We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandeur,Antiques and a perfect location, with Car parking...”
Review of Hotel l'Ecrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Ecrin
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Grandeur,Antiques and a perfect location, with Car parking...”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The pool looked inviting and the far eastern influences are everywhere.
The hotel has been owned by the same people for 40 years and they have kept the antique furniture and the old fashioned charm . The reception is one of the prettiest I have seen.It has a wonderful fireplace, and a very helpful chap who even appeared when we were trying to take a photo outside the hotel, to take the picture.
The rooms are all different, we had a ground floor double room which wasn't large, a bit chintzy and had a huge bathroom 1970's style with a corner bath.everything was clean and monogrammed.
Our brothers had a twin room on the second floor of the building adjacent to the main hotel, their room had been renovated with a bathroom and walk in shower.
The stairs were very steep and two floors up which wasn't easy for the older members of our group.
You might want to check your rooms if you have any special needs.There wasn't any lifts.
The breakfast was €15 each, very nice with cold meats,cheese,croissants,yogurts etc
May have gone into the town and had a breakfast there rather than spend €30 but we thought it was included in our room rate.
The man at breakfast was very accommodating and spoke several different breakfasting languages.
The gardens are lovely, there is a spa but you had to pay €40 as they had to heat it...not sure if that's each! Quite expensive.
Free wifi
The car parking is a plus point although there were a lot of car parks in town, the convenience of a short walk to the restaurants and no worry of taxi's was a bonus.
All in all a recommended hotel if you like antiques and pale pink corner baths, but you could be lucky and get a refurbished room with monogrammed chintz and a wet room.

Room Tip: Check where your rooms are as the stairs are steep and no lifts as it's an old building. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    182
    42
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
349
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

For saying it looks like your staying in a museum, the welcome was warm and unpretensious . room was old but impeccibly clean, nice bathroom and very quiet.
You could just wander around and keep finding wonderful things that would transport you to another time in history.
the pool was great and wifi good too, parking was also secure and welcome. very short walk to the quay , also we found a coffee house if you turn left out of the hotel, continue a very short distance to the top of the road it is to the left of the junction.This place is fantastice if you do not want to pay the high breakfast costs.
We did have breaffast and it was very nice but it does mount up come checking out time!
All in all a timecapsule of a hotel, deserves all the praise it gets,

Room Tip: room No 1 was ours and very nice, front facing and first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desmo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The best place to stay in Honfleur. As with other reviewers comments, this hotel is like going back in time but with all the modern comforts, and excellent good old fashioned service. The rooms are beautiful, all different and spread around the main building and gardens and pool area. The gardens are stunning and as it was cherry picking time we were constantly being offered great handfuls of freshly picked cherries. The weather was glorious, so after exploring the area we enjoyed relaxing by the pool in the afternoon. Secure parking in the courtyard with gates locked at night and litterally 4 minutes stroll to the main harbour area. Ladies! don't take heels as the cobbles are huge! Nam - the manager is a wonderful host, charming, funny and will fall over himself to make your stay perfect - which it was !! We WILL be back.

Room Tip: We had room 31, absolutely beautiful with a balcony overlooking the garden and pool. Our friends had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley4urfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This stay was something else. I can immagine that this was how all nice hotels where back in the good old days. The hotel is an old property consisting of a beatyful main building and surrounding buildings, lovely garden and a nice pool. All well maintained. We stayed in a room on the the top floor in main building, this gave us a nice view of the lovely little city. The room itself was in the original style (as everything else). This made the room a bit dark (red walls and low roof). Everything was working and all was clean. Internet was a bit on and of however. The manager was very service minded and clearly enjoyed his work. Breakfast was very nice allthough not eggs and bacon. If this is a must im shure it can be arranged however, as this is that type of a hotel. The property was easy to find and parking is 5 mtr from entrance door. Hotel is 2 min walk to city centre and Honfleur bassin. All in all near perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful well appointed hotel. The staff was wonderful. Lovely grounds. Great parking. Terrific must see town! I am already planning a return. The rooms were so beautiful, felt like I was walking into a museum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFiendGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a fantastic place ,very comfortable ,very clean ,rooms lovely ,all different with cosy antique furniture, beautiful bed linen, bathrooms very nice with everything needed for staying away ,hair dryer,nice white fluffy towels and dressing gowns ,the staff really helpful nothing is too much trouble for them ,great pool area with beds and umbrellas ,downside no safe in the bedrooms and no coffee or tea making facillities ,plenty of drinks available in fridge in room ,such a lovely quiet location 4 minute walk to harbour and shops it was our little piece of heaven would love to stay in L,Ecrin hotel again ,nice gardens for chilling

Room Tip: room 17 quite warm, sun on it a lot of the day ,room 13 on ground floor has walk in shower room,both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 992patsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A funny place (in a good way)- very dated- the bed linen was straight out of the seventies- yet charming and enhanced by pleasant service.
I had struggled to find a hotel with parking in central Honfleur so L'Ecrin was invaluable for that. The location is quiet and an easy walk to the shops and restaurants but make sure if you are driving that you've studied the route before you hit the narrow streets- it's slightly convoluted especially of you're tired from the journey.
It's worth checking prices, I found a better rate on Booking.com although I booked direct with the hotel after negotiating to match the web price.
Checkout was delightful- a grand desk in a wood panelled room, a swish gentleman attending to each guest in turn with style and not a little ceremony. Marvellous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thissceptredisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.7 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ecrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ecrin

Property: Hotel l'Ecrin
Address: 19 rue Eugene Boudin, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#7 Family Hotel in Honfleur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Ecrin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former Norman manor house nested in the heart of a large park in the centre of Honfleur, near the Vieux Bassin, has a wealth of history and authenticity. It is the reflection of times gone by when the hours passed through the seasons. A place for relaxation in the heart of the town of Art, cradle of a master of impressionism: Eugene Boudin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Ecrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ecrin
l Ecrin Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing