We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europe meets Asia”
Review of Hotel l'Ecrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel l'Ecrin
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Europe meets Asia”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked this hotel based on TA ranking, and on arrival, it certainly looked to meet expectations - lovely old mansion surrounded by converted outbuildings with a great pool and plenty of free parking on site.

On being shown to our room, however, we were a bit overwhelmed by the decor - a mix of bold colours, traditional French furniture and fittings, with touches of Asian objets d'art and rugs. Unfortunately, the kitchen area had not been thoroughly cleaned, and my partner was ready to check out and find another hotel.

The manager checked and agreed it was less than acceptable, and offered us a different room in an adjoining building, which we accepted. This was an apartment, again with a small kitchen which was again, less than spotless. However, it was a holiday weekend so we stayed put this time.

Similar decor, a pokey bathroom with bath, but only a hand-held shower and no screen or curtain, no kettle for tea or coffee... can't call it good value at €250 a night.

Good location, a 5 minute stroll down to the shops, galleries and harbour of the old town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    186
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
363
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a really beautiful hotel, in a very handy location, a few minutes walk from the harbour of Honfleur. The décor is eclectic and interesting. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was great. It is all really luxurious. Breakfast is expensive but not much more so than most French hotels and it's served in a stunning, plant-filled conservatory. There is also a pretty garden and a pool, which looks fab but unfortunately the weather was not conducive to swimming during our short visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A hotel like a museum or a museum as a hotel? It remains an old entourage but sure nice. Spacious room. Our bathroom, not our taste, was renovated, but with a very tiny shower. No air conditioning, no safe. Tasty French breakfast with fresh orange juice and delicious croissants and wide choice of toppings served in the old breakfast room with not really fresh man-high geraniums on the side. The service is excellent and very friendly and welcoming. Fun is also the not too big pool where many guests in he chairs around to enjoy the sun and the water. Hotel with no elevator, so many steps and stairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

After a 6 hour drive, we arrived at the hotel feeling exhausted. Greeted in the grand reception with a very warm welcome and show to our grand room no.11 on the top floor. Fantastic superior double room with walk in shower, lovely antiques, and extremely comfy bed. Free wifi which worked perfectly. Couldn't have asked for more. We only stayed for the one night but would love to come back and stay longer. The gardens around the hotel are kept beautifully and the pool looked very inviting. You don't realise that you are in the centre of a very busy town. Would definitely recommend, and importantly to us, secure FREE parking right outside the hotel, as most of the other hotels either don't have parking or charge you extra.

Room Tip: No lift so if you do struggle on stairs request lower floors, but the staff are on hand to help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The pool looked inviting and the far eastern influences are everywhere.
The hotel has been owned by the same people for 40 years and they have kept the antique furniture and the old fashioned charm . The reception is one of the prettiest I have seen.It has a wonderful fireplace, and a very helpful chap who even appeared when we were trying to take a photo outside the hotel, to take the picture.
The rooms are all different, we had a ground floor double room which wasn't large, a bit chintzy and had a huge bathroom 1970's style with a corner bath.everything was clean and monogrammed.
Our brothers had a twin room on the second floor of the building adjacent to the main hotel, their room had been renovated with a bathroom and walk in shower.
The stairs were very steep and two floors up which wasn't easy for the older members of our group.
You might want to check your rooms if you have any special needs.There wasn't any lifts.
The breakfast was €15 each, very nice with cold meats,cheese,croissants,yogurts etc
May have gone into the town and had a breakfast there rather than spend €30 but we thought it was included in our room rate.
The man at breakfast was very accommodating and spoke several different breakfasting languages.
The gardens are lovely, there is a spa but you had to pay €40 as they had to heat it...not sure if that's each! Quite expensive.
Free wifi
The car parking is a plus point although there were a lot of car parks in town, the convenience of a short walk to the restaurants and no worry of taxi's was a bonus.
All in all a recommended hotel if you like antiques and pale pink corner baths, but you could be lucky and get a refurbished room with monogrammed chintz and a wet room.

Room Tip: Check where your rooms are as the stairs are steep and no lifts as it's an old building. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

For saying it looks like your staying in a museum, the welcome was warm and unpretensious . room was old but impeccibly clean, nice bathroom and very quiet.
You could just wander around and keep finding wonderful things that would transport you to another time in history.
the pool was great and wifi good too, parking was also secure and welcome. very short walk to the quay , also we found a coffee house if you turn left out of the hotel, continue a very short distance to the top of the road it is to the left of the junction.This place is fantastice if you do not want to pay the high breakfast costs.
We did have breaffast and it was very nice but it does mount up come checking out time!
All in all a timecapsule of a hotel, deserves all the praise it gets,

Room Tip: room No 1 was ours and very nice, front facing and first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desmo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The best place to stay in Honfleur. As with other reviewers comments, this hotel is like going back in time but with all the modern comforts, and excellent good old fashioned service. The rooms are beautiful, all different and spread around the main building and gardens and pool area. The gardens are stunning and as it was cherry picking time we were constantly being offered great handfuls of freshly picked cherries. The weather was glorious, so after exploring the area we enjoyed relaxing by the pool in the afternoon. Secure parking in the courtyard with gates locked at night and litterally 4 minutes stroll to the main harbour area. Ladies! don't take heels as the cobbles are huge! Nam - the manager is a wonderful host, charming, funny and will fall over himself to make your stay perfect - which it was !! We WILL be back.

Room Tip: We had room 31, absolutely beautiful with a balcony overlooking the garden and pool. Our friends had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley4urfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.9 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ecrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ecrin

Property: Hotel l'Ecrin
Address: 19 rue Eugene Boudin, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#7 Family Hotel in Honfleur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Ecrin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former Norman manor house nested in the heart of a large park in the centre of Honfleur, near the Vieux Bassin, has a wealth of history and authenticity. It is the reflection of times gone by when the hours passed through the seasons. A place for relaxation in the heart of the town of Art, cradle of a master of impressionism: Eugene Boudin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel l'Ecrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ecrin
l Ecrin Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing