We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are visiting Honfleur .......You must stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambre d' hotes de charme Le Moulin Saint Nicol
Ranked #37 of 72 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2013

As soon as you get to the end of the short track off of the main road and through the Electric gates of Le Moulin Saint Nicol it becomes clear that this is no ordinary B & B.
The very old oak beamed house sits ahead of you surrounded by the beautiful expertly tended Gardens, the lake lies to your left and the stream and waterfall to the right.
At night the gardens are discreet lit with concealed lamps and spot lights
Although a very old building it has been lovingly restored and refurbished and all the rooms are in excellent decorative order
We were travelling in a party of friends on a road trip to Honfleur and were in some expensive cars so it was important to us that our vehicles were secure overnight. There was no need to worry here. The cars were stored in a very secure area and the gates were locked at night.
Our room was delightfuly decorated in an old traditionl French theme it was equiped with tea and coffee making facilities and a TV. There was also freeWI-Fi
The large bathroom was absolutely spotless and had recently been refurbished. There was lots of piping hot water and sockets for shavers
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and we even had some lovely cake every day which were made by Joelle
This brings me to our host Gerrad and Joelle
Having visited France and used The French Gites or B & B on numerous occassions, I can honestly say that I have never met such Friendly and helpful Host as Gerrard and Joelle.
They were the perfect host who did everything to make our stay was perfect. This is much more than just a business to them, it is more a passion where they strive to ensure that your stay with them is absolutely first class
They were the perfect host in a perfect setting and could not be faulted
Would I recommend? Would I come back? Absolutely yes
If you are going to Honfleur . This is the place to stay Marks out of 10....A Big Fat 10

Room Tip: Our party used used three of the available rooms which were all superb. Afraid I cant remember the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay with some friends at the Moulin St Nicol. First of all, I would like to tell you about the property. As beautiful as it appears in the pictures, they do not do it justice. The buildings, rooms and all the common areas are maintained to such a high standard that you will actually find it hard to believe that this is a 16th century property. It is almost as if it has just been built! The 3 rooms we occupied were all spacious, spotlessly clean and very tastefully appointed, as was the rest of the house.

Parking is safe and secure and your car cannot even be seen from the main road.

The grounds are perfectly manicured and really quite idyllic. A very tranquil and restful place to just relax and chill out.

Now for the best part of the Moulin St Nicol, the hosts. Joelle and Gerard are two of the warmest, kindest, genuine and most helpful people I have ever met. From the initial welcome we received when we first arrived, to the lengths they both went to to ensure that our stay was as pleasant as it could be. When we returned in the evening from our days activities, Gerard was ready and waiting with a bottle of local cider or Calvados to welcome us home. In the mornings, breakfast comprised mainly of Joelle's wonderful homemade conserves, cakes, crème caramel and yoghurts, along with fresh bread and croissant, juice, tea and coffee. When one of our group remarked on how lovely all the plants were, Joelle went out of her way to put together a large selection of cuttings for her to take home! Absolutely nothing was too much trouble and if you do visit Honfleur, please do listen to Gerard's recommendations for dining out. We didn't the first night and had a horrible experience. On the second night however we did, and had the best meal of our entire trip.

To summarise, when I next visit Honfleur or the surrounding area (and I will) this is the only place I will consider for accommodation. A truly wonderful experience.

Andy

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Saint-Nicol' s Mill. it was truly a good experience. Joëlle & Gérard are great hosts, both friendly, helpful and happy to assist on any matter during our vacation. Our room (The Ballerina) was very Spacious and beautiful and we located about 15 minutes walk away from the picturesque Honfleur harbor.
Many many thanks , we had a very good stay in your B&B and would recommend it to everyone.
Look forward to coming back next year.
Olivia D

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The most lasting impression left to us was the heartfelt hospitality of the owners, Gérard and Joëlle. After having stayed at the mill for ten days we were quite sad to leave. We can highly recommend staying for a longer period than just one night or two. Your automobile will be quite secure in the mill's parking area. There is the pleasant sound of a nearby brook to help you fall asleep. The lavish breakfast is served outside with a wonderful view of the garden. Should it be raining then breakfast is served in a huge timber-framed, Norman chamber with a fireplace. It is a wonderful place to sit, relax and read. Our room was spacious, clean and had a soothing view of the garden. You can drive your automobile about half way down to the centre of Honfleur, park and then walk the rest of the way to the old harbor to enjoy a meal and Norman cider. It is simply Normandy at its finest!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greco_Norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Dear Joëlle and Gérard
We have had a really lovely time in your beautiful home. Thank you for making us so welcome . Everything was so excellent, hospitality, breakfast, nice and spacious room and wonderful garden .
Definitely a holiday to remember many many thanks
Look forward to coming back next year

Gill and Bob

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Le Moulin Saint Nicol is located just at the edge of the Honfleur town line yet it is a world away as it is tucked down a dirt road with beautiful grounds and home. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. They provided us with two recommendations for dinner and both were excellent.

The rooms are on the upper floors of the home which are reached by a narrow spiral staircase. They are happy to help with the luggage.

We regret that we were not able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinoNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My wife, her aunt, her cousin and I just spent three nights in this charming and beautiful B&B. Joel and Gerard, the owners, are wonderful people who have lived such a fascinating life.

Everything from the breakfast to the rooms was just perfect. The garden and the stream running through the property is breathtaking. You could literally spend the entire day outside in the garden just reading.

The center of Honfleur is only 1 km away from the property and can easily be reached within 20 minutes walking.

We highly recommend this place, and will stay there again during our next visit to Honfleur.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pakistalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
2.2 mi away
La Maison de Christelle
La Maison de Christelle
#18 of 72 in Honfleur
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jane'Laur
Jane'Laur
#27 of 72 in Honfleur
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aline
La Maison d'Aline
#28 of 72 in Honfleur
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pomme D'amour
La Pomme D'amour
#5 of 72 in Honfleur
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Petite Folie
La Petite Folie
#10 of 72 in Honfleur
604 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bambou Lodge
Bambou Lodge
#1 of 4 in Genneville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d' hotes de charme Le Moulin Saint Nicol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d' hotes de charme Le Moulin Saint Nicol

Address: 15 Cote D Equemauville | Moulin Saint Nicol, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range: £110 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé à 2 minutes du vieux bassin de Honfleur, en bas de la côte d'Equemauville dans un site calme et reposant.Nous vous accueillons en chambres d'hôtes,dans un ancien moulin du XIX ème siècle, au coeur d'un parc verdoyant et fleuri où coule une rivière nommée "la Claire ",pour profiter pleinement du charme de la côte normande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chambre d' hotes de charme Le Moulin Saint Nicol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing