We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute room”
Review of La Boulangerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Boulangerie
Ranked #2 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

La Boulangerie is a small B&B located on narrow medieval streets, but our Garmin took us right there. Even though we had agreed on an arrival time with the host, there was no one there when we arrived. We were lucky to find street parking a few blocks away. Later when we came back, we saw a small sign taped to a window (not the front door) telling us to knock on the door of the house around the corner. After this rocky start, we were delighted with our stay. We stayed in the Bear Claw room on the top floor (pack light--tiny, winding steps up!). It was large, clean and thoughtfully furnished. Beware of the exposed rafters; we wrapped sweaters around them in case we forgot in the middle of the night. The B& B is a few blocks walk to the Cathedral and market. We were blown away by all the half-timbered buildings in Rouen. Breakfast the next morning was yummy. A great start of our vacation.

Room Tip: Pack light if you choose Bear Claw on the top floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for La Boulangerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This informal but lovingly run B&B has unique charm and makes you feel like a local resident. A beautiful and delicious breakfast was provided in the shop itself (which really does sell bread and bonbons!). The owner, moreover, is gracious, interesting, and friendly without being overbearing. A joyous visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giddyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

1. La Boulangerie is located in a residential neighborhood in a half-timber building. You get a real sense of what it is like to live in Rouen.
2. It is within walking distance of restaurants, cathedrals, wonderful shops and the site where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake.
3. The rooms are comfortable, immaculate and impeccably appointed.
4. Breakfast: Wow! Not only delicious but served in an actual boulangerie.
5. The price is right. (shhhh...)
6. Lastly, and most importantly, Aminata! A more charming person could not possibly exist!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miloumilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a one night stay in La Boulangerie in Rouen and I can honestly say it was a major determinant of why we enjoyed the town so much. The accommodation is really unique, decorated by someone with a stylish eye, and the breakfast was delicious! In addition, Aminata is a wonderful host. We have travelled a lot and the hospitality she provided was some of the best I have experienced. We will definitely be back - I can't recommend La Boulangerie highly enough!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very lovely and spacious room with wooden beams on all walls and ceilings (Levain room), old style furniture and great attention to detail. And on top of this you get a great wifi connection and an alarm clock on which you can charge your ipod and iphone and play your music! A perfect combination of old and new!
The breakfast was copious and delicious including fresh bread, croissants and pains au chocolat from a local bakery, home-made jams, organic yoghurts, orange juice and a variety of hot drinks (3 types of hot chocolate available!). The breakfast is served in the old bakery where I used to buy sweets as a kid - and you can still buy sweets!!
And let's not forget the very warm welcome from Aminata!
It goes without saying that I will be back and I recommend this lovely B&B to anyone looking for authenticity in this beautiful historical city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here with my family in July and it was absolutely gorgeous, we felt so fortunate to have such a wonderful host in Aminata who looked after us attentively, and produced a delicious charming French breakfast in the morning. Our rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable and the decor was so lovely. We loved our stay at la boulangerie and would very highly recommend staying here for any traveller looking for a welcoming, cosy and traditional French experience! Thank you so much Aminata!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two to rooms, both lovely!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Aminata was a wonderful hostess, she helped us with parking our car, which is hard to do in Rouen. I would recommend not bringing a car to Rouen, unless you're doing a lot of day trips. We stayed in the family room, although we didn't use the second room because we were only two. It felt like being in a home. The B&B is in a good location, not right in town centre, but not far away. Breakfast was more than ample, we never finished everything we were given. Really unique and affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantyclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
1.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#19 of 51 in Rouen
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boulangerie

Address: 59 rue Saint Nicaise, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing