We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Ibis Honfleur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Honfleur
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After a very positive experience of an Ibis Budget in Berlin last month, we thought we'd splash out and go "up market" this time and book a non-budget Ibis for our trip to France.

As we had driven from England, the free parking offered by this hotel was one of the determining factors influencing our choice. Situated on quite a wide, though not very busy dual carriageway, this hotel is set back from road in pleasant surroundings. It appears to be a very new building, and this is reflected in the decor of both the lobby/restaurant area as well as the rooms.

We were greeted by very friendly young staff whose English was far better than our French, so we gave in and restricted our linguistic abilities to the occasional "merci".

The room was spotlessly clean, and decorated in very pleasing pastel colours. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom consisted of a good shower, toilet and green washbasin. There was a hair dryer and two plastic beakers wrapped in cellophane.

We missed not having a kettle and the facility to make a cup of coffee, but maybe that only comes with the next tier up in the Ibis Hotel hierarchy.

The TV picked up BBC Worldwide on channel 40, and the WiFi worked well. The window looked over the car park at the rear, and across to a large, old residence some distance away. Most importantly, it was very quiet at night.

The hotel is situated just outside the main town, about a 10 minute walk away if you cross the road and walk along the pavement/cycle track (past a Lidl store). This might be an inconvenience for people with mobility problems, though pavement is asphalt all the way.

The "eat all you want" breakfasts downstairs need not be booked, and cost 10 Euros. This is rather expensive, but does allow you to "stoke up" ahead of a busy day's sightseeing!

All in all, a very, very pleasant experience and I shall have no hesitation staying here next time I visit Honfleur. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was an excellent value for money choice in Honfleur. We booked after a positive Ibis experience elsewhere and were similarly pleased in this hotel.

The location of the hotel is around ten minutes walk from the town centre, and is easy to find if driving. It had ample parking also, albeit it did look very busy on the Saturday night.

We stayed on the top floor and heard no noise whatsoever, from either inside or outside the hotel. The room was of a modest size, and had nice decor as well as a walk in wardrobe and Tv. A minor annoyance was the lack of a kettle in the room and also only two plug sockets including the Tv. Free wifi was however an added bonus we had not expected in what is essentially a budget hotel.

The bed was spacious and comfy, and the bathroom was of a suitable size, including a power shower and a hair dryer also.

I did not eat the breakfast although it compromised of a variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurt, crepes and other nice products.

Given the fact this hotel cost less money than our dinner on both nights in the town it is a fantastic price, and its central location, lack of noise, and good levels of service and comfort, made it an excellent choice: I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lndntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First rate hotel, very pleased with Ibis Honfleur! Very helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Our cleaning lady deserves a special mention, she was very pleasant and helpful. My wife and I are looking forward to our next visit to Honfleur, and of course we will be staying at Hotel Ibis! The walk into town was not to far, and if you cross the road outside hotel its footpaths into town all the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

great option for staying in Honfleur. Close to the picturesque harbour and convenient for parking just outside hotel - note need to feed parking meter- but not expensive
good, clean inexpensive hotel, basic rooms with little storage space, good breakfast and helpful staff - worth a try!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Generally, I tend to look for hotels in the old parts of cities and towns we visit. However, when I shopped online for Honfleur hotels, I took a look at this Ibis since we'd be driving and it had easy access to town and free parking. It was a good decision. Some people walk from the Ibis to town, but we ended up driving in and finding parking in one of the several big lots. On a very busy weekend, that could be a drawback.
Our room was immaculate, roomy, and very quiet. Comfortable bed. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was great and served in a bright, contemporary, and cheerful breakfast area. It was a good value as well as a higher quality level than what is commonly found in hotels of this price range in the U.S. And while I'd usually rather skip coffee than have it from a machine, my husband and I both found their machine more than satisfactory for a morning latte. We came away very satisfied with this Ibis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you know Ibis hotels, then this conforms to their good standards. Rooms are clean and bright and the shower room 'pod' works well. On the one occasion that we had a problem, the staff sorted it out immediately; you can't ask for more than that. The one disappointing aspect for us was that the breakfast serving area was much too small to accommodate the number of guests so there was a sort of rugby scrum. It took a long time to work through the queue to get some coffee, but the big disappointment was that the coffee was from a machine (all too common these days) and completely undrinkable. This is really sad, because the all the other constituent parts of the breakfast were good. I like Ibis hotels and would certainly stay here again, but I would walk into town for a coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastonSorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Honfleur
ibis Styles Honfleur
#9 of 32 in Honfleur
912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.5 mi away
Mercure Honfleur
Mercure Honfleur
#10 of 32 in Honfleur
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Honfleur
Ibis Budget Honfleur
#12 of 32 in Honfleur
1,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Honfleur
B&B Hotel Honfleur
#1 of 2 in La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Residence Honfleur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Honfleur

Address: Cours Jean De Vienne, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Honfleur 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 km from the airport, the Ibis Honfleur is located on the bank of the estuary at the entrance to Honfleur, city of painters and Impressionism. Close to the Eugene Boudin museum and the old docks, the hotel offers 60 rooms including three adapted for guestes with limited mobility. Other features include free parking, our Rendez Vous bar and a 24 hour snack service as well as WiFi Internet access. For those who like a bit of sport, tennis and golf can be played a few km from the hotel. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing