We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel du Dauphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Dauphin
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We drove straight to Honfleur from the airport. Location was easy to find. We rented a family room for our family of 5 and and extra room for my parents. We had plenty of space and the kids thought the different levels were fun to explore. Bathroom situation was tight but the rest of the space was worth the trade off. My parents had a double room they were very happy with. Breakfast in the morning was very enjoyable. Honfluer is beautiful. I wish we had stayed an extra day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family5-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend (for Bastille Day). As this was our 1st visit to France, we were unsure about our lack of the language. The staff soon put us at ease. Our room was at the top, so we had to climb up the stairs as it is an old building with no room for a lift. Our room overlooked the cathedral and market square. The bed was so comfortable and the shower so invigorating(I live in Cornwall with very low water pressure!) Breakfast was served in the main hotel and was lovely.Once again the staff were very friendly and made sure we had all we wanted.
We would go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Centrally located so it is easy to walk throughout the town and along the river. Staff was very welcoming upon arrival, indifferent upon departure. Our room was smallish but quiet with a recently remodeled bathroom. No elevator so be prepared to carry your bags up and down as all rooms require a walk up and down a flight or two of stairs. Free parking is available at a public lot about two blocks up the street. Did not try the restaurant so can not comment on the food. WiFi available but did not work well in the room. Worked well in the lobby.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Convenient and extremely pretty location. With hindsight it would have been far easier to park first and walk to the hotel. Trying to unload, just two of us with one case and two shoulder bags, seemed to cause some local (i'm guessing they were local) drivers extreme frustration which they took out on their horns! Not the most relaxing of arrivals. However, free parking is just a 10 min walk away and we soon got ourselves sorted. Our room was in an annexe and on the second floor. Even though we were aware that the stairs would be very narrow and a spiral, we found it extremely difficult even with our one case and would recommend possibly packing a separate bag if you are only staying one or two nights. .Also the wifi doesn't cover the annexe. Having said all that our room was extremely pleasant and the view of the square something else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room no higher than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank The_Lindsay_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Honfleur,and this hotel proved to be good value and in an excellent position. We travelled with my son and daughter-in-law, and her mother so had booked 3 rooms. All were very clean and comfortable and much better than you would expect for a two star hotel. Parking outside in the square is limited to 30 minutes but the free car park 400 metres away was fine as we didn't use the car much. There was so much to see and do within Honfleur and all within easy walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful. It was my son's second visit to Hotel du Dauphin and we will definitely use it whenever we return to Honfleur.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Having been to Honfleur before and seeing this hotel, we decided to book a room for our long week-end. We arrived and, as directed, parked outside of the entrance to sign-in and unload. After sorting ourselves out, we were directed to free car-parking about 400metres away.

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the harbour and a few metres from the shops - no need for a car to explore the town.

Our room was well equipped and comfortable. Others have mentioned the tight-spiral stairs needed to access the rooms overlooking the square. However, as we wanted the view and had been prepared, we took this in our stride. We also knew that Saturday saw the weekly market that filled the centre of the town - including the square below our window - and that the noise may disturb us. We wanted to see the market from start to finish and, while stall-holders started at 06:00, sound proofing was good and it was no problem - we enjoyed seeing the preparation and then wondering through the stalls after breakfast in one of the many cafes along the harbour-front.

We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square have great views, well equipped and comfortable - but the tight-spiral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Honfleur and the character and atmosphere amazes me every time I visit this Ville beaux. The hotel is very quaint and we had a nice room over looking St.Catherine's church. We were pleasantly surprised that the room was really quiet despite the hussle and bussle below. The room was clean and comfortable for a three night stay and the staff were helpful. The parking is a problem but we were able to unload our luggage and were then directed to a free car park 10minute walk away. The downside to this hotel are the very narrow spiral staircase to get to the rooms. We had an elderly person with us and although she was very mobile she did not feel safe on the narrow steps. It was also very awkward getting even a small case up the stairs. Not a good choice for the elderly or people with disabilities. The other downside was that the free WiFi was only available from reception. A good choice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 32 in Honfleur
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Fraichette
La Fraichette
#16 of 32 in Honfleur
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le M Honfleur
Hotel Le M Honfleur
#17 of 32 in Honfleur
345 reviews
0 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 32 in Honfleur
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Dauphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Dauphin

Address: 10 Place Pierre Berthelot, 14600, Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Dauphin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon your arrival, so you do not lose a single address, 10 Place Pierre Berthelot Honfleur. Your name is registered in our records. Our receptionists greet you and guide you in our homes. Be good shoes, you go to the assault of cobblestones and floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Dauphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Dauphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing