made to feel very welcome (not always the case in B&Bs in France).

Only thing to bear in mind is that the family room was in the attic at the top of the house - superbly self-contained, spacious and on its own floor so non-interfering with other guests - but 47 steps from the ground floor - needless to say going up and down stairs involved a fair amount of carefully supervised counting.

Great location to stay to discover Honfleur - noticed at our time of staying that other guests seemed to be young couples on Romantic week-ends - the setting seemed to be in keeping with that too (and no our kids weren't noisy ;) - or at least couldn't be heard!!)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I had a wondeful stay in Mrs Janine Ninove's house.We enjoyed the comfort and good taste of our spacious room and bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.The warm and energetic personality of Janine was a real plus: we had the feeling of beeing untertained by a personal friend. We are ready to go back anytime!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bibinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I recently stayed at Jane 'Laur with my boyfriend for one night while in Honfleur and we could not have been happier with this charming B&B. Janine and her husband were delightful and very helpful. The location was just a few blocks from the main center of town and our room was impeccabley clean. We were served a delicious breakfast in the garden outside. You could tell a lot of love and care was put into this hidden gem. Highly recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

My husband and I had a great time in Honfleur with my parents. The Jane'Laur was easy to find, has a private parking lot, and is located a 5-minute walk from the heart of Honfleur.

Janine called us two days before to confirm our arrival (very convenient for us because then we knew it was all confirmed without any problems), loaded us up with maps and solid restaurant recommendations, and serves a fantastic buffet breakfast. Different homemade goodies like cheesecake and whole-grain bread, plus locally made butter, homemade jam, etc.

We had a great time looking at all of the antique furniture and interesting art and knick-knacks. My mom and I fawned over the cool tiles and stained glass in the dining room and on the floors.

For me, the best part was hearing a (neighbor's) donkey braying from up in our room - so hilarious and charming!

The only possible drawback is that the rooms are upstairs, so if you have a difficult time getting around or have lots of luggage we'd advise packing wisely so that you can leave some in the car. Once upstairs there is plenty of space for the bags. One of our rooms even had a special room just for the luggage.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirandae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Very nice, cosy place. Problem with the parking was quickly solved by the owner. Very clean, spacious room & bathroom, original interiors (we had room called romantic and indeed was romantic :-)). Breakfast, in beautiful, sunny garden was the best breakfast ever. I felt in love with fig-jam.
I really recommend!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moni207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We had a great experience here. Jeanine and her husband were so helpful and happ to have us at their B&B. 3to5 min walk to centre of town, restaurants. Breakfast was best we had in France over our two week vacation! Big rooms, clean and comfy. Would recommend to anyone. Only negative was the sound of a donkey from another property, but that was no big deal. Will return if we are back in Honfleur.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orilliaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Autre Maison
L'Autre Maison
#12 of 68 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pomme D'amour
La Pomme D'amour
#1 of 68 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Clos Bourdet
Le Clos Bourdet
#17 of 68 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Clos de Grace
Le Clos de Grace
#8 of 68 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Petite Folie
La Petite Folie
#2 of 68 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Fond de la Cour
Le Fond de la Cour
#5 of 68 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jane'Laur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jane'Laur

Property: Jane'Laur
Address: 33 rue Bourdet | Rue Bourdet, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison de charme a 2 minutes a pied du centre ville, au calme.4 Chambres dont une suite pouvant accueillir 4 personnes.Toutes les chambres sont avec salle de bain ou douche WC plateau d'accueil. Petits dejeuners sous forme de buffet faits de produits frais et maison Les petits dejeuners peuvent etre servis les jours de beau temps sur les terrasses Un jardin avec chaises longues est a disposition.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jane'Laur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing