We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Charm”
Review of Hotel l'Ecrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Ecrin
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at the l'Ecrin for two nights and enjoyed the visit. The hotel has several buildings nearby that comprise the entire hotel. We stayed in the main house which had been built in the 1800's. It is beautifully restored and maintained in the style of original.
Our room, #6, was slightly on the small side but very comfortable for sleeping and had a very modern and amply sized bath/shower.
Breakfast is served in the greenhouse off the beautiful garden which is itself worth a visit.
Staff were helpful and focused on the customer. Parking is available for visitors. It is about a 10 minute easy walk to the center of town.
Overall, a very good hotel that we recommend and would stay at again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel L'Ecrin is a lovely hotel in the must-see town of Honfleur. The hotel is on a very quiet side street that is a short walk to the heart of the town. We had a beautiful room and the hotel grounds are lovely with secure parking. It was too cold to swim but the pool area looks very nice for a warmer time. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a bit more character but have an outside staircase to them. If you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is up a sdie road no more than a five minute walk from the harbour. Car parking available and secured after 22.00. Not much traffic so very peaceful location.

The main building is a very grand colonial type house. Antique furniture, dark woods give a depth of luxury. The sitting room is in a similar style to the reception room. Modern conservatory to the rear where breakfast is served. Small garden where guests are also able to sit and round to the right an outdoor swimming pool which looked very inviting. In fact had it been a few degrees warmer would have gone for a swim.

Rooms are located in the main house and also in the side annex - where we stayed. Room was very large with big beds and a large bathroom.

Will definitely stay here again when we revisit Honfleur - one night is not enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Easter and couldn't have asked for anywhere better. Beautiful rooms and communal areas/breakfast area, with lovely antique pieces and finishings. The staff were exceptional - very friendly, helpful speaking English and great happy attitudes. They were more than willing to help us with an ice-bucket, bottle opener, etc for the room. They even kept and returned a jacket I had left at breakfast. Our room was very spacious, with table chairs and a 2nd bedroom we hadn't paid for. Everything very clean and well maintained. Perfect location! And very importantly free parking - most other hotels didn't offer parking, so we avoided an extra €15 a day to park I'm the public carp ark. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahstevens80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely old hotel, full of antiques. Our room had a small balcony with a flag on it right at the front of the building.

The position is superb, away from the bustle of the harbour but about a 7 minute ( for us) walk away from the restaurants on the quayside. The hotel has its own parking.

Breakfasts were comprehensive, but what really makes staying here a pleasure is the staff. The chap who helped us with our bags was terrific and the owner, a charming man, was very friendly and helpful. To pay the bill we sat in his office, beautifully furnished with old things, like an old headmasters study.

We have stayed in a few places in Honfleur. This is by far the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank panatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We thoroughly Enjoyed the Hotel. The owner and staff were great! The man that helped us with our bags, Nam, was so welcoming and he later served as waiter at the breakfast area. He also was the gardener, which was quite beautiful. Would go again, room was good, bath good, loved parking right by hotel, within walking distance to everything. Nam wrote on a map for us the best places to eat etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14600, Responsable réception at Hotel l'Ecrin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir séjourné dans notre établissement. Nous faisons notre maximum pour satisfaire nos clients et apprécions votre commentaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in the Hotel L'Ecrin for three nights in September. A lovely small hotel in an old manor with a great location within walking distance to everything that you need. If you are looking for modern, don't stay here. The lobby is a lovely French parlor and the check in is a beautiful old library-type room, and the rooms full of charm. The beds are larger than a typical European hotel which is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krob5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.9 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ecrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ecrin

Address: 19 rue Eugene Boudin, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#7 Family Hotel in Honfleur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: £94 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Ecrin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former Norman manor house nested in the heart of a large park in the centre of Honfleur, near the Vieux Bassin, has a wealth of history and authenticity. It is the reflection of times gone by when the hours passed through the seasons. A place for relaxation in the heart of the town of Art, cradle of a master of impressionism: Eugene Boudin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel l'Ecrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ecrin
l Ecrin Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing