We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review only. Stunning location , lovely food but sadly let down by service”
Review of La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Chaumiere
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Restaurant review only. Stunning location , lovely food but sadly let down by service”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Had dinner evening of 28th. Beautiful place but had to ask 3 times to get an aperitif and poured own wine & water throughout meal. Chef did fantastic food but front of house did seem to struggle. Lamb and Cod were great

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holidayshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    63
    56
    23
    21
See reviews for
38
163
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a meal for ten here and the service was great, such friendliness and a lovely atmosphere. Oysters were so fresh and well prepared - yum! Outside area really well designed. Children welcome at anytime too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

La Chaumière underwent significant changes recently. The outside remains that of a typical farmhouse in Normandy, but the surrounding grounds and the interior have been redesigned with much more modern details. Both styles blend rather well IMO, and the contrast is quite interesting: depending how you look at it, you will feel in a very quiet countryside or in a trendy urban hotel...notwithstanding the industrial structures of Le Havre harbor at the far back of the sea view.

The hotel does not seem to have proper "suites" but our room (#4, overlooking the sea and the gardens) was very spacious and easily accommodated a couple with two young children. The style contrast was everywhere, mixing a lot of raw wood from the farm's old structure with a very modern bath tub fitted with chromatherapy features. Despite its dark-painted walls, the room was quite bright, but the bathroom seriously lacked lighting, to the extent that the miror was almost useless for shaving or doing a make-up.

The hotel's public areas are quite small but the terrace with its modern fountain must be a very enjoyable extension when the weather is warm enough. The restaurant room, with sea view and a big fireplace, also is nice. Breakfast is basic but good, dinner food was quite tasty and reaonably priced, but the wine list is very poor, both in quality and presentation (lack of indications of producers, irrelevant comments on certain bottles).

The staff was very friendly, welcoming and efficient, although service was generally less refined than one would expect in this category of hotel.

Overall a very nice, welcoming place whose few weaknesses should be easy fixes. We will probably come back.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to be noisy or smallish, but #4 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanzot-Pignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were staying begin May 2013 with a part of our family to celebrate the 90th anniversary of our Mother and Grand Mother. This small and beautiful hotel has an exceptionnel friendly, competent and proactive team. The rooms are not large but more than OK and very clean. The kitchen is delicious and special requests are taken care of. The location is unique and the lawns and the garden are well taken care of. The pic nic boxes are amazing, full of tasty and fresh food and more than enough. We will be certainly revisit this little shrine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
268 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

La Chaumiere is not easy to find, but, once you arrive, it's well worth it. The rooms are spacious and lovely, the bathrooms well equipped, and the restaurant fantastic. The outdoor spaces are just beautiful as well. Had the weather been better, we would have spent more time enjoying the outdoor fireplace. Overall, we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

By which I wonder: why would you be negative if you know what you are looking for?
(For clarity: we only stayed 1 night in traveling ahead to Bretagne)

Very well-decorated; very clean; the price is what you pay for a five-start hotel; the place is not to close to the city-center which is exactly what we assumed to be (calm & relaxing); @ the same time, it is close enough to be there in 5 minutes; the staff is friendly; the food is excellent (and actually not expensive at all if you look at the quality you get); the views are wonderfull;

So, a place to stay for sure if you are in the neighbourhood

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I am surprised to see so many negative comments here. Yes this hotel is pricey, at least the rooms, because I thought the restaurant was reasonable value for money. And yes, the rooms are smallish. But, this place, inside and outside, is so beautiful and decorated with good taste, comfortable though smallish bedrooms (but with the best matress I have ever known apart from Palacio Garvey in Jerez in Spain), with a really good restaurant, then I forgive all of the above. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
1.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
509 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir de la Poterie & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere

Property: La Chaumiere
Address: Route du Littoral | Vasouy, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chaumiere 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Honfleur
La Chaumiere Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing