We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normandy 2014”
Review of Antares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antares Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a duplex room for 4 people, one toilet and bathroom wash basin in the upper floor room, spacious and adequate for our needs. Brusque receptionist when we arrived. Ok for a short stay good value for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JanineMJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Imagine my childrens dissapointment when we arrived at this hotel on Saturday 16th August for our last night of our holiday,after a 6 hour drive, to find out the hotel had cancelled our booking. Their excuse was my credit card expiry date had ran out in Jan'14 when the booking had actually been made in Dec'13 when the credit card was still valid. They said it was the company policy to check credit cards details one week in advance of the booking date which was when I was already on holiday in France. Their defence was they had contacted me 2 days in advance but I had not answered my phone !! Totally disgusted !! In their defence the manager found us some alternative accomodation and let our children use the pool - avoid this hotel if you are going to plan you holiday in advance !!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Arnoldmark0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great Hotel Spa near by honnefleur center, (if you have a car).

Me and my wife had a stay the last weekend of June.
The little spa is enough for the Hotel guests and the buildings even if are in a standard style are cleand and fine with all the area.

Rooms clean and of a good dimension.

We tried the breakfast the last day and it is a buffet at will with no plus.

About the rates, if you have a car this is surely one of the best Hotel to choose.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived with our pets to stay here for three nights. Particularly wanted a massage and spa experience before returning home. Arrived on Saturday evening. Sunday morning tried to book a massage and told was full until Wednesday (obviously after I had left!)
Well no-one down in the spa area was having a massage no sign of ANY people having massages all the time I was there in fact...I guess Wednesday might be the ONLY day they have massages?!!
So not much of a spa break here.
Their website also lists a restaurant (so good it even caters for group for a great birthday night out and so forth) problem is that it is ONLY a restaurant for group booking!
But we were told only a 15 minute walk to town for many restaurants in Honfleur...true..except the town is more like 25-30 minute walk..OR you pay to park (at pretty steep prices for much beyond an hour) and go to the (admittedly) many restaurants.
Not too good so far no food at lunch or dinner and no massage...NOT really a wellness spa as it suggests itself to be.
Rooms are clean, but one is VERY close to a noisy intersection and the lighting in rooms and passages is EXTREMELY dark.
There is NO air conditioning and the rooms get hot and stuffy
The pool is OK but small.The the wet and dry saunas are there, but very hot..not too good for those a bit fragile and NO supervision. In fact staff were fine but very very few of them.
Was it what it appears to be NO..even the 3 star rating is incorrect as there is no tea/coffee or beverage facility in room...only what can be bought at expense from the bar.

Room Tip: Well I asked for a quite room and was put on the road side near the traffic lights...so no quit roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SwitzerlandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated, only twenty minutes walk from the centre of Honfleur, which eliminates the high cost of parking when visiting the town.
The room was slightly smaller than we would have liked and did not have air-conditioning but the bed was large and very comfortable and the bathroom clean and serviceable.
Self service buffet style breakfast was excellent but at a price - 12 euros each.
The indoor pool and spa were also wonderful.

Room Tip: As stated above room 6 lacked air-conditioning which entailed leaving the window open at night and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochesterrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

the hotel was more like a 2 star rather than a three star no tea coffee making facilities in the rooms although the rooms were clean very noisy as we faced a busy main road with traffic lights
only had one evening meal at hotel boiled chicken very small cubes of potato and runner beans that were like pieces of string it looked disgusting and tasted the same staff during the day were as helpful as time allowed them only having one person running the reception desk and the bar the drinks were very expensive and the bar staff in the evenings were very miserable will not be going there again.

Room Tip: not any room was noise free with it being situated on a crossroads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamerla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights and the rooms and staff were great.We only booked in for b/b not realising that the hotel didn't do evening meals,there are plenty of cafes in Honfleur but for older people it's a fair walk.We found out the hard way that there are only 12 taxis in the town and very difficult to get.For younger fitter people this hotel is ok for anyone with walking difficulties forget it.

Room Tip: Second floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le M Honfleur
Hotel Le M Honfleur
#17 of 32 in Honfleur
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#21 of 32 in Honfleur
396 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
552 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Clos Deauville Saint Gatien
Le Clos Deauville Saint Gatien
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gatien-des-Bois
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 32 in Honfleur
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel

Address: rue St Clair | la Riviere Saint Sauveur, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing