We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to and beyond our expectations!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sa-Qua-Na

Sa-Qua-Na
Ranked #1 of 160 Restaurants in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$97 - US$140
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: SaQuaNa in Honfleur is a starred restaurant in which Delphine and Alexandre Bourdas wished to put what they like, what they learned during their travels and meetings. This place finally expresses their personalities. After long months of renewal, the restaurant opened again in October 2016 in a small building just a step away from the port of Honfleur. Delphine and Alexandre Bourdas wish that the human dimension and the joy of sharing a good meal are at the heart of their restaurant.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lived up to and beyond our expectations!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had planned this trip, on our return from our French house in Normany, for our 30th wedding anniversary. We often stopped off in Honfleur on our many trips over the years, for breakfast, or a quick bite. So we were very much looking forward to a proper stopover, and special meal. We planned Sa Qua Na for dinner, and Fond de la Cour, a great local B and B.
When we arrived at the restaurant, my first impression was that it was very modern, but with a traditional twist! One of the walls covered in wood panels (traditional) the others lit vertically (modern) tables were simple and the decor was uncluttered!! At first the atmosphere seemed a little subdued, but as each table filled, and each course arrived, the atmosphere changed completely!!! It was buzzy, friendly, the staff were all knowledgable, and efficient, and you could tell everyone was having a great evening!!! We most certainly did!!!
I will just say, my husband is a professional chef, so we were expecting great things, we were not disappointed!!! We had the full 8 course menu, but it was all the extra courses you got that made it extra special!! And the personal touches from the chef, the Japanese influences from his time living Japan, and amazing loaves of bread placed on the table!! I won't say too much, it will spoil the surprise!!! All I can say is, I can't wait to go again!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    57
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sine Qua Non”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

No trip to this part of France should lack a visit to Sa Qua Na. Notwithstanding its name, this is a restaurant without pretension. Delightful friendly and knowledgeable service adds to a relaxed and buzzy atmosphere in a smart but unfussy room, pointedly lacking in ironed table cloths...the antithesis of high end gastronomical temples. And yet Michelin have recognised the style and excellence of Alexandre Bourdas' cooking. There is no choice, save between the full degustation menu and a shorter version. Fish predominates on a regularly changing menu. It is cooked to mouth-watering perfection via a technique 'invented' by the chef. It should be patented. Time spent in Japan lends an original twist to many of the dishes. Stand out courses were pollack (far too good pour le chat) with purslane, scallop and pis en lit tempura and an unctuous ris de veau. Wines are interesting and varied. Our charming sommeliere recommended a Minervois which complemented the meal nicely, and at a pleasantly ungrasping price for this level of restaurant. Covers are limited and the restaurant is not open every day - advanced booking is a must!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must if you are in Honfleur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My fiance' and I dined at Sa-Qua-Na during a trip to Honfleur in September. We still smile every time we talk about this restaurant! The entire experience was incredible. Excellent wine selection, incredible tasting menu, great service. If you enjoy food, this is definitely an experience worth the price! Looking back on our 10 days in France, Sa Qua Na was by far the best meal of the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMac1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This wonderfully minimalistic interior only enhances the quality, inventiveness, and beauty of the food prepared by the chef.
One has a choice between a four course menu or the complete nine course tasting menu. We chose the latter and were not disappointed at all. One of the courses was lamb and the chef was more than happy to substitute a fish course as one of us does not eat meat. The preparation of the food is innovative in that it combines eastern and western ingredients and flavours.
Both of us are not big on sweets and deserts but we both devoured every morsel that was put in front of us.
The choices of spectacular cheeses was beyond description. The wines were excellent and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ate here on Saturday for lunch. Had the 9 course menu, which ends up being more like 12 with all of the extras. Has to be one of the best meals of my life. The cooking is so faultless, truly amazing, well judged and paced menu. It doesn't rely on any tricks or gimmicks just amazing flavours and textures throughout. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dobinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sa-Qua-Na also viewed

La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, Honfleur
 
Honfleur, Calvados
 

Been to Sa-Qua-Na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing