We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for exploration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good base for exploration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel when we travelled to Normandy recently, for 6 nights. It was a little further out from the town centre than I expected, but it was a clean and comfortable hotel. The choice for breakfast was excellent and we had 2 evening meals there, which despite being a bit on the expensive side, were fine and good to eat. Especially on the first night after a long journey! On the whole the staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes, the building lacked a bit of soul, but it's a chain hotel on the edge of town, so what do you expect?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face on to a square away from the main road. No traffic noise but there is a foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Many thanks for your comments

Have you test the "Espace forme" ??

JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    275
    150
    38
    10
See reviews for
83
214
37
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

As with all such branded hotels, once inside you could be anywhere! Complete lack of character. On the good side, the hotel is clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. On the less-good side, the room had little natural light, looking out onto a concrete wall of what I think may the hotel next door. The room had been decorated in chocolate, cream and a sort of 'beige' which didn't help. Lighting in the room was quite low and poor. If I had been staying more that a few days I would have begun to slide into depression! Don't know who recommends these colour schemes, but honestly, I hope they weren't paid for it!!!!!! I was amused by another review mentioning the one tea bag - yes, this was our experience too! We also had to go in search of toilet roll at one point as it was not replenished. Not sure what prices people pay for this hotel, but the prices on the door suggest it isn't particularly cheap. If this is the case it isn't, in my opinion, worth it. Perhaps the worst point is that in order to get into Rouen, you need to walk down a side road, which runs alongside the main road. Some of this road has been fenced off as a work compound so you are walking down what is effectively a narrow snicket. It is quite dark, dirty, littered - particularly with empty bottles and cans, and in our case there was a dead pigeon! During our few days stay we walked past a drunk sleeping it off, and arguing workmen. I really didn't like having to get past this messy and, frankly, scary part to get to Rouen centre. Overall, I wouldn't recommend the hotel until something is done about access to Rouen centre, especially if you are a woman or women travelling alone.

Room Tip: I can only say that our room overlooked a concrete wall and parking bay, which made our room very da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Many thanks about your comments above de light in the room, we are looking for change it.

The works outside may be finish in one month and all will be Ok

Best regrds
JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night and didnt expected anything special fro this hotel, however we were surprised that this hotel advertised as 4 stars rated. Have booked about 2 month in advance, room we got was very used, at end of corridor of first floor. No minibar in the room, bathroom is connected with thin door to some noisy technical room. In the room was very dark due small window an big trees outside, was impossible to read cause of economical lamps which are giving not enough light in this room. I just didnt had to time to make official compliant to hotel managament, cant recommend this to anyone

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a good hotel, not marvellous, but little to complain about.
At the moment the traffic in front of the hotel is horrendous due to one of the main through routes in Rouen being out of action - we were told this is likely to continue for at least another year - if you are motoring it makes arriving and departing from the hotel (and Rouen) very slow.
As long as you don't inspect too minutely the hotel is clean and well equipped. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant served perfectly acceptable food at the average price for Rouen (quite pricey). It is safer to book a table (especially at the weekend). If you do, make sure the Reception staff have done it properly - we booked twice and on one night Reception had booked the wrong time - we then checked about the other booking and the restaurant had no record of it.
If you cut through the back streets you can be in the centre of the town in about 15 minutes. We asked for a quiet room and we were given one at the back of the hotel - and it was very quiet indeed.
For a city centre hotel it was fine and I would happily return....when the bridge is mended!

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise ask for a quiet room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Many thanks for your commetns

We hope see you soon

JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed end of August 2013 as part of a Riviera trip to area.
First off have to say Riviera package was wonderful including our guide Peter who was very knowledgeable so no complaint there.

BUT although room at hotel was larger than have had before with Riviera on other trips we were treated like second class citizens from the word go. At breakfast we were ushered into a seperate room away from normal breakfast area and fed an inferior limited selection of bland food. You could easily see the difference in variety and quantity of what was available.
Even our coach driver was allowed to eat in this area but not us, strange he was French though.
Basic cereal and cheap sliced bread for toasting. Say for toasting as the machine they had there took about ten minutes to even start turning the bread a shade darker! I do not exagerate on time.

What was on offer kept running out and the one and sometimes two waiters were in no hurry to refill any hot water flasks or coffee for drinks nor indeed any food.
Some members of our group went to the "proper breakfast room" first day and were soon shown the door again with very short and sharp pointing gestures and ushered into the poor quarter with the rest of us.
Third morning we were even thrown out of our small breakfast room into a smaller room as there was a business group at hotel who were obviously further up the pecking order than us Brits!

Waiters, and hotel staff in general around reception did not smile or want to talk to anyone from Riviera party. It was as if you have paid a cheaper group rate, we have got your money, so take it or leave it. Only staff who did speak and smile were cleaners who were probably after some financial gain at the end of our stay!
When we complained to the waiter/waiters we were met with shrugs of shoulders like do not understand!

Would I go to this hotel again NOOOOO WAY and I recommend you dont either!


Would I go on Riviera trip again most certainly but suggest they pick another hotel in Rouen next time.

Room Tip: Best tip about choosing room is to choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
The breakafast we serve you and at all or groups are the same we give in the restaurant with the same products
We don't serve groups breakfast in the retaurtn because we don(t have enough places.
In our hotel there is no poor or rich guests , our or clinet are same.

best regards
JL Hossin
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.8 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing