We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Trip Advisor had a "Good" category, I'd have given it that!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If Trip Advisor had a "Good" category, I'd have given it that!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Haven't stayed at a Mercure before, but on this basis of this one, would certainly use them again; for a mid-range chain, it was good.

There are 2 Mercure hotels in Rouen; we picked this one as it is not right in the heart of the town but is within easy walking distance. We stayed for 2 nights & the purpose of our visit was to explore Rouen.

We had a "Privilege Room", which was very spacious, with a sitting area & facilities for making tea/coffee. The decor was fine. Big comfortable bed. Nicely fitted-out bathroom. The bedroom was at the back & I would recommend that because it is quieter - there is a busy road in the front of the hotel.

Large spacious dining room, nicely decorated/furnished. We also had dinner at the hotel on the 2nights we were there & I must say that I was impressed - on both nights we opted for the daily-changing menu, which had a good choice & the food was well presented & well cooked. I don't know what the standard of cooking is usually like in Mercure Hotels, but the chef at this one can certainly cook! Breakfast was fine - all the usual things.

The hotel was undergoing some work in the reception area when we stayed, so a room was not in use; not sure if this room was the the bar or what, but anyway, whilst we were there the bar was in a sort of add-on conservatory, which was ok but a bit basic. The reception area is somewhat drab, but hopefully this will be improved as part of the refurbishment.

Staff were helpful, although I would just mention that there was no-one on reception when we arrived & it took a while to get someone; that doesn't create a good first impression & I would say to any hotel: Never leave your reception un-manned.

Underground parking is available; not the easiest to navigate & some spaces are a bit tight, but it's secure & on-site, which is good. It's not cheap though!

Lots of business people were staying & they all seemed satisfied with the hotel.

Overall, we were happy with this hotel - not a lot of character, but it fitted the bill for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
many thanks for your comments

JL Hossin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    283
    154
    39
    10
See reviews for
85
220
38
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We selected this hotel when visiting Rouen because we needed secure parking with a large, classic car and were concerned about access comments on Trip Advisor regarding the city centre hotels. Access to the underground car park was tricky here too but it was quite empty on this, a Sunday afternoon so we managed fine and it wouldn't be a problem for an average vehicle and is certainly secure!

However, on entering the hotel we felt we'd gone back in time to the 1980s and not in a good way! This Mercure is the worst of the many we've stayed in and is undergoing a refurbishment programme in the foyer which is clearly too little, too late. We had not been told about this in advance.
The room was spacious and clean but tired, in poor decorative order and the room service was unavailable on this Sunday afternoon despite the room service menu saying otherwise! The restaurant was closed until the Monday evening so no refreshment of any type was available! If you've ever been in France on a Sunday afternoon then you'll be aware that there are no restaurants open! We were aware of this which is why we chose the Mercure over the Ibis which shares the building! The irony was that the receptionist offered us a pre-wrapped, processed sandwich or suggested the vending machines in the Ibis next door!! We didn't check this out but ate the food we had left in the car and took a nap!

We then set out on the 15 minute walk into Rouen old town, as lovely as I remembered it to be but still a 'ghost town' until 1900 when some of the bars and restaurants started to open and we were able to eat and drink happily.

We slept well but with the only option for breakfast next door in the Ibis which was really crowded (or the same two sandwiches we'd been offered the day before!) so we checked out and walked into town again to a 'Paul' bakery (always good).

The car park is charged hourly, which we did know, so we were able to leave it there and return later to collect it.

With hindsight the Ibis would have provided us with the same car park, no building work or builders on Monday morning, better facilities and probably better rooms all for less money!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjmutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Our restaurant is open EVERY nights during summer and breackast serve until 11 AM every morning

JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rouen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for three nights. Disappointed in the area as not very central. My room was over the a/c plants and major quayside road so not ideal with window open but the a/c was effective. The hotel public areas are a little tired but I understand some renovation is underway. Free wifi in all areas. The restaurant is attractive with good meals. Breakfast choice excellent. Free breakfast for senior citizens (65 and over) Which is throughout Mercure hotels and excellent arrangement for those who qualify! Otherwise the breakfast is expensive. However parking cost for hotel parking very expensive and quite unecessary. I had to pay euros 40 for 3 nights in a garage that was mostly empty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thank for your comment, as you say our hotel is in renovation till the and of July
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton Cheney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with a colleague whilst on business for 2 nights.
Firstly, they fail to tell you that some of the hotel is undergoing refurb and stripped walls / plastic curtains etc greet you when you enter reception.
Rooms are reasonable, although a little tired in places.
My colleague spent their second night up and down to reception around 2am as the noise from the "outside" terrace bar was keeping him awake. Only to find out that it wasn't even residents being served. The hotel obviously cares more about the extra euro in the till more than it does for its paying guests.
In the morning he was offered a free breakfast as an apology for the noise. Bearing in mind we had breakfast included in our room rate, it was of no compensation at all. This was mentioned, but nothing more was forthcoming.
On a positive note, it is quite centrally positioned (10 minute walk to the cathedral / restaurants & bars) and the rooms and breakfast were fine.
I wouldn't choose to stay here again after our recent experience though

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the fountain / park then the view is much more attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments. Actualy we are renoving our hotel loby and bar it is why wall and paint are off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a typical business and tourist hotels. Large groups (different nationalities, ages, purposes) are brought in by coach. Efficient service but less suitable as family hotel, no extra's facilities for children.

Room Tip: Be sure to check that you don't book the room with special needs if you don't need it (the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments

JL Hossin
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Rooms ok if a little tired. Tea and coffee facilities provided. Walk into town was about 10 minutes. Staff were friendly and efficient. Our room overlooked the fountain, it was lovely. If you are there on a Sunday there is a lovely market about 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Overlooking the fountain was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments.
have you try our Fitness ??? open every days

Jean Loiuis HOSSIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt/Main
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

+Place: Not bad :-) Ca. 10-15 mins (slow) walk to arrive at the center of the old town in Rouen. +Parking: EUR 0,50 per hour at this hotel. Very narrow to go into the parking space (shared with Ibis next to Mercure.
+Reception: Friendly.
+Room: We booked 2 sgl-beds (twin) rooms due to the better price (actually the beds stands together) and the room was OK (not a big but enough space for us to stay a few days). Clean :-) It seems that the air-con was controlled by the hotel and it did not work. Bathroom was also clean. Plastic cups <- are a quite normal there ;-)
+Room cleaning: Unfortunately a lady misunderstood what we told in French although she said that she understood it. Then, she entered into the room (we hanged the sign ''Do not disturb" during our breakfast time and left the new towels only… well, hopefully she just misunderstood us…
+Lounge/Bar: Good :-) The old gentleman served nicely and friendly. He worked hard for every guest. Hot chocolate was fine ;-)
+Breakfast: it seems the stuff were always same but good enough to stay there shortly :-) Compared with hotels in Paris or the other big cities in France, the served foods were much better. Good coffee, too (Nespresso machines can be used).

i can recommend this hotel anyway :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
My team and I are peased for your commnets , we are happy you like our hotel

JL Hossin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.8 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing