We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were on a long journey back to England just after Christmas. The weather was foul and we missed our channel crossing. Some kind locals guided us
to this Mercure. We needed a reduced mobility room which although small was very well designed with a good bathroom. We had a good meal and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are pleased you have spend a good time in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars

We hope see you again

JL HOSSIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    284
    155
    39
    10
See reviews for
85
220
38
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very easy to access if you approach from the north on the A28. However, with the closure of the Pont Mathilde the hotel does suffer from the amount of traffic passing by. Since the main east-west traffic in the city and the north-south traffic from the A28 is funnelled past the front of the hotel.

Internally, almost everything is excellent, reception, cleanliness and breakfast. Especially breakfast! Another major advantage of the Mercure group, from my point of view, is that the group continues to utilise sprung mattresses, which more comfortable.

The only drawback within this individual hotel was that the air conditioning was not operational, as mentioned in earlier reviews, which in a warmer month would make the hotel unbearable!

We took breakfast, which was excellent and only bettered by one other hotel on mainland Europe, Novotel in Ypres or Ieper in Flanders. But in aspects this was better as it was "free of charge" as we are over 60. Making this hotel the best hotel bargain in France, if over 60!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are pleased that you like our hotel, room and breakfast.
We hope see you soon, and you can test our Fitness room

Jean Louis HOSSIN
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Well apart from a mix up with the room at the begging wow what a hotel. Great staff. Beautiful rooms and beautiful rooms. All seem brand new. Highly recommend. I was in huge artic truck and had to park it in the street outside but the staff were very helpful and showed me where I could park. Breakfast was your typical french breaky but very nice. Great place. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RAFJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Infact just in front of the hotel you can park trucks and bus.
Our rooms are renew and we are happy they enjoy you

Many thanks for your good comments

Jean louis HOSSIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We use hotels from the Mercure chain a lot usually because of their convenient location and the rooms themselves consistently good. However I continue to criticise the in room facilities which are shamefully shoddy for hotels in this category. Paper cups for making tea in the morning Yuchi!! Just two very flimsy plastic cups in the bathroom, just be careful how you hold them. The towels are small and thin. Sadly they never do anything about these things or respond to these postings. We stayed the night before in a budget hotel and at least had proper cups, proper glasses and decent towels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
If we use plastics cupsis just for hygiene, this cup ar for only one use.
Our towels are regulary renewed for the comfort of our guest.
Sory if it was not the case in your room.

JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rouen hotels

ealing,london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and self stayed at this hotel at the end of August, travelling with Riviera Travel.we found all the staff both the front desk and restaurant staff spoke excellent English and were more than helpful. The situation of the hotel is good, overlooking the Saone, and exiting through the back entrance brings you , after a few minutes walk to a square with lots of different restaurants to choose fro; steak house, Chinese! etc.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the busy boulevard are quieter but even the front ones are not really noisy than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatEaling_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
All my team and I, thank you for your goods comments. about your stay in our hotl with Riviera travel.

We hope see you an other time in Rouen.

JL HOSSIN
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.8 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing