We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable business stay”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable business stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel during a business visit to Rouen. My room was modern and appeared to be recently renovated, it was very comfortable. The hotel is adjacent to a very busy street, but my room faced the rear and was very quiet. The breakfast had a good selection of different items and staff are efficient & friendly. I had dinner in the restaurant and room service and in both cases the food was tasty & hot. The hotel offers very good value for money, the only detriment might be the location as it is far from the main tourist area. However for some visitors that might be a positive!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments, we are happy you enjoy your stay in Mercure Roiuen Champ Mars.
The city center is at 10 minutes by foot from the hotel not so far away

Best regards
JL HOSSIN
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    298
    164
    41
    11
See reviews for
89
235
39
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Normally with a Mercure you know what you're going to get, and to be honest some are a little lack luster, but this one is really quite nice. Rouen is a coupe of hours from the ferry ports, so a good distance for a first nights stop. All we wanted was a clean room and a hotel with a restaurant that's open on a Sunday in April. Easy you'd think.

The rooms are clean and tidy, no problems there, in fact they were good by french standards. And yest the restaurant was open and it has a nice to good restaurant, we were the only people in, but they had the full menu available and we both enjoyed the meal. The bar is very good, normally in a hotel the bar is a small are behind reception, this one is very large and they have a full range of drinks including cocktails.

It was the same for breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, the full deal and again we were the only ones there. They have a large underground parking, which you do need.

All in all a nice place to stay, but it is expensive, but we'd go back again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Many thancks for your comments, we are happy you spend a good tiime in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars.
We hope see you soon
JL HOSSIN
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were on a long journey back to England just after Christmas. The weather was foul and we missed our channel crossing. Some kind locals guided us
to this Mercure. We needed a reduced mobility room which although small was very well designed with a good bathroom. We had a good meal and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are pleased you have spend a good time in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars

We hope see you again

JL HOSSIN
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very easy to access if you approach from the north on the A28. However, with the closure of the Pont Mathilde the hotel does suffer from the amount of traffic passing by. Since the main east-west traffic in the city and the north-south traffic from the A28 is funnelled past the front of the hotel.

Internally, almost everything is excellent, reception, cleanliness and breakfast. Especially breakfast! Another major advantage of the Mercure group, from my point of view, is that the group continues to utilise sprung mattresses, which more comfortable.

The only drawback within this individual hotel was that the air conditioning was not operational, as mentioned in earlier reviews, which in a warmer month would make the hotel unbearable!

We took breakfast, which was excellent and only bettered by one other hotel on mainland Europe, Novotel in Ypres or Ieper in Flanders. But in aspects this was better as it was "free of charge" as we are over 60. Making this hotel the best hotel bargain in France, if over 60!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are pleased that you like our hotel, room and breakfast.
We hope see you soon, and you can test our Fitness room

Jean Louis HOSSIN
General manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Well apart from a mix up with the room at the begging wow what a hotel. Great staff. Beautiful rooms and beautiful rooms. All seem brand new. Highly recommend. I was in huge artic truck and had to park it in the street outside but the staff were very helpful and showed me where I could park. Breakfast was your typical french breaky but very nice. Great place. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Infact just in front of the hotel you can park trucks and bus.
Our rooms are renew and we are happy they enjoy you

Many thanks for your good comments

Jean louis HOSSIN
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing