We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Absinthe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Absinthe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

As a travel pro at DM vacation I always rate the hotel based on their advertised quality. This hotel overall meets the standard. The hotel has two buildings approximately 100-200 meters from each other. I was in the building that was separate from the lobby. The room was nicely appointed and very modern. Size was very nice. I had a separate shower and tub and it was well done.

You should note that it is a bit of a strange hotel. Their is no lift and I was up two flights of stairs which is difficult with bags. It can be hard to find the lobby of the hotel to checkin. In fact the person who checked us in was a waiter at a restaurant between the two buildings.

If you room faces the main street it will be a bit loud if you open the window as I love to do. They do have a/c and that makes it possible to close the windows.

The breakfast I would skip and find a local place. It was expensive for what was the most limiting menu we had in the nearly three weeks in France. The good news is that there are restaurants in the area open for breakfast.

Parking is a bit of a hassle. If you park at the public lot you have to repay at midnight or before 7 am. Therefore, you may want to simply use their garage which I understand is several blocks away.

The location is excellent and an easy walk to the restaurants, the harbor and more.

If you found this review helpful please give it a helpful vote.

Room Tip: If you have big bags, get a low floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    65
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
90
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at L'Absinthe and really liked the place. Just yards from the main harbour in town and ideally placed for wandering around the town. The hotel is made up of a couple of buildings and there was an entry key pad on the building that we were in so very secure. The inside of the hotel is really nicely done, with lots of solid wood and our room (room 9) was very nicely decorated with free Wi-Fi and a great view over the canal. The bathroom in our room was particularly special with a brilliant large shower but also a very modern spa bath as well. The hotel has secure parking garage which is around 5 minutes stroll away and costs 13 Euros a day but on the 1st day we tried to use it some selfish idiot had parked their car right across the entrance so we could not get in (not the hotel's fault at all). There is also the municipal car park right opposite which is very busy but 14 Euros a day so you have options.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Positive points:
- Very nice location
- Good bed
- Everything you needed in bathroom was there
- Nice breakfast
- Cosy decoration
- Clean
- Free water + caramel at arrival

Improvement points:
- Very small room
- Not possible to take shower, only bath
- Bad hairdryer, difficult with that system to dry hair in decent way
- Breakfast: not able to choose bread: bread is offered per table + croissants are small baked-off croissants. In France I would expect the fresh big croissants
- Parking is only €1 cheaper than the public parking while it is much further away from the public parking
- Noise from other rooms

Room Tip: We took the cheaper room (€130 per night) which is not so cheap but you really get the smallest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the annex building and had a lovely room with a gorgeous bathroom. The location is outstanding right near the old harbor, which is charming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adt4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

As all the other travellers have said this hotel has an excellent location, great views and walking distance to bars and restaurants! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.Other travellers staying at the hotel were also lovely. The big problem is a) parking- there is secure parking but a 15 min walk away, b) finding the hotel reception it's on 1 la rue the building with red wooden panes on the left but it took us15 mins to find c) pushing a wheelchair on cobbled streets- the place is not set up for the disabled! Having said all that the annex rooms are very comfortable with excellent shower facilities- walk in wet room and a jacuzzi bath! Lots of bubbles! Breakfast is -13 euros a bit over priced but there are loads of places for breakfast if walking is not an issue.

Room Tip: Room 9 and 11 were fab-190 euros each though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our holiday in Normandy was met with many days of rain..but when you stay at Hotel L'Absinthe you have the cozy warm sitting room which makes the outside less troublesome. We had a very quite, wonderfully decorated room. The bathroom was equipped with everything one would want. Breakfast was very filling and no problem to request another "cafe au lait" . The sitting is truly a wonderful place to read, sip tea, and let the world pass you by! We will return to Hotel L' Absinthe.

merci beaucoup

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelso11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

On a road trip with our French friends we did not have any preconceived notions about where we were staying--our friends made the booking, but this is a delightful place, right at the marina with several restaurants in the near vicinity and all of Honfleur's charm at your feet.
The room was exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable with plenty of closet space, fluffy robes and a deep jet-studded bathtub with bath fizzies on hand made for a very relaxing night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
0.3 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#6 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Absinthe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Absinthe Hotel

Property: L'Absinthe Hotel
Address: 1 rue de la Ville, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Absinthe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Absinthe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Absinthe Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing