We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights in Honfleur”
Review of Antares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antares Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated, only twenty minutes walk from the centre of Honfleur, which eliminates the high cost of parking when visiting the town.
The room was slightly smaller than we would have liked and did not have air-conditioning but the bed was large and very comfortable and the bathroom clean and serviceable.
Self service buffet style breakfast was excellent but at a price - 12 euros each.
The indoor pool and spa were also wonderful.

Room Tip: As stated above room 6 lacked air-conditioning which entailed leaving the window open at night and w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochesterrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Antares Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

the hotel was more like a 2 star rather than a three star no tea coffee making facilities in the rooms although the rooms were clean very noisy as we faced a busy main road with traffic lights
only had one evening meal at hotel boiled chicken very small cubes of potato and runner beans that were like pieces of string it looked disgusting and tasted the same staff during the day were as helpful as time allowed them only having one person running the reception desk and the bar the drinks were very expensive and the bar staff in the evenings were very miserable will not be going there again.

Room Tip: not any room was noise free with it being situated on a crossroads.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamerla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights and the rooms and staff were great.We only booked in for b/b not realising that the hotel didn't do evening meals,there are plenty of cafes in Honfleur but for older people it's a fair walk.We found out the hard way that there are only 12 taxis in the town and very difficult to get.For younger fitter people this hotel is ok for anyone with walking difficulties forget it.

Room Tip: Second floor was good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a delightful stay we had at the Hotel Antares. All of us were in the annexe and the rooms were all of a good standard. The only adverse comment (and this came from a few people) was that the only mirror is in the bath room, so a mirror in the bedroom would be a great asset. No one worried about the walk into town, we had done our research and realised it was a 20 minute walk, but there are a number of different routes so you can ring the changes. There are a number of restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel if the walk is too much. Breakfast, included in the price was varied enough to suit all tastes and the kettle meant that those who for dietary reasons had brought their own, had access to boiling water, (handy for making a a good cup of tea too!)

Room Tip: We used the Annexe which were all of a consistent quality
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel was booked via an agent as dinner, bed and breakfast. You would think that the hotel would inform the booking agent that the restaurant is not open in the evening -so there is no option of an evening meal but they didn't !!!!!!
The town has lots of restaurants to chose from, which is a good 20 minute walk. Breakfast is cold fare, plentiful but no hot option.
The room is spartan to say the least, no tea or coffee, no fridge, no international tv channels - only French, the bed is almost on the floor and the windows open any which way. (see photo)
There is no shower curtain (see photo) and the room stinks of stall smoke which is partially improved by the ingress of fresh smoke from other peoples rooms.
The drinks are extortionate - see menu attached.
I even managed to gain access to someone else's room by mistake using my swipe card so security is not the best.
Certainly wouldn't stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Thankfully stayed only one night.

To find your room - darkened corridor where you have to stumble around to find the light switch to illuminate where exactly the room is located, open door and fall onto the bed as a cramped space. The bed is very low to the floor by the way!

The room stank of stale cigarettes, I don't smoke bad this was a horrid nights sleep.

The bathroom, whilst on first glance is modern yet no shower curtain so floor floods.

No restaurant for an evening meal.

Breakfast was ok, no hot food options.

Drink prices were prohibitive 5€ for water, 4€ for 20cl of beer!

Will never return

Stayed: March 2014
Thank jaydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel which we believed to be in Honfleur as advertised as that but infact is just outside. Said it was a 15 minute walk to the Harbour but was a good 20 minutes plus. Hotel had a lovely indoor pool with sauna and steam room. Room was a good size with a reasonable size shower room. There was a good assortment of foods for breakfast. However, this was the dearest breakfast we had on our trip at 13 euros each and the hotel was quite expensive as well. Our room was on the ground floor and backed onto the car park so a bit noisy in the morning with people coming and going.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.6 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le M Honfleur
Hotel Le M Honfleur
#17 of 33 in Honfleur
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
2.7 mi away
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
#1 of 1 in Equemauville
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel

Address: rue St Clair | la Riviere Saint Sauveur, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing