We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good real food!”
Review of The Oak

The Oak
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good real food!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Royal Oak is fantastic.

I've been a few times now and each and every time the food and atmosphere is perfect. It's a cosy, traditional type of place, nice and low key, but very warm and welcoming and in no way rowdy or weird.

The food is really what brings me to this place though. From what I have been told, the place is a husband and wife operation with the husband running the bar and service and wife working the kitchen. What a combo!

The menu usually has around 7 or 8 items on it each night and it changes from night to night. The servings are generous and the food is very tasty and of a high quality. It's not fancy food, it's comfort food as one of the other reviewers has stated. That said, it is always fresh and never cheap or 'fast food' tasting like what you'll find at many pubs these days.

This is authentic, fresh cooking at it's best. I highly recommend a visit (or two) if you're every in the Rye area. They take bookings so, give them a call before you turn up so that they know you're coming!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurtlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy comfort food”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Excellent food and drink, a roaring fire, with lots of artefacts for the kids to look at. What more do you need in a pub?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reallywrenchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The way good pubs should be...”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have eaten at the Royal Oak about 5 times and felt it was time to give them a review.

This really is a great place to get real quality pub food, and it deserves to be more successful.

There is no written menu, just a blackboard featuring five or six dishes that are all fresh and I believe local produce. The meat is good quality and the vegetables fresh and well prepared. The prices are also very reasonable. There is also a great log fire, which was just the job today, with the weather turning chilly.

It is a bit quirky inside and the lighting needs a bit of attention, but I would recommend the Royal Oak to anyone looking for a really good pub meal in and around the Rye area, we have tried many and none come up to this standard.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best pub food - up there with the award-winners”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stopped by on a busy Friday evening without a reservation and were welcomed and found a corner. A small menu, but what quality using fresh, local foods! The steak and ale pie is to die for and we returned a few days later for more! deserts tasty too. Lovely atmosphere, service of food and drink from the host is friendly and prompt. A real gem!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Pub Grub”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Small but thoughtful selection well cooked and presented.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing