We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Great Escape B & B
Ranked #2 of 2 Rye Foreign B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely pub. Great atmosphere, warm welcome, wonderful ales, Amazing food (pie esp.). Accommodation clean and practical, set in a lovely location. If your not sure where to stay in Rye book this place immediately, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have always cooked on Christmas Day but this year with guests here we decided to eat out. It was an amazing meal and excellent value. Pip and Carmen worked so hard to ensure everything was served hot and the ambiance was lovely.
I can't recommend this pub/ restaurant highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mollyrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had visited the Royal Oak for lunch/dinner and were so impressed with the food and owners we asked if they would host our wedding reception. They were fantastic and so accommodating and many of our guests said it was one of the best wedding receptions they had been to. The food was lovely and hot, which is difficult to achieve with so many people, the pub has a great atmosphere and is very comfortable and relaxing. One of our guests was so impressed he took his mother to the Royal Oak the following day for lunch.

Pip (Clint) and Carmen have worked so hard on this lovely quintessential English pub and it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex1446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We would thoroughly recommend staying at The Royal Oak. We were given a warm welcome by Pip & shown to our chalet which was clean & comfortable. The pub itself has a lovely atmosphere with low ceilings, beams & a roaring fire & lots of memorabilia including Clint Eastwood, as Pip looks very like Clint Eastwood! (See photos, sorry a bit dark!) We had booked for dinner & our food was delicious, cooked by Carmen as well as the full English breakfast in the morning. We could have stayed alot longer. Thank you Pip & Carmen for making our stay a memorable one. Wishing you both all the best & hope to come back again soon in the not too distant future. Sarah & Patrick

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have recently moved to the area and tried lots of restaurants in Rye. We decided to try one closer to home and went on Saturday night . It was busy and the restaurant area by the fire was full. We sat elsewhere in the quirky and full of character bar. The beer was kept well and the small but well thought out menu was on the blackboard.We shared the Camembert starter then my husband had chilli and I had one of the best fillet steaks I have ever had. A great local pub and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mollyrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked into the Royal Oak for a couple of nights mainly because of previous reviews here.
The rooms are a block of wooden chalets, clean, quite new and comfortable but fairly basic. Only real problem, just one bedside cabinet and light for a double bed. I can imagine some interesting arguments about who gets the side with the cabinet. We would have been happier if the asking price had been lower.
Eat in the pub on the first night and the food is simple excellent fare, generous portions, good ingredients and reasonably priced.
Breakfast is equally impressive. A glass of orange juice apiece waiting for you, cereals and milk. A very nice cooked breakfast to order and wonderful toast.
The owner really does look like Clint Eastwood by the way and his partner is very friendly and happy to help.
The property is still being improved so there are some signs of ongoing building work.
In conclusion, a great place to eat simple, home cooked food. The accommodation is fine but feels a bit overpriced. It is located on a fairly busy road so not the quietest place we've stayed.

Room Tip: Low numbers are behind the pub and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After missing the last train home on a Saturday night, we found ourselves stranded in Rye with no hotel booked for the night. We called up the Royal Oak and fortunately they had a room available, I'm very glad that they did! Considering it would've been about 10:30pm by the time we arrived, the owner was very helpful in getting us settled and making sure we had everything we needed.

We were then free to go and enjoy a couple of drinks in the lovely beer garden, which was outside our chalet. The room itself was a good size, well equipped, looked pretty new and was very clean.

We got up in the morning and strolled across the garden to the pub itself to enjoy a full English breakfast. It was genuinely very tasty and was cooked with good quality ingredients. Following this, the owner generously organised us a ride back into the centre of Rye.

I will definitely be keeping this place in mind for when we return to the area again!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Great Escape B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Escape B & B

Address: Peasmarsh Road, Rye Foreign TN31 7SY, England (Formerly The Oak Rye)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye Foreign
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rye Foreign
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B & B located 2 miles from the historic town of Rye. We offer good quality, reasonably priced accommodation and we also cater for private parties and run our own events throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Great Escape B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Escape B & B Rye Foreign, East Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing