We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of The Oak

The Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
manchester u.k
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

the royal Oak is one pub not tobe missed the food is good and wholesome and very reasonbly priced. Do not be put off by the outside just needs a little more light at times .When inside you will not be disapointed .a real old pub full of old world charm,The menu is up on a blackbroad it changes daily .there will always be something you fancy.Iam not going to recomend any one thing but if you can make room for a sweet Iwill just say the suet pudding was just like mum use to make GREAT.we where only in Peasmarsh for one week but we eat at the Royal Oak three or four times . I could not have cooked as well my self. You will be missing out if you do't give it a try.
If you are very lucky you might have Clint Eastwood as your host ..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iris630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stopped at The Royal Oak on Bank holiday Monday for lunch. I am vegetarian and there was nothing on the menu so the landlord offered me an omelette (I went for a cheese one) with salad. My partner didnt fancy any of the dishes on the menu so opted to join me also with an omelette (he went for a mushroom one) also with salad. We decided to share a portion of chips. when the food arrived it was very nice although the salad was more of a garnish than an actual salad. However, when we went to pay the bill we had been charge £9 for each omelette and 'salad'! Now, I really think £9 is something of a rip off. Admittedly omelette was not on the menu but there was nothing else vegetarian and the main lunch dish of homemade steak and kidney pie with all vegetables was only £1 more. So, buyer beware, if its not on the menu you may well get ripped off.
Sadly we wont be returning even though this is a nice pub and is in walking distance (just) of our house.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good, friendly British pub.”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

GREAT FOOD,

We have stayed many times with Pip & Carmen the food is always freshly cooked and never beaten by other pubs.
The rooms are warm and clean, the beer is well kept and varied, the service excellent and the regulars friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were recommended to try the Royal Oak and found the pub not only charming, with interesting things hung from the ceiling, (go and look) but the food was beautifully home cooked and very well priced. The menu is not huge, but we were so impressed that we went four days in a row (we were that impressed!) and my husband said his steak and mushroom pudding was the best he's ever eaten, and the steak I had was delicious and perfectly cooked and presented, the pepper sauce was great.
So we would definitely recommend going in and trying their food, oh, and the beer was great too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montyk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great pub with good food”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a snack and were really pleased with the two ploughmans. Both were excellent - good cheese and home cooked ham. Good selection of beer and ciders plus pleasant surroundings. Recommended

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blatters2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak also viewed

 

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing