We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally at Home”
Review of La Petite Folie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Folie
Ranked #9 of 72 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Catherine, Penny and Hunny Bunny make you feel like you just returned home after a long trip. The suggestions as to wher to eat-Le Gambetta,L,Homme de Bois and Cote Resto, where romantic with fireplaces and drop dead amazing melt in your mouth food. Their ideas of what to do are not in any guidebook. For example, they suggested a hike to Cote de Grace. It is a chapel on top of a hill where the tows people go every year to pray for the fisherman. Inside the beautiful small church there are boats hanging down from the ceiling. All around the top moldings are pictures of boats. It was so magical.

Finally, the unsolicited service will warm your heart. Catherine and Penny rearranged my drop off of my rental car to an hour closer point, and got me more convenient train tickets to Paris. They truly let me relax in their amazing home. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

La Petite Folie was a wonderful experience in every way. The house is perfectly situated near the Honfleur harbor and there is a free parking lot within a 5 minute walk. The house is beautifully and comfortably furnished---the dining room and living room are particularly inviting. The huge delicious spread at breakfast is a great way to start the day. But perhaps, what makes La Petite Folie stand out is the unique and engaging personality of Penny, who disarms and charms every guest. Penny has an amazing knack of truly making her guests feel welcome and putting everyone at ease. Breakfast time was always filled with good laughs and interesting conversation with her and the other guests. Rounding out the hospitality team are Penny's husband Thierry and their incredibly pleasant and talented colleague Catherine. All three had suggestions for activities and terrific restaurant recommendations. When we left Honfleur headed toward Bayeux, Penny called ahead to a colleague at a hotel there to find a restaurant recommendation for us, and of course booked it as well. Thank you, Penny, for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First of all, kudos to Penny, your house looks like a page in Architectural Digest! The hospitality is genuine and they make you fee like you are at home. Breakfast is served in the beautiful dining room on elegant china where the hosts help plan your day if needed. Afternoon tea and coffee is set out in the parlour for you to enjoy. Honfleur is a beautiful city and if going there I would highly recommend this exquisite B and B.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisewomanseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My father and I stayed in this exquisite B&B in the beautiful village of Honfleur. Penny, Thierry and the always smiling Caterina were charming and helpful and after 1 day it felt like we were visiting family. The home made croissants are to die for. The rooms are beautifully and lovingly decorated with an eye for detail that only someone special could have worked to achieve. There really isnt anything more to say other than to call up the gorgeous Penny and book your stay. I feel confident that making this choice would never disappoint.

Room Tip: Every room is exquisite - it wont matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kym L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was at La Petite Folie. We felt like we were staying with friends. Penny and Thierry and Catherine were the perfect host/hostesses who took care of our every need. Breakfast each morning was delicious and a good way to catch up with other guests and share experiences and ideas that we related to each other at the end of the day in the living room with coffee, tea, cookies. Penny made sure to give us suggestions for dinner each day and made our reservations which were spot on! We stayed in the Chambre Rene room which was lovely; the bed was really comfortable and we overlooked the backyard. The bathroom was modern and well thought out. There was nothing about the property we didn't love and the location could not be better. The best part though were the friendships we made during our stay. Thank you Penny for your warm welcome. Nowhere else compared to our stay with you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the charming Blue Room for two nights this September. Our room had a view of the water which we viewed through open windows!
We arrived a bit weary from two weeks of travelling around Paris and Provence and were welcomed into the caring and competent arms of Penny and Catherine. The house has a fabulous location for visiting this picturesque seaport and everything is in walking distance including a free parking lot and fabulous restaurants.
Penny and Catherine could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. You need a teapot in your room and you are too tired to make it down to the delicious breakfast? Don't worry. Penny provides everything you need to feel comfortable right in your room. Want to speak English? Their English is perfect! Need a reservation for dinner in town? It's taken care of. Need someone to carry that suitcase up three flights of stairs? Catherine is stronger than you think! Enjoy the company of fellow travellers? Chat with them around the table and partake of the included sumptuous French breakfast with eggs, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cereal and croissants.
The bathrooms have been remodeled to the utmost in luxury including a drying rack! You will love the soaps and lotions provided and enjoy the hot water! Nothing is spared in the bathrooms. The bathroom and our room had their own heating systems which made everything cozy. Enjoy watching TV in bed? There is a flat screen. Want to read? The lighting by the bed works well. Want internet? Easy to use!
Everything is so clean and the bedding is very luxurious. We finally got two really great nights of sleep in this quiet and dark setting.
The only negative about this pampering inn was that we had to leave!!!!

Room Tip: Our Blue Room had a view of the harbor and was spacious and quiet. There is no elevator, so if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Binkystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Each room at La Petite Folie looked lovely on their website that we had a difficult time choosing. As fate would have it, the newly finished Jasmine apartment was offered to us by Penny. This is a 2 bedroom apartment with a large living room, dining room and wonderful modern kitchen. It truly offers the feeling of living in Honfleur. Each morning "the breakfast fairy" quietly left our basket in the hallway with french pastries, bread, yogurt, eggs and assorted treats depending on the day. The living area of the apartment faces Rue Haute, which has some traffic during the day, but quiets down nicely in the evening. The kitchen and bedrooms face the quiet garden. Penny's website provided information on dining as well as sights and is quite comprehensive. Catherine greeted us upon or arrival and gave us tips on how to find our shopping challenge of the day or where to have lunch. As with other apartment dwellers, we didnot join the other patrons for breakfast each morning. However, we did meet Thierry, the gentleman of the B&B and he was charming. Penny is so well known and admired by not only the patrons, but it seems everyone in Honfleur. The staff did everything possible to make us feel comfortable and pampered. The shopkeepers and restaurant proprietors were friendly and spoke english very well.
Overall, this was a lovely way to experience a small, charming town.

Room Tip: First of all, decide if you want one of the lovely rooms or a larger apartment. Then be certain to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 33 in Honfleur
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
529 reviews
2.9 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Folie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Folie

Address: 44 rue Haute | Saint Catherine Quarter, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range: £193 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Honfleur just steps from the Old Harbor and walking distance to shops restaurants and the Saturday morning food market. 5 double bedrooms all with private bathrooms at the Bed and Breakfast. 5 gorgeous apartments in historic buildings recently renovated and available for short term stays. -Primarily dedicated to a romantic getaway and for security reasons, children under the age of 10 are not accepted. -We have stairs and do not have an elevator. -Free parking lot closeby (NATUROSPACE). Optional paid,locked parking. Attention we have stairs and do not have an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Petite Folie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Folie Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing