We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Neat Reasonable Rates”
Review of Hotel Monet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monet
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is up the hill from the Honfleur town centre. Honfleur is a tourist town with all the services one needs – a variety of restaurants, an excellent bakery (you know it is good when the locals are lined up out the door), an interesting old church, and a tourist vibe, but in a good way. The hotel is just beyond the Honfleur town limits which might have some advantages as the price was good.
One could add breakfast for a fee but we normally avoid these and just go find something in town.
This was a modern building done in a clean wood style. Rooms had a good bathroom and a double and two single beds. The room was larger than we expected for the price. Very clean and parking was easy. Walking into town was also easy and quick.

We ended up at Honfleur after visiting WW1 war sites. We checked out Dieppe which was a port town that has not embraced its history; so go to Honfleur which is great. We could easily have stayed longer here and would have enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmonet, Propriétaire at Hotel Monet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for your visit and your message.
Nice to meet you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We should have written this review 9 months ago, but better late than never....

First a little about your reviewers. We are a couple in our early 40s, and have travelled extensively through work and business. Also, we typically don't stay at B&Bs. This is because they can be variable in quality. In a smaller place like Honfleur, however, hotels are spotty and overpriced. So, we researched here, and glad we did.

We stayed in late May 2013.


PROS:

- LOCATION - This is situated up a hill overlooking town and area. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre, but that can easily take an hour as the town unfolds before you :) It's a VERY cool little magical town.

There is parking right at the hotel, but can be full, in which case you park on a steep street just out front. It's level of capacity is hit and miss too.

- ROOM - Tasteful, modern decoration that is bright, and a little bit tight
- a good size bathroom and warm shower.

- VALUE - Very good. Much better than any brand hotel here.

CONS:

- Wifi unavailable in the room, and only at the check in area, when it's open
- The room was a little on the chilly side

SUMMARY: A very good choice for a stay in Honfleur, with tasteful design and comforts at a reasonable price.

GlobalTime

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GlobalTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

In the proximity of Honfleur there is this convenient hotel. The hostess was very nice and hospitable. We could choose our rooms as getting WIFI ( a must today!!!) was difficult on the south side of the hotel. Our son did change rooms and in the morning he told us he did not get WIFI anyway. So this is a problem which needs to be attended to.
Breakfast nice, rooms nice, bathroom nice. Ample parking and a nice walk to the harbour.
I would definitely stay again, but I would like to press for better WIFI!

Room Tip: I saw three rooms and would have chosen them all if not for WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in 2011, but for this review I had to choose Feb 2013 (I don't mean to be deceptive but I wanted the opportunity to help others find it) and had trouble finding it, as it is actually in Equemauville, just up the road above Honfleur. I am attaching three pictures to help other travelers. The first shows the red-fronted Paneterie on the left as you are just arriving in town from the main road leading in. Turn left at this intersection and go up the hill. The second and third show charming street signs and the sign pointing toward Hotel Monet. We loved this place, and the beds (count 'em, two huge ones!) were the most comfortable beds of our entire trip in France.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monet for 2 evenings in October 2013. The hotel is conveniently located a 10 minute walk from Vieux bassin cafe and restaurants. Enjoyed walking up and down the short hill with superb views. Situated very close to the trail leading up to the enchanting Chapelle Cote de Grace with even better views. Helpful owners, good breakfast, free parking in an enclosed area, just outside the door to your room. Good bang for buck, be hard pressed to find better value close to the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The room was nicely and very clean with comfortable bed, small terace in front of the room. Some good advice on the city and the restaurant by the owner, we had a great weekend in this charming hotel. Certainly we will be back for another staying

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I spend 2 nights at Hotel Monet in Honfleur in September 2013 and really enjoyed it. The location was out of the center of all the hubbub, but worked well in that parking was readily available most of the time and if not, the owners helped us find a safe and free spot. We could walk right into the heart of the city in 10 minutes and leave our car parked where it was.

While the hotel looked like an old motor lodge, it was really quite a lovely surprise inside our room! I suppose all the rooms had been remodeled, as ours was, with a queen size bed, 2 chairs and a table, and lovely additional furniture that matched the waterside setting of Honfleur. The bathroom was quite large and offered shelves and other amenities that I look for when traveling. We had a full bathtub with a shower and again the bathroom was decorated with those little touches that help a hotel room feel like home for a while.

The owners were lovely and very helpful. We had their breakfast one morning and it was very good and a good value. While we wanted to try other places for breakfast, it really isn't worth it. For what you pay, so much more was offered at the hotel breakfasts, than what you get for a Petite Dejeuner at a bar. Unless you just want a cafe....

This was a recommended hotel by Rick Steves and I concur...easy to get out of town as well if you are exploring other parts of Normandy, as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.4 mi away
La Fraichette
La Fraichette
#15 of 33 in Honfleur
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#20 of 33 in Honfleur
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Honfleur
ibis Styles Honfleur
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monet

Address: Charriere du Puits, 14600, Honfleur, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honfleur
#4 Family Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: £53 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monet 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monet Hotel Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing