We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2012”
Review of Hotel Carmin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carmin
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Le Havre
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“August 2012”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed in Hotel Carmin August 2012. The owners Jean Pierre and Thierry are absolutely wonderful. They cannot do enough for you, recommending places to eat, where to go etc and asking you all about it next day. The hotel itself is very clean with everything you need. The breakfast was continental and simply fresh and delicious. The only problem we had was no hot water during the day "only whisky"the boys little joke. I can understand not boosting hot water systems if people are out all day, but having to wait till 6 oçlock for hot water was a bit inconvenient. Also there could have been a non slip bath mat or hand rail in the bath as was a bit precarious getting in and out of the bath/shower as was slippy. Also the shower head in the bath was a bit low down and you did have to bend a bit to get your head under. It did seem more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel as there was no restaurant or bar where you could get a drink. Also no English speaking channels on TV all in French. It would have been good to get one English speaking channel especially for News. On the whole a great stay and we would stay here again because the owners were just so lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    87
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
141
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Visited Le Havre for the Normandy week sailing event accompanied by a disabled friend who used to sail with us.Stayed at the Hotel Carmin which was a short walk from the marina.We arrived at the hotel and were made very welcome especially my disabled friend who was helped in every way by the friendly staff.The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast very good with very attentive staff.This made our stay in Le Havre very pleasant and memorable.Many thanks to the Hotel Carmin.We would have no hesitation in returning to the Hotel Carmin if we visit Le Havre again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We enjoyed our time at Hotel Carmin: the lobby is cheerful, the rooms were a decent size and clean, and the location was nice – around the corner from Hotel de Ville, and a short walk to the ocean. Three of us shared a triple room, and the size was fine for us (1 single bed, 1 double bed, plus a single-sized daybed). The staff here were the best part: so friendly, nice, and always ready with suggestions. The hotel isn’t incredibly luxurious – think chain-style Holiday-Inn-esque vibe – but we thought it was a very good value given the cost of other hotels in Le Havre. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a budget-friendly hotel in this city.

(Of course, whether I'd recommend Le Havre itself is a different story. We found it interesting, but we had personal reasons to visit. If you're coming just for tourism, another town in Normandy might be more interesting. However, if you do go to Le Havre, check out St Joseph's church and take the bus to Etratat -- the bus conveniently stops right across from Hotel Carmin.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I picked this hotel after reviewing my options in Trip advisor and I was not disappointed.I crossed the channel as a foot passanger and we stayed here for 3 nights.I think there is a shuttle bus from the port to the town but we just walked as it was only 30 minutes to the Hotel which was very easy to find.The hotel is well located between the town and the beach resort area and although on a large road is very quiet.Double glazing (that opens) and shutters were and additional benefit.Clean,orderly and well maintained it is a basic hotel which is reflected in the price.The staff were all fantastic and provided lots of local information and suggestions.I didnt try the breakfast.We were both very pleased with this choice and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at Hotel Carmin during a weekend trip to Le Havre for a family member's 50th Birthday. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and the continental breakfast was lovely. But what made it absolutely fantastic were the staff. They were so helpful and friendly and really helped make our weekend unforgettable. They even gave the Birthday girl some delicious toffees as a Birthday present. I would highly recommend this hotel and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen100184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

The rooms at this hotel are not the most luxurious but they are extremely clean and the bedding is very comfortable. The hotel is very calm, no noisy roads outside and well insulated so you don't hear the person in the room next to you. The service offered is impeccable and what is not offered in luxury in the room is made up for by the attention to detail of the owner. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saminfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

As I'm used to book rather expensive hotels as Hilton and Sheraton I can advise this hotel to anyone who wants a no-nonsense place to sleep .
The hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the beach in a residential area very quiet at night and is spotless clean .
The owner is very friendly and gave us good advice about the places to go to or to avoid .
Furthermore I found Le Havre rather charming and well worth a more thorough visit.
Excellent restaurants are for example La taverna la paillette and Brasserie Georges...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Havre
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Petit Vatel
Hotel le Petit Vatel
#3 of 33 in Le Havre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nomad Hotel le Havre
Nomad Hotel le Havre
#2 of 33 in Le Havre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Havre Centre
Ibis Le Havre Centre
#4 of 33 in Le Havre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pasino
Hotel Pasino
#6 of 33 in Le Havre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
Hotel Vent d'Ouest
#5 of 33 in Le Havre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmin

Property: Hotel Carmin
Address: 15 rue Georges Braque, 76600, Le Havre, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Le Havre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Le Havre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmin 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for calm and relaxation, stay in one of the 21 rooms of Citotel Le Carmin. As mentioned in its name, red is the guideline of our decoration by little spots and without exaggeration. All our rooms with access by elevator are different. You may choose either a classique room (bed of 140cm) or a Comfort room (queen size bed) or a Superior room (king-size bed). Our Tips:Tea and coffe facilities in your room. On site catering. a bottle of water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Le Havre
Le Havre Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing