We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location and very swish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and very swish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is brilliantly situated in the heart of Rouen which is a fabulous historic city with beautiful buildings of great character including the magnificent cathedral.

The entrance to the hotel is through an incredible courtyard of exquisite architecture and the hotel itself is very swish, clean and well designed.

The service we received was outstanding, with a member of staff patiently helping us to park, assisting with our luggage and booking our restaurant reservation.

The beds are the usual doughy Marriott style, firm but soft - lovely. Rooms spotless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    322
    116
    48
    20
See reviews for
149
683
24
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Where do I start?

We arrived at the hotel to find no doorman to assist with our luggage - strange for a 5 star hotel!!!

I had to ask at the front desk for a city map and the time and location of breakfast - again no offer to assist with our luggage.

We were not impressed with the room (even wifi was patchy)
- very few power points
- cheap plastic chairs
- tv was too small and too far away from the bed

Although I have to say the bathroom was nice.

Be warned there is only one lift which can get busy. The indoor pool however, was outstanding. We loved it!!

We arrived at breakfast and there was no staff at the front to seat us, although to be fair breakfast was really good.

Upon leaving we were not happy when they asked if we would like to collect our car - that would have been hard given they had parked it offsite and we didn't know where!!!!!!

Overall I think this is not a 5 star hotel - location is great no doubt but thats it.

We won't be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Hôtel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are anxious first of all to thank you for the confidence that you granted to us by staying in our establishment.
Know, that we make every effort so that the stay of our customers takes place in the best conditions.
The remarks are for us a precious tool which allows us to meet the expectations better of our clientele.

Yours Sincerely,

Anne-France Kerkhove
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
205 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a signature hotel located in the centre of the city ,Rouen.This is good hotel having all types of aminities and specially good for business having many conference rooms & halls.Rooms are beautiful and very well maimtained with all the facilities.Front office staffs are professional and very helpful.
Food of the hotel is good and spread of their breakfast is very good.
They have a nice swimming pool , fitness centre and spa.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: take room on higher floor to have a good view and avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Quirky floor plan due to hotel being built over the past 500 years ! Interesting to stay where tour guides bring groups to visit the courtyard and environs. Reception staff delightful and they recommended La Couronne, a restaurant around the corner built in 1345 !! yes, 1345 ! where we had our favorite meal of our triip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with the family in October for my birthday, we booked in advance 2 of the biggest suites in the hotel and they didn't disappoint. We had the top floor and both rooms were massive with feature bathrooms hidden away in the turrets of the hotel.

The spa was excellent and features a beautiful pool located below the reception and visible due to a glass floor.

The food in the restaurant was average but included in the price, we ate the first night but then in the town afterwards. The girls had a room service one night which they enjoyed.

The hotel is beautiful and located right in the town centre and secure parking valet is available.

There isn't a great deal to do in the town and we went on day trips to places like hen fuer etc.

Overall the stay was great and the rooms the biggest I have ever come across beautiful all round

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the historical center of Rouen, however be careful with the SatNav guidance. I would recommend asking for the driving instructions from the hotel.
The building itself dates back to the 15th century and is obviously of great historical value. The façade and the courtyard are gorgeous and it is even more surprising that they were allowed to totally rebuild the inner part. Once inside you find yourself in a modern hotel with a bit too flashy interior. Is the combination of black and red still trendy?
The room #212 was big and overlooked the courtyard. It was clean and functional, yet I wouldn’t call it comfortable or relaxing. The bed was ok, but the rest of the furniture needs to be replaced.
We wanted to use the swimming pool. However, our intention vanished completely after we entered the elevator and shared it for one floor with some guests coming from the swimming pool. The smell of chlorine was extraordinary strong.
I can’t particularly complain about the service, because in all of the French hotels the standard of appropriate service generally differs from the one expected by the guests. Despite that the breakfast was a total disaster. First of all, we had to wait 10 minutes to be seated. Either the breakfast room is too small, or they are understaffed, though I don’t think that is the case. The staff couldn’t find time to clean the tables or refill the food; instead they were busy chatting with one another. The variety and quality of food was also disappointing.
The overall feedback about the service can be dramatically improved if they appoint a doorman.
All in all, Hotel de Bourgtheroulde is a decent hotel, but far from being special or exceptional. For two nights, including breakfast and garage, we paid 625 euro. The fair price is definitely lower than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was lovely but a little out of the way. The staff were very attentive and we will certainly stay there again for longer! The house has been converted in a way we would never see in England and it a little in the style of a Malmaison. The hotel is ideally sited but don't believe your sat nav!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nmercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#17 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Address: 15 Place de la Pucelle D Orleans, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing