We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mon Dieu, C'est Fantastique!”
Review of La Maison de Lucie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison de Lucie
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mon Dieu, C'est Fantastique!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband, 16-year-old son and I did a self-guided cycling tour through Normandy that ended in Honfleur, and I booked us two nights at Maison de Lucie based on other Tripadvisor reviews. Let's just say my cred went up a few notches, even with my teenager, when they saw this little slice of Honfleur heaven!

Because there were three of us, we were put in the attic, which may not sound so nice, but it was a terrific room, surprisingly large, and absolutely gorgeous. I suspect each room is very different, and the design is eclectic and lovely. Oh, the stained glass doors on our bathroom! Oh, the claw-foot tub! The attention to detail knows no bounds - the robes and slippers, the nice bath products ... There are multiple lounge areas, each with their own character and charm, and a beautiful outdoor courtyard full of white pungent flowers (jasmine for one) ... And did I mention the tiny "spa" in the basement, that you can book? It's really just a jacuzzi, but never before has a jacuzzi been in such a romantic spot!

Then there is the staff - laid back but in a terrific way, we felt they all loved working there and felt a part of the place. They were warm and helpful, and always happy to answer any questions or recommend restaurants. If you love comfort combined with charm and cleanliness and a certain funky elegance, you will ADORE Maison de Lucie!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    62
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
48
386
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a short motoring holiday around some of our favourite haunts in France. Honfleur is just magical with the Old Port and the corresponding old town with its ridiculously narrow roads and beautiful old buildings.
The hotel is right in the old part of the town, only a five minute stroll from the Old Port. The setting is an old and substantial house with masses of character, approached via a walled courtyard and garden [completer with fountain], and at the time of our arrival, with all the windows and doors wide open to the afternoon sunshine. All it needed was an accordion playing and we would have thought it a film set! The location is very peaceful and yet the things you want to see and the places you want to eat are right at hand.
Our room was described as a Superior Comfort Room with Estuary View and it was fabulous. What the more upmarket rooms must be like, I don't know, but our room was newly refurbished with light oak panelling and a superbly fitted en suite bathroom in a corresponding dark oak with views over both the street at the front and the roofs and gardens of the houses of Honfleur, with the estuary beyond. The furnishings and the decorations reeked of quality and the only downside was a lack of air conditioning [which we didn't actually need].
After a superb dinner in one of the many available restaurants in the area and a good nights sleep, we came down to breakfast to find the option of sitting in the lounge or the courtyard. As it was a lovely morning, we thought it would be a shame to stay indoors and one of our abiding memories of the whole holiday is sitting in the dappled shade of the trees in the beautiful courtyard, at a small circular table covered with a crisp white tablecloth eating our warm croissant to the sound of the fountain and the bees in the background. Bliss!
The only downside is the narrowness of the streets of old Honfleur which are designed to test the skill of any driver - particularly if you are driving anything of any size greater than a Mini. Be warned - the streets are not easy to negotiate and the limited parking available at the hotel is a couple of short roads away [two minutes walk] in an open fronted barn like structure behind code controlled high security gates. The Receptionist actually jumped in the car to show us where the parking was, which typified the helpful and warm attitude of the [two] staff we met during our stay. But with that small caveat about access, I would recommend Le Maison De Lucie without hesitation or reservation. It is seriously under rated at 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeBaronRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Maison de Lucie has charm and elegance - and the staff is very helpful. We only spend one night but wish we had planned more. We had a room with terrace and enjoyed both the terrace and the beautiful shared coartyard where you can have your breakfast as well as a drink at the end of the day. The room was modern and the bed comfortable. Very good guidance for restaurants and easy access to all parts of the town. A bit complicated with the car parking but not a big issue, We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 189541Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here on a whim and the Tripadvisor reviews of some former guests. We booked for two nights by telephone just a couple of days before arrival. The price asked for their best accommodation - Le Pavilion - was exorbitant I felt and when we decided not to proceed the gentleman quickly cut the price to special offer levels. And so we paid Euro 500.00 for two nights without breakfast in this enticing place. Call that decision a rush of blood to the head! A price which was far beyond the value that was offered in terms of services available and facilities provided.

Yes, it was very pleasant to sit in the small courtyard under the shade and enjoy continental breakfast. Yes, Le Pavilion was a quiet retreat accessed via a number of steps directly from the courtyard and offered two large living areas - a downstairs sitting room with a television that did not work well or easily, and an bedroom "under the eaves", as the brochure says. However with no air conditioning and a bed jammed against the gable -end wall, a tiny closet toilet with no window and a bathroom that was small and average.

This is best described as a boutique style bed and breakfast. There is no bar facility for a quiet drink after ten o'clock each evening, when one walks up the hill from the town after dinner in one of the local restaurants, and there are no meals available it seems beyond breakfast. The breakfast was far from equal to what we experienced elsewhere in France. The breads were inferior to everywhere else we stayed and the choices limited. Breakfast was pricey, even if convenient as it was available on site, and the extra cost sought for eggs was definitely not worth it according to another guest.. A further disappointment was that on one morning when it was raining and therefore breakfast in the courtyard was not an option we were left to scramble for a spot in the tiny little lounge area. It seemed to us that the proprietor had made no provision for such a eventuality and as a result the breakfast was an even more disappointing affair with significant delay.

Other guests whom we spoke to were Americans visiting the D Day landing beaches nearby. The couple we spoke to on a couple of occasions were at first taken with the quaint environment but I felt soon realized that there was no great depth of hospitality services behind the facade. It must be said that the man who manages guest arrivals and departures and waited on us for breakfast and who served a drink from some unseen drinks storage place was a charming man with the fast retort for almost any statement. He added to the guest experience with a slick well-honed approach. But good humor and witty comments and observations only go so far in hiding the fact that this is an overpriced B&B. It is not a boutique hotel and its charm is solely in its architecture and location.

We drove straight to the front gate with the help of a sat nab system. But be aware that the maze of narrow one-way streets can be daunting as tourists clear the way to let you pass. Parking is limited but our host ensured that he had kept a place for his Pavilion guests and he directed me well to private car park some distance away.

The selection of drinks was limited. I asked for a cocktail list and there was none. The man made a joke and said he could arrange something else. When asked again for any cocktail he could make he responded that he did not do cocktails but went on with another smart comment. We settled for G&Ts and he retorted how "very British" the choice was. Overall we cannot say we did not enjoy our stay in Honfleur but be prepared for some inconveniences which might not be welcome at these prices. We are unlikely to return when next in the area. It is a polished bed and breakfast in reality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Coolnacarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This upmarket B&B hotel is located in a narrow one-way street less than 5 minutes walk from the pretty harbour. I had feared that there would be a problem with parking but this proved not to be the case. We unloaded the car right in front of the gate and then I was directed to a car park around the corner where there was plenty of space and no charge (despite the presence of a parking meter!). The same procedure applied in reverse when we left.

As for the hotel itself, it was a delight. We had a wonderful duplex in an outbuilding, sitting room downstairs and a quirky bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet upstairs. Because of the sloping roof I soon learned to walk around in a stooping posture! A typical French breakfast was served in the courtyard - we were lucky with the weather for our 2 days. As a result I never entered the main building until I paid the bill when we left, so cannot comment on the bedrooms there, but I am sure they would be just as good as ours.

No hesitation in staying here again if ever I return to Honfleur.

Room Tip: For a few more Euros, the duplex accommodation is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in June, having read such wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. They were all absolutely spot on! What a fabulous hotel - from the warm, friendly welcome to the attentive service from the charming, efficient staff, we cannot praise it highly enough. The rooms combined tradition with luxury modern fittings and breakfast in the courtyard was simply superb. The quiet location and comfortable beds conspired to give us a late start every morning but we embraced the welcome change from our 6am starts back home without any difficulty at all I'm pleased to say! Although there is no car park, I was directed to a nearby side street where my car stayed safely for the full duration of our stay without a problem La Maison de Lucie currently enjoys the privilege of being ranked #1 of all hotels in Honfleur - on our experience, that is likely to continue for some time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Honfleur is a sleepy, quaint village with a great deal  of charm. It's narrow roads and cobbled streets along with the scenic harbor with shops and restaurants offer a serene and peaceful environment. At least in early May - that was our experience.  

The D L is a charming well kept historic home/inn that offers lovely accommodations in a beautiful setting. The historic home with its stunning courtyard and helpful, friendly staff is a wonderful retreat to spend time at. It is just short walk from the central town.  Parking is available for an extra fee - is limited so needs to be reserved in advance. It is a short walk from the private parking area to the inn. Narrow streets make this town best maneuvered with a smaller car. 

Our accommodations were on the top floor - the loft  No elevator - so up several flights of stairs. The room is long and narrow with a slanted ceiling on the window side of the room. For a taller person, this is not all that comfortable. However, the view from the windows is gorgeous.  The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has a large tub and sink, with the toilet being tucked in a separate smaller room off the main room  All very nicely appointed and clean. A second twin bed is tucked in at the opposite end of the long room. Might be useful if traveling with a child. 

This is a great location to stay at for taking day trips to visit other locations. 
The Beaches of Normandy are several hours away and worth the drive. 

All in all, we enjoyed our stay. The home is lovely as previously stated.   The common rooms are elegant and charming.  Breakfast can be obtained for an additional fee, although we did not do this as we preferred to walk to the village .  There is a hot tub in the lower level that we did not use. The courtyard has tables and chairs and is surrounded by lush greens including bamboo and hydrangeas  - a beautiful  setting for a glass of wine. 

If I have the chance to return I would like to reserve a room that does not have the slanted ceiling. However, if that is all that is available - I would stay there again.  The staff is outstanding - friendly, and very helpful. 

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.3 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Lucie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Lucie

Property: La Maison de Lucie
Address: 44 rue des Capucins, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
#1 Spa Hotel in Honfleur
#6 Family Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison de Lucie 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Maison de Lucie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Lucie Hotel Honfleur
La Maison De Lucie Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing