We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, great host, relaxing garden”
Review of Jane'Laur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jane'Laur
Ranked #26 of 72 Honfleur B&B and Inns
florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“perfect location, great host, relaxing garden”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A perfect place to stay in Honfleur. A quick walk from the port, but away from the crowds.Quiet at night. Nice breakfast and even hot eggs upon request. Janine was great, very helpful and welcoming. Responsive to my emails before we came as well. She also had a parking spot for us...this is key, since i wouldnt want to try and find parking down by the port! We would definitely return!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveldocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed 4 nights, we had the Suite ( African themed). This is on the top floor and is very big. Large bed , seating area , settee and large bathroom ( shower only, but twin sinks) would easily sleep 6 and had good all round views. The bridge, the garden, the street and being on 3rd floor v quiet.
Not cheap at 175 e but worth it for the space.
Nice big garden , lovely to relax in. Breakfast a communal affair - inside if wet , outside if sunny, with 4/6 strangers but good fun.
Food typical continental, meat , cheese, cake, bread etc but very nice and fresh.
Janine the owner v friendly and happy to book restaurants for guests - try L'Endroit - 5 mins away and superb - need to book.

Only downside is on street parking ( Jane Laur has one parking slot off street rest is on narrow streets)

Janine also has some apartments

Payment is cash only which meant a bank transfer for one night and cash the next 3 - we got a phone call off her re the transfer, fortunately my wife is fluent French but it may be tricky if you are not - she e mailed her bank info and doing a transfer was fairly straightforward.

Its worth it as this is a nice relaxing homely place to stay a10 min walk from the centre of Honfleur which is a lovely town ( downhill into town, up hill puff on way back)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with this B&B and its wonderful owner and hostess, Janine. She has gone above and beyond most other B&B owners in her artistic decoration of the entire home and each guest room is outfitted very nicely. The Pommier room is light-filled and large with very nice shower and there is really no noise coming from the street. Everything is provided, from tea-making equipment to mini-fridge. The breakfast she serves is outstanding, always with a delicious homemade pastry, cake, etc. The weather was much too cold and rainy to enjoy her backyard terrace and garden, but they would be lovely on a sunny summer day. Janine takes care of all dining reservations and also provides a parking space if requested (a tiny car is very helpful!). It's an easy 10 minute walk to the downtown area with many restaurants to choose from. Honfleur was a perfect place to stay for doing some exploring in the area and we could not have found a better B&B anywhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapapa-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Not only did Honfleur live up to its reputation as being one of the most beautiful towns in France, our stay at Jane'Laur made our time here even better. We stayed in the room called Pommier and it was lovely, with its decoration being true to the title without being over the top or kitsch. It is a large room with lots of natural light, and the fridge and tea and coffee making facilities were really welcome. There is a really lovely garden and terrace which you are welcome to use for your lunch and apparently when France has an actual spring and summer you can eat your breakfast out there. The best thing about Jane'Laur, though, is the hostess Janine. From the moment she welcomed us you could tell that this was someone who enjoyed the role and who took pride in the fantastic place she had created. Breakfast is served from 9.00 - 9.45 around a communal table which Janine turns it into a real social occasion. She does not speak any English and my French is mauvais but Janine battles on with the use of iTranslate and the sometimes assistance of other guests which can get quite hilarious. The breakfast selection is great - all the usual things you would expect as well as some yummy thing Janine has made herself. We were very grateful and touched by the many kindnesses she showed us in the time we stayed. Book a room here - you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Pommier is lovely and roomy but I'm sure all the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed for one night on way to Brittany from London. Jane'Laur well located very close to centre of Honfleur, which is a lovely town with fantastic shops and restaurants.

The house itself is wonderful inside. Our room - the suite on top floor - was huge and comfortable with great views. The very friendly owner met us on arrival and recommended an excellent restaurant. Parking opposite was free but if you have a big car like us was quite a squeeze!

Breakfast round a big table was excellent - all homemade and set us up for the big drive ahead of us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldmonkeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I am writing this note after few months, and few trips with many hotels/B&Bs, as our stay at the Chambres d'Hôtes JANE'LAUR was really unforgettable and deserves high appreciation. We spent there few days in May, which was a highlight of our trip to Normandy. The place is charmingly designed (our room Pommier = apple, but all other as well), with all amenities that are needed for comfortable stay, but the real value is the host herself - Janine Ninove. Wonderful breakfasts, small gifts, maps and helpful advice from Janine about what to see and where to go were absolutely superb. In addition, it was fun talking with Janine, as her English is quite basic and she is using online mobile translator - a lot of loughs :-) This place is ranked number one from our many recent trips to France and other European countries.

Room Tip: All are absolutely OK, but maybe someone would prefer room with a garden view, such as Pommier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Forida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Jane'Laur. Janine was a great host. She was extremely outgoing and friendly, even though her English and our French were both extremely limited. The rooms were very large and thoughtfully decorated. The breakfasts were plentiful, with croissants and jam, meats, yogurts, cereal etc.. She also made a special hot breakfast one of the mornings.

The location was great a few blocks from the port area. Coming back from town is slightly uphill, my mother in law has emphysema and she struggled with this moderate incline. The guest rooms are upstairs one or 2 levels. Our guest room up 2 flights had views of the beautiful garden in the backyard.

I would definitely stay here again if I am fortunate to return to Honfleur!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has views front and back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcgavock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
2.6 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Maison d'Aline
La Maison d'Aline
#28 of 72 in Honfleur
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Petite Folie
La Petite Folie
#9 of 72 in Honfleur
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Clos Bourdet
Le Clos Bourdet
#23 of 72 in Honfleur
177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bambou Lodge
Bambou Lodge
#1 of 4 in Genneville
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Clos de Grace
Le Clos de Grace
#5 of 72 in Honfleur
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jane'Laur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jane'Laur

Property: Jane'Laur
Address: 33 Rue Bourdet, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison de charme a 2 minutes a pied du centre ville, au calme.4 Chambres dont une suite pouvant accueillir 4 personnes.Toutes les chambres sont avec salle de bain ou douche WC plateau d'accueil. Petits dejeuners sous forme de buffet faits de produits frais et maison Les petits dejeuners peuvent etre servis les jours de beau temps sur les terrasses Un jardin avec chaises longues est a disposition.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jane'Laur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing