We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Liniere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Liniere
Ranked #21 of 68 Honfleur B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

House is 140 years old and beautiful. The owner is a fantastic piano player. He played one afternoon while we were resting in the room above, what a delight. He was fantastic. The breakfast was excellent, also offered "Omelette" or cheese", super. Very, very nice people.

Bed was small but comfy. WII does not work with any Apple tablet (this is pretty much throughout France)

Going to town for lunch or dinner is great. Not a long walk (about 700m), but the way back is all up, so beware. Good hearth pumping, but that is good after a dinner.

Had trouble flushing the toilet, but that was a very minor irritant.

Room Tip: Ask for cheese or ommeletes in the morning. It is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We decided to stay at la Liniere because the TA reviews were good and it sounded exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately we were disappointed and cannot understand why TA contributors gave the B & B such glowing comments.
La Liniere is a large detached house in a quiet area. The breakfast room was furnished with antique furniture and the ground floor rooms looked very interesting and grand. The B & B rooms were on the top floor. Our room was rather shabby, had a stained carpet and needed a good clean. The furniture had seen better days and looked like it was second-hand. Neither the room nor the bathroom was cleaned during our stay and rubbish bins were not emptied. We had to ask for more loo paper.
Overall La Liniere could become an excellent B & B but the proprietors do need to make sure the B & B rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained.

This is the first time in many years that we have been let down by the TA comments.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, RU
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had recently stayed 2 nights at the charming La Liniere and were absolutely fascinated by the hosts - Jean-Louis and Jean-Christophe - and the house.
We chose the biggest room and it was absolutely lovely - with every comfort one could need.
Our breakfasts were delicious and plentyfull, each morning we were asked what we wanted to have for breakfast - eggs, fruit, cheeses and so on.
I must add that the china (Limoges), the cutleries and the table appointments are gorgeous.
I hope to be back some day!
Messieurs, je vous adresse mes plus vifs remerciements!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The house was beautiful, the room was lovely, and the host was professional. The location was ideal for us, not smack in the middle of Honfleur but about a 5 - 10 minute walk. The house was situated on a hill with a lovely view! Breakfast was good with baguettes, croissants, jams, cheese, scrambled eggs, and some ham. We would stay here again if we return to Honfleur.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived at 11:30 at night after a harrowing experience on the road due to our rental car problems and were greeted by Jean Christophe's father, a dear old gentleman who has been waiting up for us. His warm welcome and concern touched our heart and erased most of the stress of the day. In spite of the very late hour, he asked us if we wanted something to eat, and made sure that we had everything we needed. The following day, we met Jean Christophe, a gentle and thoughtful host who helped us a lot during our first day in France. The house was a beautiful old manor full of charm, surrounded by a well maintained garden. It was located right next to the Monet Hotel, on a slopping hill, in a residential neighborhood. Our room had a window overlooking the countryside, and was bright, airy and tastefully decorated in the victorian style. A breakfast consisted of fresh croissants, jam, cheese, ham and butter, was served in a lovely room with a piano. Parking can be on the street or on the house's driveway. We are glad that we started our 3 weeks in France at La Liniere, and Jean Christophe and his father are the epitome of the French's friendliness and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

great little gem of a place.. hard to find (hint: next door to hotel monet). great welcome from hosts, and best continental breakfast served in the loveliest and oddest breakfast room. good views of honfleur and normandy bridge from the bedroom. great little place, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 291Patrick_W291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallingford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I recently undertook a 30th anniversary tour around Germany and France, ending our two week roadtrip with two nights at La Liniere before heading home. We already knew how pretty the town was, but had not stayed at La Liniere before - and what a wonderful treat it was when we rolled up to book in. What doesn't come across on the internet is just how stunning the house actually is, especially the interior which was gorgeous and filled with the sounds of jazz and classical music while we were there - so lovely and very French of course.! Our room was perfect (no.3) and will be our choice for future visits, having an internal shower and toilet. We had no trouble finding the house, despite some concerns voiced by other travellers here, so don't let that put you off. The house is set at just the right distance from town, which can be reached in around 5 minutes down some pretty cobbled streets full of interesting and quirky shops. Jean Christophe was utterly charming and looked after us in a quiet but thoroughly attentive way. Both of our days started with tremendous breakfasts of scrambled eggs on fresh sourdough bread - just delicious. Cars can be parked on the property if requested. otherwise you can park easily on the road out the front. So, in summary, a wonderful visit to a beautiful house which we have every intention of coming back to.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which gave us a fabby view of the town and had an internal toilet and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monet
Hotel Monet
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#18 of 33 in Honfleur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Dauphin
Hotel du Dauphin
#19 of 33 in Honfleur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Liniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Liniere

Property: La Liniere
Address: Charriere du Puits, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Honfleur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Liniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing