We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 8 May 2014

chose this hotel after seeing warnings about driving in rouen. mercure was pretty straightforward from charles de gaulle. the is an underground car park that was very tight for our benz van.
rooms were pretty good size for europe, pretty standard amenities. there is a bar that had very poor service. the restaurant in the hotel was quite good. we arrived on a sunday, and choices were slim, so we were very pleasantly surprised. breakfast choices were expansive.
a word on location. reviewers say 10 min walk to the old center. that only gets you to the very edge. all the good sights are another 10-15 min. we spent more time walking than expected.
the staff spoke english, but it usually took a couple of tries to understand each other

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homergra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Many thanks for your comment. By the bacck of the hotel it is easy to go to the city center and no more than 10 minutes
JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Decent hotel with underground car parking for a fair price (50 cents per hour). Hotel room has verything you need and restaurant is good. We didn't eat breakfast because it is very expensive ( € 17). Was a bit warm in hotelroom because heating was put too high. You can change it but as always you only notice it as it is too late. Beds are pretty hard so not so comfortable. It is on walking distance of city centre and there is no noise in the evening. For a visit to the city a decent hotel but check your heating as you entered the room (I am not the first one complaining I noticed).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

The matrasses are new it is wy the are hard maybe

JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Where do I start? Let us begin with the good points. The reception staff were helpful. The hotel treated us very poorly.
The rooms very very hot - they were clean but small. There was no safe. There was a kettle and coffee and tea. However there were only two small cartons of milk (approx. a teaspoon full in each) and two cardboard cups. The rooms very very hot and over heated. I was a member of a tour party and this was a general complaint. Our room looked over the busy Champs de Mars. (It made our busy roads in the UK - the M25 and the M6 - look like country lanes. This meant that we could not open the bedroom window.
The position of the hotel is dreadful. it is a twenty five minute walk to the main square (where Joan d'Arc was burned) However, you do pass a couple of good restaurants en route - plus a soup kitchen, a few tramps and - as we did - come face to face with a rat. Let me explain. Just round the corner from the Hotel - approx. a few metres down - there are building works. Walking is restricted and one night, en route - we encountered a rat. Great. This is no way the fault of the hotel .
As I said, I was on a tour with a holiday firm. Tour was excellent BUT we were treated like second class citizens. I have never been treated so badly before. This first morning of our stay, myself and my companion went into the restaurant for breakfast. We were told to leave and literally a curtain was lifted and we were told to go through it. A very inferior breakfast was served there. Soggy ham and cheese, hard rolls, crossiants - bruised bananas (if you got down early enough) and other bits and bobs. On the third day a member of our party asked the surly breakfast manager for bread for the toaster. She was told 'There is no bread today'. (Come back Marie Antoinette - 'Let them eat cake'!!! ) The Tour Rep heard this and told the aforementioned Breakfast manager to ' Get down to a supermarket'.
Dreadful service. I work in a hotel in England - there the guests come first. Not here. Very sad.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnsorrento2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Our hotel is at 10 minutes by foot from the city center, by the old and typical streets oF Rouen.

JL HOSSIN
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a Mercure that is a cut above the rest. The service has dramatically improved during the course of the last year. The rooms have been modernized and the free wifi connection is good. The food at the restaurant is very good. The same can be said about much of Rouen, but it is nice to have everything in one location on a business trip. Parking is available, but don't bring a Hummer as space it tight.

Room Tip: As for a room far from the elevators ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

many thanks for your comments, I give it to my team.
We hope see you soon In our hôtel
Best regards
JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel during a business visit to Rouen. My room was modern and appeared to be recently renovated, it was very comfortable. The hotel is adjacent to a very busy street, but my room faced the rear and was very quiet. The breakfast had a good selection of different items and staff are efficient & friendly. I had dinner in the restaurant and room service and in both cases the food was tasty & hot. The hotel offers very good value for money, the only detriment might be the location as it is far from the main tourist area. However for some visitors that might be a positive!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank FrancoisK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Many thanks for your comments, we are happy you enjoy your stay in Mercure Roiuen Champ Mars.
The city center is at 10 minutes by foot from the hotel not so far away

Best regards
JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Normally with a Mercure you know what you're going to get, and to be honest some are a little lack luster, but this one is really quite nice. Rouen is a coupe of hours from the ferry ports, so a good distance for a first nights stop. All we wanted was a clean room and a hotel with a restaurant that's open on a Sunday in April. Easy you'd think.

The rooms are clean and tidy, no problems there, in fact they were good by french standards. And yest the restaurant was open and it has a nice to good restaurant, we were the only people in, but they had the full menu available and we both enjoyed the meal. The bar is very good, normally in a hotel the bar is a small are behind reception, this one is very large and they have a full range of drinks including cocktails.

It was the same for breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, the full deal and again we were the only ones there. They have a large underground parking, which you do need.

All in all a nice place to stay, but it is expensive, but we'd go back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Many thancks for your comments, we are happy you spend a good tiime in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars.
We hope see you soon
JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were on a long journey back to England just after Christmas. The weather was foul and we missed our channel crossing. Some kind locals guided us
to this Mercure. We needed a reduced mobility room which although small was very well designed with a good bathroom. We had a good meal and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are pleased you have spend a good time in Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars

We hope see you again

JL HOSSIN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing